We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting room and similar follow up service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting room and similar follow up service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this resort based on it being a 4.5 star property for our romantic getaway. However we struggle to understand how it can be 4.5 star given what we came across. Entering the room we were met with a considerable amount of flying moths and midgies leaving us no choice but to contact reception to request for some insect spray. A staff member attended shortly after and agreed they were bad and can be caused by leaving the doors open of which we hadn't had time to do anything meaning the room had flying insects in it prior to our arrival. After that comment we didn't bother mentioning the fact that it was clearly obvious given the entire room was pre lit that two separate lights were not working. No great cause for concern but not what we expect of 4.5 stars. Worse was to come after getting into the spa. We couldn't help but be disgusted by the sheer amount of dust that had appeared on the surface of the bubbles leaving us to wonder what on earth we were bathing in? We had to take a shower in order to feel clean after bathing in that filth. Neither of us were in the mood to have a staff member come back again at that hour but we took photos to assist you in an explanation. After waking the next morning with the bubbles receded we took more photos as the filth was much more evident in the spa. We also couldn't help but notice that we had spent the night in a very poorly cleaned room. As we checked in during the night the dust around the light fittings, above the bedhead and on the walls wasn't evident until the light of day. We mentioned our concerns during checkout and we were provided with contact details of the operations manager with the assurance that our concerns would be addressed. Being charged $175 for the night we certainly didn't expect to have any distractions.

Also as we checked out we raised the question why we had a spare wine bottle tag in the room on arrival that we didn't think much of at the time until reading it the next morning. The response we got from the staff member was that she thought that there should have been one bottle of white wine and one bottle of the red. So we asked if that was the case how the room was made available for us to check in if there were things missing . She then had to double check with another staff member to confirm that was the policy. No explanation was given as to why the tag was left without the bottle.

It's blatantly obvious that this resort doesn't value the opinion of their customers as we're still waiting for any explanation of the issues we raised over two weeks ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alpine7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review Alpine7882. The hotel is about to announce new ownership who are committed to making major changes over the coming months.

There is no excuse for the condition of your room and that there was wine missing - these issues have been raised with Housekeeping and have since been actioned.

Here at the resort we do value the opinion of all of our guests, so it is unfortunate that it took so long for Management to contact you to discuss the issues that you raised.

Again our thanks for your comments and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back so as you can see the improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    173
    102
    40
    29
See reviews for
92
223
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
316 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The resort is on a golf course and I'm sure that its perfect for a golfing holiday. It probably works for conferences or similar events too.
Wouldn't recommend for a holiday. It's well away from everything including the beach.
Without a car you're stuck and there's nothing to do if you don't want to pay for spa treatments.
Rooms are nice and clean but not 4*. Shower pressure is low and door leaks. Towels are small, worn, thin and greying, toiletries of a very poor quality. Breakfast ok, staff are friendly and responsive.
It's ok, it's not special and I dont think it's 4*.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

4 of us booked a 2 bed apartment for 2 nights. You can tell this is no longer a crowne plaza! The room we got looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1970's, I would also say the beds came from then too. After one night on these beds 3 of us jarred our necks and had very sore backs. I think sleeping on the floor would have been much more comfortable. We ended up finding a massage place in caloundra to repair some of the damage done by the terrible beds. It looks like some of the other apartments were furnished differently so perhaps we got the worst one, though since I booked many months in advance I find this pretty unfair.

What else to say, there was only free to air channels on tv, First time I have been to a hotel EVER in the world that didn't at least have a couple of cable of foxtel channels. The washing machine pipe was broken so whilst it was all nice and well to have washing facilities in our room we couldn't use them. Our comment on the maintenance report on day 1 was ignored.

I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but I did have lunch one day. The lunch menu had all "winter" style dishes which I found a bit odd for early autumn in Queensland when the temperatures still hover around the high 20's. It was all pies and curries etc. I did however, choose the salt and pepper calamari. This was actually squid and I don't know if they perhaps sprinkled some salt and pepper on frozen store bought squid but I certainly couldn't taste any seasoning. It was pretty bad, though thankfully at $15 at least not too expensive.

The hotel is reasonably new and in such beautiful grounds with high potential to be a lovely resort. Why oh why they can't fix up the furnishings in some of their rooms, add some foxtel channels and serve fresh food in their restaurants I have no idea, but they are crazy. I feel this hotel has a captive audience as most of the people staying there when we did were attending weddings at the golf club or the hotel, being so far out of the way, guests would have no choice but to stay there.

The staff that work there were wonderful, always helpful and polite and happy to assist you with anything.

Room Tip: Perhaps don't book an apartment, I reckon the hotel rooms might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachele313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

The furnishings that are used in each of our apartments are all styled differently, so it is unfortunate to hear that you disliked the look of the apartment. All of our rooms in the hotel have Foxtel, so we do apologise that you experienced technical difficulties during your stay.

We are currently in the process of replacing all of the beds in the hotel to improve our guests comfort and are thrilled with the feedback we have received so far.

We hope that your next stay at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is more pleasurable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took at wotif (internet travel deal website) deal to stay 2 nights in a deluxe spa room. Room was average, had kitchenette facilities, couch, tv (2 or 3 foxtel channels), bed, spa and shower etc.

Pool / outdoor areas were aging a bit but fine none-the-less. Very close to the golf course for those who enjoy it.

The overall location of the hotel is about 10-15 plus minutes to Caloundra so if you want to go out and grab snacks or dinner then it could be an expensive venture if you catch a cab.
There is only one restaurant on site and they were charging $50pp for a 2 course dinner.
Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

we stayed at the resort for a wedding. rooms were large and really well set up .very clean .lovely large balcony overlooking the golf course .staff good . breakfast was very good .we had a discounted price of 157aud for the night including breakfast .that was great value . drinks were about usual for a hotel of this class . would highly recommend the place especially for weddings and golfers.

Room Tip: ask for room 810 . great room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Big room with kitchenette, spa seperate to shower, balcony over looking the golf course and lake. Comfortable bed. Will be staying again. Free car parking. Only think negative was the noisy kids in the pool that's ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the resort just for one night. The resort itself is stunning and has many facilities onsite. The pool area is great, we made use of that and the restaurant at the hotel. They had lunch specials that were reasonably prices, we also had dinner at the restaurant, was a little more pricey but it is fine dining and the food was delicious. They have a day spa there, both of us treated ourselves to some pamper time, blias. The staff were really friendly and I'd definitely recommend going here if you are wanting to get away. Caloundra is a drive from the hotel however.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
14.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing