We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got what we paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We got what we paid for.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Front Reception lady was very polite and friendly. Had to ask for Air Con to be cleaned as it was THICK with dust. This was done roughly, but after a Hayfever attack. The towels weren't changed on the Saturday morning, no signs made us aware of this. Not impressed with the threat of a $30 charge for not washing up used dishes? Too scared to drink water out of the glasses!
Got a "Bargain Deal" on Wotif for what seemed like a winner. We got what we paid for. Not much.
This place would be great for an overnight stop over. Maybe the family rooms near the pool would have been better?

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalesRepQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    34
    22
    19
See reviews for
33
52
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Where to start? The building is hideous and run down, the website just outright lies about the location. This place is nowhere near the beach. The closest beach is in fact 1.8km away... hardly a "short stroll" as advertised. the pictures of this place are nothing like the actual rooms. while the rooms are clean, the sheets feel like sleeping on sandpaper and the 'cable TV' includes around 3 channels which have terrible quality. very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sextasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra Centr... D, Manager at Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear sextasy,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive hard to keep our quality to the best possible and if we were told of your issues would have done everything possible to correct them. So lets look at the facts.

1. If there is one area of our complex we do not get complaints about is the quality of our beds. We ourselves live in the complex, use the same beds/linen and find them more than suitable. In fact we are told on a consistent basis how good the beds are.

2. The beach is approx 900 metres away which my wife and walk it every second day and it takes 10-12 minutes. We are over 60 yrs old and find it a short stroll.

3. We have 12 channels on Austar and if by chance someone had changed the tuning or you were on the incorrect channel source a phone call to our reception would have allowed us to retune the channels to your satisfaction.

I can assure you the pictures of our apartments, pools and complex are true and not doctored in any way. Last year we upgraded the bedware, lamps and TV's with the entire complex receiving a makeover later this year. I would be only too happy to discuss your stay with us further.

Regards
Terry
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

Seymour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This used to be a Quest. I got a standard Studio room. Certainly not large or the Quest quality room I'm used to. The corridor areas are really concrete, high rise carpark feel but the rooms are comfy, renovated maybe 3-5 yrs ago. Seems pretty quiet - few guests, not sure if its one of the cheaper accom in area but I've stayed at far worse in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rancho-Food-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in apartment 2091 on Saturday night and although the apartment was comfortable and well maintained, finding it was another story. The parking is a bit of a jumble as there is no allocated parking and the idea is to grab the first available. We found the lift (in back corner) but our room number did not indicate the floor. We stopped on first floor and the signs were not helpful at all and didnot indicate anthing close to our room number so we proceeded to the second floor. We got out a had a bit of a walk around before deciding to retreat back to first floor where we did find our room number - on inner door not outside door - access to two rooms through outer door.
We were pleasantly surprised with how quiet the room was despite being very near to Nicklin Way and to the gents partying on next level balcony at 12 am.
Our bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. Our view from balcony was of other balconys and a tiny bit of ocean through the buildings. Oh and back to the lifts, the one from garage to reception was not working on Saturday when we booked in and the carpark lift was not working when we arrived home late on Saturday night - this I do understand BUT, there are no signage to point to the stairs to get up to upper levels. There was a door near left marked Staff. So after walking around the car park area, we found a set of stairs rather by luck than good management and got to our room. Although our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet, we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend during the crazy weather after a cyclone and 6 tornadoes had a party further north. My in-laws and sister had moved into our house, so all we were looking for was somewhere that wasn't home. I quite impressed with size and price of the room. The "no service" side of things was great, because we stayed indoors all weekend anyway. The kitchen was lovely for cooking up our own thing. In hindsight, I am very appreciative of the weather, because we didn't have a chance to be disappointed by the size of the pool or the fact that nothing worth seeing was in walking distance. I was disappointed that we couldn't get through to the adjoining restaurant (I can only assume they were closed for the Australia Day long weekend?), but I did like that when the dishwasher broke a glass, they didn't charge us. Overall, I thought it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbecca83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lovely stay at this very modern apartment enroute home. Had everything we needed and more. Staff at the reception very helpful and friendly. Close to shopping centre, five minute drive to Caloundra. Bit misleading with the name though....looking at the name you would assume that it was in the centre of Caloundra, but nice apartments though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra Centr... D, Manager at Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for the review of Caloundra Central Apartments. We have worked hard in our 10 months of being managers with upgrades in all rooms plus the external building is about to take on a rejuvination next year. It makes us feel very proud when a comment such as yours is posted online. Unfortunately we cannot do much about the name as all of our sites are managed under the Central Property Group.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Terry and Jenny Darke
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Took my family to the coast for the weekend at last minute and found the CCAH. The very spacious, 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in, looked fresh and clean enough to make me believe it may have gone through a refurbishment in the last year or so. The facilities were reasonable but you don't go to the Sunshine Coast to stay at the hotel. As most people have already said, the biggest let down is the location. There is also the kooky design feature of bedroom windows opening onto the thoroughfare which essentially renders the room windowless. We didn't mind, as it was the kid's room but for other travelers, this could be a real disappointment.
I do think, that given more time, you could find apartments that represent better value.
BTW. I don't know why, but I took offence to the sign in my room threatening a $30 fee if I didn't wash my dishes and take out the rubbish. At $250 a night, I expect not to have to do household chores. Is that wrong?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastSeenHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Dicky Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#7 of 16 in Caloundra
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moffat Beach Motel
Moffat Beach Motel
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel

Property: Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Address: 36 Browning Bvd, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel is central to everything on the vibrant Sunshine Coast, including some of Australia's best surf beaches; Currimundi, Kings, Moffat and Dicky beaches are only minutes away. This 4½ Star resort is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways and corporate travellers. Choose from large luxury studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that offer free: continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, Foxtel and secure undercover parking. Apartments are elegantly furnished and have fully equipped kitchens and large flat screen TV's. Apartments also have a large entertainer balcony overlooking the pools and tropical gardens. Most importantly, all apartments are home-sized with plenty of room to stretch out. Guests may choose to dine at the elegant in-house restaurant and bar. Alternatively, there is an array of eateries and shops only minutes away. This resort offers two refreshing swimming pools as well as a heated spa pool, a barbecue area and lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing