We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things that go bang in the dark.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Things that go bang in the dark.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Ok, Caloundra Central is not in the centre of Caloundra. That should have been the first sign that not all was well. The mould in the bathroom was getting to the stage that it could be registered as a lethal weapon, kinda like sharing the place with a black fluffy poodle. We were fortunate enough to have a room with an outside balcony, altho' that balcony was a 2.5m high wall enclosing an area of about 3 x 1 m that intruded out into the public corridor in front of the room, this was a very unusual design feature that I am still coming to terms with. Apart from all that the place was noisy, every time a door opened or shut it would reverberate down the corridor. We were'nt visited by the "room fairies" in the course of our 2 day stay and the fridge was void of anything aparty from some UHT milk and, of course, mould.
On a good note, I thought the menu sounded good tho' I didn't get to find out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    33
    22
    18
See reviews for
33
50
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
redcliffe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Reception Staff very helpful. Was in town for Cold chisel & thankfully they
helped us organize Transport etc
Our room (3 bed apartment) was very clean, well appointed.
(sorry didn't see the smaller apartments so they could differ ?)
The "reported noise from road" was negligible and didn't keep any of us awake.
** Look it's not fancy or lardy da - but really felt we got what we paid for a 3 bed that slept 7 of us - no worries..(all included in standard rate.)
** outdoors bbq & pool area very nice.

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms seemed modern & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have just spent a couple of days at Coloundra Central Apartments and for the money we paid and compared to the photo's on the web we were extremely disappointed.

We walked in to a grotty apartment, everything from the curtains, skirting boards, bathrooms (including mould along the bottom of the shower recess which doubles with the bath) holes in walls / doors, a lack of utensils, cooking equipment and security / fly screens.

The door of the main bedroom is like an exterior door and can not be left open which means no air circulates and is like walking into a oversized wardrobe. The ensuite is good but has no dispensors just the bottles to go in it and dont get up during the night to use the facilities or you will hit yourself on the side table coming out as its right in front of the bathroom door.

Listed with ocean views and if you stand at the door you can just see the ocean if you are tall enough but from our balcony there is roof tops and trees only.

There is mould on the balcony, pots and can see it all along the roof and the other balconies.

No alarm clocks at all in the rooms, the radio in the lounge was not connected / wired. There are no remote controls to electrical equipment anywhere in site.

The mini bar is a joke and the complimentry tea and coffee facilities are even worse. No such thing as a cup of coffee in the morning unless you are having it with the dolls.

The noise of the place is less than desirable being on the highway. It is nowhere near the centre of town as the name would have you believe. Attractions would be a benefit to have in the books in the rooms.

This site asks if I have any photo's to share I wouldnt waste storage space on my card in the camera.

Wont be returning and will ensure none of my family or friends support it either

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0nya_Brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Despite the name, it's located a considerable distance from the centre of town, beaches or anything other than a petrol station, for that matter. Right on the highway which can be heard very loudly right through the night. Amenities were average (spa lukewarm etc), rooms were average. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleighannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

After reading the reviews, most bad, only 2 days before our stay we were very nervous. We arrived in the carpark and as I went to the reception a charming lad asked if I was booked in (he was going upstairs too) and that he would see to our booking. The reception was spotless - which was a great start. When we got to our room (3 bed apartment) it also was very clean, well appointed. The "reported noise from road" was negligible and didn't keep any of us awake. The (4) kids loved the warm spa. The bathrooms were lovely. I couldn't fault them for anything. I would, however, have like a trolley to take luggage for 6 people up to our room. It made for a few trips. I thought it was a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: We had the 3 bed apartment and did not feel crowded with 6 people staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,Essex, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for 3 days while visiting relatives in Bribie.
Thought the furniture was past its use by date, but rooms are fairly big.
pool very small & didn’t even try it.
But the beach down the road is gorgeous

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Bed linen not changed until after nine days despite two requests. Phone out for three days. Bedside radio worked on only one station. Two light bulbs out in lounge. No peeling knife, two control knobs on ceramic hob missing, range hood greasy and oven smelt place out when first heated. Front desk service very poor. Australian accommodation and service usually very good but not at this place

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otaki_NZColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
0.8 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Dicky Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Apartments
Belvedere Apartments
#2 of 6 in Golden Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Holiday Apartments
1.8 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 51 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel

Property: Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Address: 36 Browning Bvd, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel is central to everything on the vibrant Sunshine Coast, including some of Australia's best surf beaches; Currimundi, Kings, Moffat and Dicky beaches are only minutes away. This 4½ Star resort is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways and corporate travellers. Choose from large luxury studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that offer free: continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, Foxtel and secure undercover parking. Apartments are elegantly furnished and have fully equipped kitchens and large flat screen TV's. Apartments also have a large entertainer balcony overlooking the pools and tropical gardens. Most importantly, all apartments are home-sized with plenty of room to stretch out. Guests may choose to dine at the elegant in-house restaurant and bar. Alternatively, there is an array of eateries and shops only minutes away. This resort offers two refreshing swimming pools as well as a heated spa pool, a barbecue area and lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing