We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty - would NOT recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dirty - would NOT recommend!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed one night and found the kitchen and deck filthy with cigarette butts in the empty flower pots. Although spacious this is NOT 4 star, is not a pelasant environment to stay and is very over-priced. Gave a list of all cleaning faults to the manager, about 10 in total but no real response.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Finn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    33
    22
    19
See reviews for
33
51
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Well were do i start the most disappointing hotel my family and myself have ever stayed at in Australia, were did the hell they get a rating of 4.5 star was it back in the sixty's when the property was at its peak , wine corks in the main bed daughter slept on a fold away and in the morning had to visit the chemist to get some medication for the bites she had received, used tea bags left on the bench, Ive stayed in some really bad apartments but this one is a winner right down to sticky and dirty balcony, pool full of leaves to much to list but if i was to rate it it would only get a 2 star at the most very disapointed, the owners need a kick up the bum for letting it get so bad.
Daryl ps no wifi

Room Tip: Dont stay there i believe a backpackers is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazza001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We booked this place as a nice place to rest up on the Sunshine coast. The rooms are reasonable well appointed and the view we had of the sea was great, especially for the sunrise (see photo) facilities are limited however the pool was lovely. The hot tub area smelt a little strange and the eating facilities were outside of the resort. Overall this is a pleasant enough stop off but to consider it a base for your whole break would not be recommended.

  • Liked — Location & Views
  • Disliked — Really dated decor, needs a refurb
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monty71736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The place sounded good and we saw a rating of 4 or 5 star...well, my husband said he saw that somewhere. I certainly wouldn't give it that at all!!! We arrived on a Saturday and just like another reviewer, we were told the restaurant was closed....we were told it was due to a 'function'. When we asked about room service which was listed as one of their amenities we were told they don't have that either. However, they did have a ton of menus from local restaurants that you could order from and they delivered (we just had to meet the delivery person out front of the hotel). We had a studio room. The elevator to get to it was really small, then you walked along an interior concrete walkway to get to the room......(very drab and dreary like walking through a parking garage). The real kicker here is the 'view' from the room. If you open the curtains you are looking at a 3/4 height wall that surrounds your 'interior' balcony which is about 60cm in depth. The balcony, of course, sits in the interior concrete walkway....then there are a couple of smallish windows looking out on to Nicklin Way.......I'm sorry, it was absolutely hideous!!!!! That is the main reason I will never stay there again! Ok, back to the room.....had a queen bed, comfortable enough, a TV and a DVD player, a microwave and small fridge. Also had plates and cuttlery. All of those aspects were great!!! Bathroom had only a shower (no tub), toilet didn't flush very well and some blackish stuff came up the sink drain once YUK! No freebie shampoos or anything here.....everything was in wall dispensers. Found a dead cockroach on the floor in the morning. I picked up one of their brochures and had a look at it when I got home....it specificially quoted 'room service', had nice photos of large balconies overlooking a pool area and little individual soaps and such. Okay, I don't know what hotel they were trying to promote but it sure wasn't the one we stayed in!!!!! Talk about false advertising!

  • Liked — DVD player, microwave, fridge
  • Disliked — VIEW, lack of room service, no bathtub
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daffidyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

We stayed for one night in a studio motel room. On arrival we couldn't easily find the reception car park and had to drive onto a very busy highway and back to make a second attempt. We eventually realised the reception carpark was under the building but it was poorly signposted. On checking in we were told the Restaurant was closed that night (Saturday) which we thought was strange because the hotel's website had indicated the QBar and Restaurant opened Thursday Friday and Saturday for Dinner. We finally made our way to our allotted room only to find it was located overlooking Nicklin Way, a very busy road which carries traffic from Caloundra to Mooloolaba. The room itself was quite nice and the bed comfortable. However, the airconditioning unit was positioned above the bed and blew cool air directly onto the bed which was rather uncomfortable. We then decided to turn off the air conditioner but then found the traffic noise quite loud and annoying. Also, the plumbing was very noisy and we could even hear taps being turned on in adjacent rooms. Consequently, a restful night's sleep was elusive. We made the booking via the Quest Caloundra website and paid $115, their internet rate which was reasonable but we wouldn't go there again unless assured of a room away from the busy highway.

  • Liked — Low cost rate for one night
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2005

We stayed in the Quest Apartments Caloundra for a couple of nights in November 05. The apartments are new, well laid out and nicely appointed. The staff friendly and helpful and the restuarant really special, the pools and the garden lovely. But, 6.30am the unit above decided it was time to do their washing and drying and the noise from the machines reverberated down into our unit very loudly. We did contact staff and complained about the noise but according to them they were having trouble moving the occupants above, squatters? Because of the noise I am doubtful if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Dicky Beach
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windward Passage Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel

Property: Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Address: 36 Browning Bvd, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel is central to everything on the vibrant Sunshine Coast, including some of Australia's best surf beaches; Currimundi, Kings, Moffat and Dicky beaches are only minutes away. This 4½ Star resort is ideal for family holidays, romantic getaways and corporate travellers. Choose from large luxury studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that offer free: continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, Foxtel and secure undercover parking. Apartments are elegantly furnished and have fully equipped kitchens and large flat screen TV's. Apartments also have a large entertainer balcony overlooking the pools and tropical gardens. Most importantly, all apartments are home-sized with plenty of room to stretch out. Guests may choose to dine at the elegant in-house restaurant and bar. Alternatively, there is an array of eateries and shops only minutes away. This resort offers two refreshing swimming pools as well as a heated spa pool, a barbecue area and lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing