We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying Their Best, Hang in there.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CBX Caloundra

CBX Caloundra
Ranked #88 of 204 Restaurants in Caloundra
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Hotel with Bistro and full Bar facilities plus TAB, Keno and Gaming Lounge. Recently renovated with a lovely deck area plus footpath dining. Great for relaxing with a delicious meal, cocktail or an ice cold craft beer straight from the tap. Friday and Saturday kick on with a live band or DJ set after dinner until late.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trying Their Best, Hang in there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This may be considered a biased review as I work there but we have really been trying to change our name. Over the past few months the Bistro has improved remarkably. The meals have increased in size and quality due to new chefs, a new menu and a better outlook. The cafe girls are welcoming, smiley and customer based. We are here to help you have a good time with your family and friends. The Lunch specials are wonderful with something for every one! Please come in for yourself and see.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittlePeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    15
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not even fish and chip shop quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my partner and 14month old for dinner... and it is the first place i have eaten and asked for my money back. We got trio of dips for an entree and you could hardly bite through the bread and the dips were very average supermarket type dips. My partner got the seafood plate and it was so over cooked and dry there was something on the plate we couldnt even recognise. All frozen crap really! I got the steak sandwich and the meat was tough and flavourless and just very very average. And not even an apology! Will not ever return here and i have passed on my bad experience to friends in the area!

Helpful?
Thank jobower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Websites S, Owner at CBX Caloundra, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi jobower,

Thank you for taking the time to review the CBX Caloundra and we are sorry that you had this experience in our venue. We would like to investigate the issues that you raise, are you able to please send an email to onlinefeedback@alhgroup.com.au and provide us with further details of your experience?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is disgusting. From the tables, chairs, floors, outdoor area and the staff - get rid of the lot.
Un attentive, rude dismissive staff suit the atmosphere and decor. We popped in for a drink and a bite to eat but after one drink decided we would like to steer clear of the potential food poisoning that would be guaranteed to come out of this kitchen.
The bathrooms are reminiscent of a crime scene, I was waiting to be stabbed with a syringe to truly complete my experience. Yuck - don't waste your time on even one drink.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hutto1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Popped in because nowhere else available and watched the staff respond to a legitimate customer complaint completely unbelievably badly. As mentioned by previous , barmaid is shocking, swearing at customers and downright rude. Manager got involved and displayed how truly amateur CBX is by shouting at customers for no good reason and ignoring their genuine complaint.
I know why this place is often empty.
If I owned it, I'd sack the entire staff and start afresh.
Don't waste your time or money. This place has potential, but is ruined by employing amateurs who simply turn visitors off completely.

Never again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok bar,rude barmaid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a few drinks on a Saturday...Nice bar....reasonable priced drinks,good atmosphere...blonde barmaid pretty rude which is a turnoff

Helpful?
1 Thank angram85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CBX Caloundra also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to CBX Caloundra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing