We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice .. but more family than couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Booked a weekend away in a 1 bedroom apartment with my man. Staff were really lovely .. couldn't do enough for us as my man grappled with the remote searching for Fox Sports to catch his game. Apartment was tidy, quite an ok size for 2 with a small kitchen plus good sized spa on the balcony. Furniture was tidy but sparce and I can see this as the type of place where parents would be comfortable with their kids running about. Pool area was great, big with plenty of deck chairs.
They are doing up the whole foreshore area in Caloundra which, when it's done should be a big boost for those looking for things to do. Meanwhile there are a few cafes and restaurants along what will be the strip with the view, and I am sure more to come.
Overall it was nice .. but in my opinion more suited to families than couples.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBuddy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpacgm, General Manager at Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to proved feedback on your stay at Breakfree Grand Pacific. You are correct in saying that the resort is great for families, great faclilites, location and large rooms make it very enjoyable for families. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and once again thank you for taking the time to comment.
Regards Kyla Sippel,
General Manager
Breakfree Grand Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 975 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2009

Upon arrival hotel is quite impressive and staff friendly. Being December day of arrival was very hot only to find aircon in living and two bedrooms didn't seem to be working. Next morning after 2nd request was informed that aircon was indeed not working and would not be fixed for the duration of our stay - this was obviously known at time of check in! Unit was otherwise very large but also very dirty. Found chewing gum on ensuite floor, kitchen benches and floor were sticky, couches and carpet stained and dirty, lights in two rooms not working (although this was rectified quickly), aircon units up on roof rusty and a hazard to small children. Numerous other small things wrong - on last day went to use drier - surprise, surprise this didn't seem to work either. On a plus side though pool area great with lots of eating options close by. Loved the locality but you do take pot luck with regards to the condition of the unit - BEWARE!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

we had booked for 5 people 2 adlts,3kids,got to room only 4beds !1 toilet.had to go back down to ask for other bed.{booked 8 wks b4}2nd bedroom to small.got another aprtmt,and bed.NO SOAP will have some on wednesday maybe!phone not working as friend was trying to ring us.carpet dirty as hell pillows dirty as hell,dishwasher had a mouldy wooden spoon in it.It had been in there that long it was mouldy.windows dirty,it had a spa bath BUT you needed to be 6 foot tall to step into it the step was about 800mm to bad if you are older or have short legs.we payed extra $$ to stay instead of another hotel we had booked .NOT4.5 rated.Oven not working, tv old as the hills dity finger marks worn marks on buttons as remotes mot working had to ask for new batterys,worn marks on walls floor woodwork.no bowls in kitchen.FRONT DOOR on aprtmt not always lock!POOLwas great kids loved it.location great apart from new hotel 15 ft away looking at you,but still had good veiw.@pool and sea.soap never turned up,it must have been to hard to go to wools and buy some for there guests.
TRY ANOTHER PLACE.feel riped off.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank down2earthnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

After reading so many previous negative reviews on this resort, I got really worried when I booked it through Wotif secret hotel on a very good rate. When my partner and I arrived at the resort, all my worries disappeared. We were given a large 1 bedroom apartment with ocean and pool views. There is a outdoor Jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the ocean. The room is clean and has basic kitchen facilities, washing machine, dryer, aircon, DVD player, LCD TV and a stereo system. The resort is located at the centre of town with lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

The pool and the spa are great. They overlook the beautiful ocean. The outdoor Jacuzzi on the balcony is even better for a romantic time for couples. The staff is friendly and courteous.

The only negative thing is there were only 2 thin blankets in the bedroom. It gets a bit cold when we turned on the air con all night. And there is no WIFI. But who needs to work while on holidays. We enjoyed our 4 days 3 nights of no contact with the cyber world

Otherwise, Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort is an ideal place for couples looking for romance and families with children for a relaxing holiday. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Location, Location, Location! You just cant get any better than this. Pool is huge, and would class is as a resort pool, although it is often cold on some days, mabye they need to heat it up a little, which is why I lived in the spa. One spa was not very warm due to the flow-on-effect of water into the pool, but the other spa was just so relaxing. Shops are under the hotel out the front which there is gate access, and the facility is VERY secure, usage of swipe cards everywhere. Rooms are not that bad, but they are building a hotel next door, so make sure you ask for a room closest to the pool side of the building if staying in the main tower, otherwise I would not rate the experience 5 stars. I would stay here again, as long as the price is right.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOCAT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights and found staff and unit wonderful. Picture perfect veiws and everything within walking distance. Grounds were well kept and although a new complex was being built next door this didn't affect our stay. you can walk through back gate past pool and spa's to new wharf and cafe strip. We would highly recommend this place and will be staying there each holiday from now on!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwirod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

If you got kids I'd stay here. The place does need a tickle up and these units are all owed by owners so you may get a good one, then you may get a bad one!

The pool is fanastic and has a non enclosed spa which is great so you can see the kids from one locaiton. Look, if you get a good deal here then book it you won't go wrong but if you're wanting to impress someone then this is not the place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnymac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
532 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
580 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast

Address: 100 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $88 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Grand Pacific is an idyllic location for a resort holiday only 50 metres from Bulcock Beach. Choose from 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available in garden, water view and roof top styles. The garden apartments have a private patio and garden views while the water view apartments feature a balcony and look out over the ocean and beyond to Pumicestone Passage. Roof top apartments have great views along with a private roof top or courtyard barbeque with a 4 seat outdoor spa bath. Apartments include air conditioning, cable TV, DVD player, balcony or patio, stereo system with CD and a spa bath is featured in most. From a prime waterfront location resort facilities include a heated lagoon pool and 2 spas, gym, games room for the kids, sauna and meeting facilities for up to 130 delegates. Nearby natural wonders include the Glasshouse Mountains, Blackhall Range National Park and Pumicestone Passage Marine Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Hotel Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Caloundra, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing