We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!!!!! Over Rated- 4.5 star what a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware!!!!! Over Rated- 4.5 star what a joke!”
Reviewed January 25, 2008

 We arrived at Breakfree Grand Pacific on 3rd January 2008 at approximately 5pm, checked in, paid the balance owing and went straight up to our room.
 Upon arrival to our allocated 4 ½ star Luxury Apartment it was clear that this apartment was unsuitable for 4 Adults & 3 infants:
 There was not enough space in any of the bedrooms for 3 porta cots
 The living area was small & cramped with no where to place 2 highchairs
 The overall standard of cleanliness was poor – a major concern with 3 infants
 The floor was dirty & covered in stains
 The windows were dirty & difficult to see out of
 There was dirt & rubbish under the couch cushions
 There was no ventilation in the bathroom, only a window in the shower that looked out onto the main road
 The was a fan that was covered in dust & dirt – this was the only cooling in the 3rd bedroom were the infants were to sleep
 The curtains were broken & falling off the curtain rails
 The apartment looked out onto the main road when we had booked and paid for a ‘Water View’ room &
 There was only air-conditioning in one of the three bedrooms.

 We immediately returned to reception and requested we be moved to another larger room. We were told that they were fully booked & we had been given the biggest room.
 Once we explained that the apartment was clearly unsuitable for our needs we were told that it was our problem as we had booked with the Stella Resorts Group over the internet. We were told had we tried to booked directly through Breakfree Grand Pacific they would have told us that the room was unsuitable.
 Upon hearing this we then asked for a refund so that we could find alternative accommodation in Caloundra that was suitable for our needs. They told us that they had a 100% Cancellation fee and that Stella Group were accountable for any mistake that was made.
 The staff at Breakfree Grand Pacific were very unprofessional and rude in the manner in which they spoke to us, particularly the General Manager.
 We returned to our room & immediately contacted Stella Resorts Group. The person we spoke to was very helpful, but she explained that it would have to be the Breakfree Grand Pacific who refund our money as Stella Resort forwarded on all the Special requests to the property.
 We stayed at the Grand Pacific for only 6 nights of the 11 nights we had paid for. We found alternative accommodation for the remaining 5 nights of our holiday that cost us an additional $1200. Our alternative accommodation was 4 ½ star standard, unlike Grand Pacific.
 Grand Pacific would not even allow us to transfer the hire of the porta cots & high chairs to our alternative accommodation, nor would they refund the balance of the hire.
 During our stay the air-conditioning in our apartment also broke down for a day until an electrician could come to replace the control unit & thermostat.
 Breakfree Grand Pacific is clearly NOT 4 ½ star standard. We have stayed at the Mantra Amphora Resort (4 ½ star) in Palm Cove which is also owned by Stella Resorts group. Breakfree Grand Pacific is NO WHERE NEAR the standard of Mantra Amphora.
 The overall quality of our stay was poor & made worse by rude, arrogant, difficult to deal with staff who were not willing to help us in any way
 The inconvenience of having to move during our holiday with 3 infants was also very difficult

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank John_Melbourne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    301
    131
    53
    38
See reviews for
377
205
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My fiance and I have visited Caloundra every November for the past three years (getting engaged on our most recent trip) and have always stayed at the Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort.

The first year (2005) it was lovely; we had a one bedroom water view apartment on the second floor with a view over the pool and water. The pool was gorgeous, the apartment clean and staff friendly.

The second year (2006), we decided to stay in a one bedroom water view penthouse apartment. Unfortunately, this penthouse was located on the rear of the building and the only water view was a glimpse off our main balcony and a little from the balcony upstairs, if you leaned out over the railings. That year the council were also completing night-time roadworks in the street below and we had to put up with constant jack-hammering throughout the night. It would have been nice to have been advised of the roadworks, and in hindsight, we should have complained but at the time, did not want to cause any fuss and just enjoy our holiday.

Our third, and what I’ve decided was our final year (2007), we decided to go back to the one bedroom water view apartment. Upon check-in, we were advised that they were upgrading the power transformer in the street because a new building was being constructed next door. This meant that the entire resort would be without power between 2am and 8am. It would have been nice of the staff to have mentioned this when we confirmed our booking and arrival time the week before. To most people I assume the outage wouldn’t be a problem, but we had arranged a tour to Fraser Island which departed at 5am. We were told to call reception using the in-room telephone when we needed to leave the apartment in the morning so that the patrolling security guards could guide us out and to the exit.

The next morning we showered in near-darkness and fumbled around making some cereal for breakfast, as everything was electric, there was no toast or tea for us. When we were ready, we picked up the in-room phone to call reception as instructed, only to find that it was not working, assumedly because the power had been switched off. We decided to make it on our own and headed to the fire escape. The fire escape was pitch black and we did not know where, or if, there were any light switches. Unable to see down the stairs properly, and with no-one to guide us, we made our way down the fire escape using the light from my fiance’s mobile phone. Luckily, we only had to go down three floors.

In the apartment, the furniture was looking quite old and worn-out, with stains on the couch and cushions. A number of pieces of cutlery and crockery were dirty and needed to be washed before use. The glass-top coffee table had white paint peeling off from the underside of the glass. It littered the floor, so I would assume that the carpet underneath had not been vacuumed.

Back in 2005 Breakfree Grand Pacific was a nice resort, but over the past few years the whole building and attitude has become tired and run down. It is a pity, but we won’t be recommending the Breakfree Grand Pacific anyone ever again. When we get married November 2008 in Caloundra, we’re going to have to find ourselves and guests somewhere decent to stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The inconvenience
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saileyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

My Wife and I visit Caloundra quite regularly and have stayed at the same place for approx 4 years. We have passed the Grand Pacific numerous times and decided that we would have a change and give it a go. We booked a one bedroom Penthouse and looked forward to the water view and benefits you would think the penthouse would have. How wrong we where.
The so called Penthouse was around the same size as a standard Hotel room with no character at all. The water view was a water glimpse from the side of our balcony and at night you could hear ever door that opend and closed in the complex . The staff on reception who are the only staff you see are totally indifferent and could not care less that your expectations are not met.
Very disappointing, we will keep to our usual accommodation in Caloundra. Thanks for everything a resort shouldn,t be Alfie.

  • Liked — Roof top spa
  • Disliked — room size, decor, view
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank john043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Our one bedroom apartment was sourced through our timeshare company. Our apartment was quite small, but tastefully furnished. The mini kitehen consisted of a two burner cooktop, a microwave and a small refrigerator, an electric jug and a toaster and minimum china and utensils. This made self catering quite difficult. The bedroom was quite large, but with no natural lighting. There were two pillows only, and one light synthetic blanket, which was stuffed in a wardrobe. The bathroom had a washing machine and dryer, but the bath/shower was quite dangerous. To get in you had to climb up a wooden step, and lower yourself into the deep corner bath. There was nothing to hold on to, and the bath was quite slippery. The other strange feature was a spa bath on the balcony. This faced the street, with a glass screen protecting it from the elements, but not the passers by. It also had to be filled and emptied each time - we didn't bother. The resort in the middle of the main street, of a very nice town, with handy cafes.. Unfortunately our holiday in the sun was spoilt by the worst storm for over 100 years, with torrential rain and gale force winds. If we used this resort again, we would recommend a two bedroom apartment,

  • Liked — The location and the decor
  • Disliked — The minimal equipment
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Makaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

These apartments are good value for money but beware... some sea view rooms should be called sea glimpse rooms! I have stayed here 3 times now and did have a problem with the second stay - the room was not ready and reception was not aware and sent us up to see the mess it was in! They gave us one night free on our next stay in the most fabulous room - it was enormous and had a huge balcony with views to die for. They also left a bottle of free champagne in the fridge for us as a way of apologising so you have to give them credit for that. I would stay here again - it's a great location and the rooms are great too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank anahira21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aukland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was probably on the 3rd floor in the corner where you can see to the water over the pool.

Our apartment was lovely. Clean tidy and modern. We had no problems during our stay except that the weather got quite cold but that was fine we just turned the aircon right up to warm us up! The parking in the basement is a bit of a maze but once you are used to where your car is it is fine. We had a lovely spa bath in the main bedroom ensuite and used that a few times. All in all we had no complaints about the place and found it to be a lovely, clean, modern complex in a handy situation.

  • Liked — That is was clean and modern.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tvetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Very professional staff, VERY quick to handle requests for booking tickets and hire cars.
Room was as advertised, clean bright, well equipped & appointed. Fourth floor view over the pool and across the water...LOVELY.
We have absolutley no complaints and would recommend it to anyone ( and we have recommended it to many friends!)

  • Liked — quality of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
9.5 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast

Property: Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Address: 100 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Grand Pacific is just an hour's drive north of Brisbane in Caloundra, the southern gateway to Queensland's Sunshine Coast. Boasting sweeping, uncrowded beaches, unspoiled waterways and friendly locals, Caloundra has a "yet-to-be-discovered" vibe that makes it a rare holiday destination. At BreakFree Grand Pacific you can choose from 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available in garden, water view and roof top styles. The garden apartments have a private patio and garden views while the water view apartments feature a balcony and look out over the ocean and beyond to Pumicestone Passage. Roof top apartments have great views along with a private roof top or courtyard barbeque with a 4 seat outdoor spa bath. All apartments include air conditioning, cable TV, DVD player, balcony or patio, stereo system with CD and a spa bath is featured in most. From a prime waterfront location resort facilities include a heated lagoon pool and 2 spas, gym, games room for the kids, sauna and meeting facilities for up to 130 delegates. Nearby natural wonders include the Glasshouse Mountains, Blackhall Range National Park and Pumicestone Passage Marine Park - all offering great opportunities for fun outdoor activities including bushwalking, surfing, diving, wind-surfing, kayaking, sailing and fishing. Manmade attractions including Australia Zoo, the Big Kart Track and Aussie World are also nearby. The resort is an idyllic location for a resort holiday only 50 metres from Bulcock Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Hotel Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Caloundra
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast Caloundra, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing