We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the renovations”
Review of La Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Promenade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I used to like staying here because the rooms were colourful and cheerful and full of character, but sadly the new renovations have left them sterile, stark and soul-less. Still a good location, but I found the impersonal check in (no reception after 2pm on Saturdays - which is the only time you can check in), a bit sad. Also, very thin walls and noisy neighbours. Wont be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zostarbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the bank of the inlet, terrific views and close to cafés and other shops, plenty to choose from, also self contained if you wish to cook also a cafe attached. Large spa bath in room also, very romantic.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

perfect spot for brekky, over looking the water at bulcock beach, caloundra. tasty bacon n egg sandwich for 2 $10, enjoyed looking down at all the coloured fish during our morning breakfast, would love to return to this spot again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank celeste2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent two memorable nights; sure the building is a bit tired, but the location is to die for. Second bedroom out the back so extra visitor was out of sight. waking up to the river views was marvellous; close by to heaps of eating and drinking places

Room Tip: all rooms have fantastic river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thephantomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided to go to Caloundra for our wedding anniversary weekend. We wanted an apartment on the river. We got a room right on the river. Funny little room but good. It had a spa both in the lounge area - I guess that is for the honeymoon types, but it was a fun idea. A spa with a river view...hahaha.
Close to everything, it was great...shame Caloundra restaurants weren't as good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view above ground floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked this apartment through wotif as a last minute stay. It was advertised as 4 1/2 star so I thought we couldn't go wrong! The entire premise is rundown and it is obvious that it has been in the hands of receivers for 2 years. The bedroom is only divided by louvre doors so no peace and quiet from the kids, although it didn't really matter as the sofa bed was so uncomfortable and smelly that the kids ended up sleeping with me. We paid extra for a rooftop barbecue area, it was appalling and virtually unusable. The receptionist did her best to remain pleasant as she received another complaint, and explained that the new owners had just taken over, which is of no help to us! Steer clear for at least a year or 2 until the place has had a total revamp. Great location though.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Placement of everything in the room was a little odd to me. Spa in the middle of the room, kitchen in the hall as you walk through, toilet to he right of front door but not in the bathroom. Lounge was in the normal spot, next to balcony (& spa?). My balcony had stairs to the rooftop which had sun lounges & fabulous views. Good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMM477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#4 of 16 in Caloundra
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
0.8 mi away
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
#1 of 12 in Kings Beach
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Promenade

Address: 4 Tay Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $120 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Promenade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your La Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Promenade Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing