We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Wung Nam Thai Water Palace
Ranked #123 of 205 Restaurants in Caloundra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Arrived on a Monday night and there were only a couple of other tables occupied. The place is licensed but allows BYO bottled wine so we presented our bottle to the waitress. The wine took an eternity to be returned and we observed 2 waitresses and the chef trying to work out how to get the cork out. Eventually the wine was returned well after our order had been taken. The food was OK nothing special and appeared to be prepared by a Thai chef in the open kitchen. The 2 serving staff (non Thai) were friendly but appeared to lack any training or menu knowledge. The floor service seemed a bit of a shambles considering the restaurant was nearly empty. A customer waiting for take away seemed agitiated with the length of time to receive his order. The room itself is well set out with lovely daytime views over the passage. Had to laugh at a sign in the restaurant advertising for a manager to apply with resume. Not sure who would have interviewed any applicants. This place could be so much better with experienced people on the floor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    32
    21
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not very authentic”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Ordered entrees, 2 dishes and rice for 2 people.

Dish 1- massaman curry. Had it with Chicken which was very fatty and grisly. Extremely westernised flavour, almost unrecognisable.

Sizzling Lamb- 4 lamb chops on a hot plate with vegetables but no sauce whatsoever. Bland and uninspiring.

Location is lovely looking over the water. Staff are fine, do their best to be pleasant.

Would try this restaurant again, but not these dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KB240176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very expensive for the offering”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Dined here on a Sunday evening. The restaurant is located with good views (I guess If you were there when it wasn't pitch black at night) but even with the great location there was no atmosphere and dodgy background music - that stopped playing halfway through dinner for a while. Everything on the menu was very expensive - I have no problem paying for good seafood but to charge such high prices for very basic dishes seems ridiculous. The food was very nice but just too expensive for what it actually was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St Kilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food. ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We went late, after the crowds and the food was incredible. The service is ok and menu a little pricey but the food = delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Zach K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Local Dicky Beach resident - world traveller - love Wung Nam!!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just read the negative reviews and was really quite surprised. This thai is the best I have ever tasted - better than thailand even and everywhere else that I have travelled. I find the chilli fish - aaammmmaaazzzzing. Some dishes Im not fussed on but that its to be expected due to personal taste - but they are still very good quality and delicious in their own way. Their $9.90 lunch special is fantastic!! Obviously its dearer at night - as you'd expect. Their naan bread and chicken wings are the best we've had anywhere. We are local (born in Nambour - how embarrassing is that!!) and eat there at least once a week. I must admit the service with the drinks is a little slow sometimes and there is only one (1) toilet - which I find strange for such a large restaurant. I also hate some of the noisy large boofy groups who seem to "take over" the restaurant at times i.e. 60th parties and real estate agent pow wows etc - but what can you do? However, lllllooooooovvvvveeee the food!!! The setting is also fabulous and one of the best views on the coast. It is the food that keeps usgoing back there and I would recommend it to everyone. I am also one of the fussiest and grumpiest people in the world - and I love the place!! Felicity
Dicky Beach Caloundra (local resident - NOT a tourist!!!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DF0030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wung Nam Thai Water Palace also viewed

 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Wung Nam Thai Water Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing