We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked out because of poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My partner and I pulled up at this park in the afternoon, initially we were unsure if we were in the right place because there was no signage, not even the name could be seen. First impressions on the park were quite pleasing as it looked new and was in a great location. Unfortunately from this point on things got worse. I had already phoned through in advance to find out what time the office closed and how much a powered site would cost. This would have been the most expensive park we would have stayed at on our 2 week holiday. The lady that greeted us then informed us that we would need to pay $40 deposit on a boom gate key in cash. Neither of us had enough cash on us, we were told that we would need to go to an ATM and then come back. This is the first time we have come across somewhere that has not been able to take a credit card impression as a deposit, especially for somewhere that has just undergone such a large upgrade. We were quite disgusted by the lack of custome service that was offered and consequentially we found somewhere else to stay for the night. It is not very often that I will walk away from somewhere even if i received bad service but this time I most definitely did.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Battika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaloundraHP, Manager at Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hi Battika,

Firstly, thanks for taking the time to write a review. While its always disappointing to receive negative comments, we do take your feedback seriously.

We, hands up, bungled this one, and we sincerely apologise.
We have subsequently altered our procedures to allow a credit card imprint as a key deposit.

Customer service is an important goal for us and we are actively working to improve, so thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Regards,
Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 244 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Arrived at our cabin and thought oh beautiful and brand new too. We were in a 2 bedroom unit. No book or anything to tell you about your room and how anything works or where to find anything. The kids bedroom had no fan or air conditioner so you have to leave the doors open on bedrooms so the children can have some sort of cooling to sleep. ( my children were still so hot had to sleep out in lounge room floor) the only air conditioner in the unit which is in the dining/lounge is on a timer which you have to turn back on every 4 hrs so you wake up in a sweat and realize you have to get up and turn the aircon back on and reset it again. Stayed for 4 nights NEVER saw fresh towels, no bin emptied, one facial soap supplied for bathing between 5 people and was told it was complimentary and I should have bought my own when asked if I could get some more soap. Kids playing on jumping pillow at 5.30pm and were told to get off as it was being let down for the night. Pool closes at 7pm in summer! Gate gets locked and you get asked to leave. Office lady quite abrupt. When paying more than $170 a night I did not expect my children to have to sleep out in lounge/dining room to keep cool - this is not what you expect from a big 4, the service was poor not as good as other Big 4's we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaloundraHP, Manager at Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hi Jackie,

While its disappointing to receive negative feedback, we do appreciate the effort you have made.
We have closely reviewed your feedback and made a number of changes to policies and procedures.

We are a new park (opened December 2012) and unfortunately it has taken a little while to iron a few kinks (including the ones you mentioned).

Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment.
Regards,
Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We would never have stayed at this place when it was the "old dump" - but now, WOW, WOW, WOW!! They have separated the permanents from the holiday makers (perms happy, holiday-makers happy), added a great little POOL with a SLIDE (please tell me it is going to be heated once it is no longer summer), the tell-tale and much appreciated JUMPING PILLOW and there's even a BOAT RAMP!! The checkin process was laborious and the phone just kept ringing and ringing (people cancelling for the Australia Day long weekend - due to the rain / flooding), but the LOCATION is incredible. Had it not been raining so much so often, we would have walked into town - not even 2 blocks away. Shopping centre also "across the road" and Aldi very close also.

We were very concerned that we were going to sink. Lucky enough there were only 2 other vans and we pretty much parked on the hardest ground we could find. We had a magic view of the passage and would have loved to have brought a tinnie or been picked up in one to have a bit of a cruise around. We were totally covered in mud because of very obvious lack of slabs. Guess they just ran out of time before the busy period.

We would be more than happy to bring a Family Motorhomes RV here again (www.familymotorhomes.com.au). We're just hoping for better weather next time!

The price was reasonable for the location and the facilities (a mere $37.60 for 1 adult and 1 child...which included our Big 4 Discount).

What we would like to see in the future?

If Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park is going to have the Big 4 branding, they're going to have to jump on board with the kids club activities during school holidays. No need to outlay more money for staff, just bring in guest activities - like Fun & Funky Sand Art (Sunshine Coast business), Kayaking or Sailing and various other childrens entertainment.

You're off to a great start!

Oh, and special mention to the lovely man who worked there. He saw us heading for the pool (we managed a short 5 minute COLD swim before the next lot of rain came over) - and quickly offered to turn on the waterslide. SO lovely!

Thanks and see you again!

Room Tip: Near the pool and jumping pillow is a great location but not if you have little ones that go wanderi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorhome_Travel_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaloundraHP, General Manager at Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for such kinds words ! We are glad you had fun.

We take your point on the slabs, and we are currently installing slabs through out the camping sections of the park plus updated drainage. They will be completed by late May 2012.

Unfortunately the pool isn't heated, but the Victorians don't seem to mind.
We currently looking at additional kids activities we can offer for the coming summer.
(where do we start ?? :)

We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We booked into Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park for a week. Unfortunately the weather was attrocious for the whole time. We realise that no one can predict outcome of weather, but am concerned that when we originally booked and paid deposit ($45 per night - 2 adults) in our van - we were not informed that there were no concrete slabs. Consequently we spent the whole week wallowing in mud. The ground was saturated and become one huge mud puddle. Also sections of blue driveway for vans is painted a blue colour and with rain is extremely slippery. We saw two people fall in our time there and were warning everyone to be extra careful. Very,very dangerous. Apart from that great central spot close to water - but definitely needs more friendly front desk staff and these problems fixed quickly or at least, until slabs are done, reduce the cost!!!! This is one of the most expensive caravan parks we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Check as to whether slabs are going to down by the time you are ready to book. Without them in wet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeSpiritResorts, General Manager at Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Firstly we would like to sincerely apologise for what you experienced on your holiday. We have recently undergone a major $10 million redevelopment of the park with new cabins, pool, play equipment, sites and streets. During the opening of the new park we had experienced some terrible weather which exposed areas which are currently in review for rectification. We are in the process of laying slabs and will be resurfacing slippery surfaces. We are also sorry to hear you were not greeted with friendly service. We pride ourselves on offering a quality customer experience and we have clearly let you down on this occasion and sincerely apologise. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, we will pay immediate attention to your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moffat Beach Motel
Moffat Beach Motel
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#7 of 16 in Caloundra
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park

Address: Waterfront Holiday Park 44 Maloja Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a holiday packed full of family fun, you've found the ultimate destination. Ideally situated on the absolute water's edge of the famed Pumicestone Passage, choose accommodation from luxury cabins to the fun of camping outdoors.Be among the first to experience our $10 million redevelopment, conveniently close to Caloundra's amenities including parks, cafes and shops. Whether you feel like swimming, shopping, or just relaxing, there's something for every family member to enjoy at this BIG4 Holiday Park. Just an hour from Brisbane, 20 minutes from Maroochydore airport and close to Australia Zoo, Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park is the ultimate holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing