We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowest service ever”
Review of Shingle Inn

Shingle Inn
Ranked #32 of 206 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slowest service ever”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This has to be the slowest service ever! Meals expensive and very average especially the ones that had to be reheated! Don't take kids here who are hungry you could be waiting a couple of hours!!

Helpful?
Thank JSGCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beenleigh, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was average”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not impressed by the food or service. It was very warm inside too. But it was too windy to be outside.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor setting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had the All Day breakfast options (26/08/13). Quite nice but the serving was rather small when you compare to the Coffee Club serving of their big breakfast (plates were small). The 'healthy' big breakfast gives you gluten free toast as standard. The open setting is quite nice but you hardly get any sun so bring a something warm during the start/end of winter. Quick service but a few more smiles from the waitresses would have been nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malu_NNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Try the devonshire tea”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Shingle Inn is conveniently located adjacent to the Monaco Resort. Unlike a lot of cafes, the Shingle Inn stayed open until late evening and the food choices are diverse. My favourite is their devonshire tea, with warm scones, jam and lashings of clotted cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recieved free breakfast vouchers from my hotel for Shingle Inn Cafe. There was 4 options to choose from and 3 drink options. My boyfriend had the Eggs Benedict and i had the fruit salad (meant to have yoghurt and raisin toast but i dont eat dairy and had gluten free toast instead). The food seemed a little slow considering the cafe was nearly empty, but the food was nice and service was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shingle Inn also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Shingle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing