We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough staff are friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coffee Club

The Coffee Club
Ranked #6 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Caloundra
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There are 2 Coffee Clubs in Caloundra - this is the one at Rumba Resort not the one at Stockland shopping centre.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice enough staff are friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not really one for the chain coffee shop thing but the food was better then expected, the staff were extra friendly and helpful being we were new to the area. But it is just a clone of all the rest nothing more to say really

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    75
    42
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast,Qld
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Appalling service and coffee and food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the second time that a group of us went to The Coffee Club for afternoon tea. I really don't know why we returned a second time, as it was similar to our first experience. As we arrived we were greeted by a waitress who asked "How long are Youse going to stay cause we need to vacuum?!!' It was at 3.45pm, so no where near closing time. It was very windy outside and we wanted to sit inside to stay out of the wind. We told her we wanted afternoon tea so she said she would ask the duty manager for permission for us to sit inside. She gave us permission and the waitress pointed to a table in the corner where we could sit. She also said "Drag another table over if you need it' -great customer service!! Two of the ladies had to send their coffees back as they were cold and another took a sip from her coffee and almost swallowed a sugar wrapper that had been left in the cup. When staff were made aware of it there was no apology just "What was the coffee and we'll get you another one!" When my friend asked for some water and glasses for two of us another waitress bought out the bottle, poured my friend a glass and then said"You can pour yours cause I'm only pouring one!"Wow! I couldn't believe it! Another friend ordered an Apple Crumble Slice that was so "over microwaved" that it was a sloppy mess on the plate. It was appalling service along with a very low standard of coffee/ food. We felt like we were in a Fawlty Towers episode. We thought that this place was an absolute joke and we will not be returning a 3rd time that's for sure!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suedickens_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dinner Specials were good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staying at Rumba we decided to dine there on our first night and took advantage of the black board specials. The Pene with garlic creamy scallops was particularly good, the Baramundi was nice, but there could have been a little more on the plate - perhaps a bit more salad or accompaniments, I was still hungry. Our other friends ate the prawn crepe which was lovely and rich, she couldn't finish it. Overall very good food. Taking advantage of the free wifi is another good reason to dine here or have a business meeting in this place. The staff were very friendly and helpful coming over to check if we needed the door closed when the wind came up a bit in the evening. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misstiatokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, good food and great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited for breakfast and was super impressed. The staff were very attentive and friendly. They had little colouring packs for the kids and nothing was too much hassle. Coffee and food were amazing for the coffee club. We will be back next time we visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Coffee with a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We met with old friends and the location is very good. Coffee was great. We had toasted sandwiches that could have been better. There was not enough filling, for the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezza111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Club also viewed

 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Coffee Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing