We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, amazing location!”
Review of Saltwater at Kings - CLOSED

Saltwater at Kings
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing location!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Saltwater at Kings gave us one of the best dining experiences we have had in a long time. Located almost right on Kings Beach at Caloundra we could hear the surf crashing onto the sand as we watched the full moon rise over the ocean. We were only at Saltwater because we purchased a meal deal off the internet but could not have been happier at the way our experience had begun. The service we received was fantastic, all the staff were very knowledgeable about the menu and gave us a great level of attention. We were in no rush to eat and leave but I was not conscious of any delays or having to wait long for our food. The food itself was to die for, well cooked, presented and generous in the portion size. On the night we were there the restaurant had live entertainment in the form of a soloist who sang songs that took us back to another time and helped make our evening complete. We got great value for money with our meal deal, if we paid full price for our food then it would have been a little on the expensive side. Having said that if we could repeat this experience we would do it in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    16
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, service too slow”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have been visiting this restaurant for the past 7 years, on a regular basis. Unfortunately our recent experiences do not match up to our earlier ones. Popping in on a Sunday morning, recently, we ordered two coffees and two omlettes. The waitress was friendly, but her attention to us ended once the coffees were delivered. Fast forward, an hour and a half later, we were STILL waiting for the omelettes! During this time, the waitress didn't offer us water or ask if we wanted a second coffee each, or take away our empty mugs.

We enquired three times about the omelettes and were told they were coming. It was a cold morning, and we were chilled to the bone just waiting... And waiting! People at the tables alongside arrived after us, were served, and left. In the end, we paid for the coffees and left. Next time, we'll have coffee only. It is a pity as this used to be one of our favourite restaurants in Caloundra.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancophileJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We had an Our Deal voucher to eat here. Just as well. Made a booking for Sunday night. 7pm. Only about 4 other groups there of tables of 2-4, so not busy. We were shown to our table and our order subsequently taken but that is where the good service ended. Waited over 50 minutes for our main and they didn't even offer an apology! 2 eye fillets which were cooked ok but mine was tough. Ordered green beans in prosciutto. They were totally raw. Probably not worth a second chance. Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank unluckyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top location, terrible experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Pretty much everything bad, unfortunately.... service: extremely slow (45 minutes wait for 2 baguettes and a kid menu that did not even come to the table at the same time!), totally casual and simply careless. Food: very limited choices for lunch, weird menu combination, low quality ingredients used (the bottom-shelf, pre-cooked baguettes from Coles are better!). price: high street ones, totally expensive considering the quality offered. What else can I say? Just a bad experience, strickly to avoid. To top it all... we tried to "make this experience better" by ordering a dessert: $15 for a tiny, yet old and mediocre slice of cheesecake glaced with a yellow layer of "something" that was suppose to remind of lemon flavour... 2/3 of it remained in the plate.

Helpful?
1 Thank SempreOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and nice staff.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I took my partner there for dinner on his birthday. We were greated by a friendly lady and seated straight away. I had a scoupon deal dinner for 2 for $40. We were informed our entre would be out shortly and picked my wine. The entre was a trio of dips which tasted amazing, my partner orded the eye fillet and I got the rib fillet with mushroom and tomato risotto which was cooked to perfection and stringy cheese in the risotto was so good. We also orded dessert which didn't come with the deal but the ooey gooey chocolate pudding was soo good the best dessert I have ever had my partner got the mini pavlova and was also good. Over all we had a great experience with great food and went for a walk along the beach afterwards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sezz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater at Kings also viewed

Kings Beach, Caloundra
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Dicky Beach, Caloundra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing