We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy cafe in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe By The Beach

Cafe By The Beach
Ranked #129 of 204 Restaurants in Caloundra
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Café by the beach is located in the heart of beautiful Moffat Beach and is open 7 days. The friendly wait staff provides excellent service in a relaxed beachside atmosphere. The restaurant seats 110 guests and is the ideal location for business functions and get-togethers with family and friends. Famous for their “all day” pancakes, the café serves gourmet style cafe food daily and delicious modern-style cuisine nightly including pizza, pasta and blackboard specials.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Busy cafe in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have to admit right from the start that we haven't dined here but have had several cappuccini and affogati and the coffees are consistently excellent. The food served to other diners looked very good. The tables outside are always busy but there are usually seats to be had inside the cafe itself. The staff are pleasant and friendly, and we liked the jaffas served with the coffees, as an extra. A small touch but when the cafe next door doesn't serve anything extra, it kept us going back to this one !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    18
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great vibe at Moffatt Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

A lively vibe at Moffat Beach on Sunday morning with a selection of cafes all pumping with diners. Grabbed an indoors table at Cafe by the Beach as outdoors looked full. Staff quickly arrived with menus and glasses of water. There is nothing super special about the menu except the array of pancake choices. Still I couldn't go past the traditional bacon & eggs brekkie... Food arrived pronto and was fine. I like to butter my toast to the edges, so best to let me butter myself. Nice coffee and oj. All in all a lovely brunch that didn't cost the earth.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasminepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breakfast near the Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

A second choice for Monday Breakfast, the first choice, with no view, only serves on the weekend.
The experiece was okay, nothing brilliant.
The food was excellent! My black coffee was excellent, my wife's decaf Latte was good but my daughtes flat whit lacked flavour and was to creamy for her tates.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
572 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice location - great food - good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We've been back to this cafe 3 times and have enjoyed ourselves each time. Their "Tapas for 2" is excellent value (it's like an entree and main meal on one plate)!

Sitting in their alfresco area you can look straight over to the ocean in the near-distance. Around sunset, you can hear and see the lorikeets (birds) twittering around in the trees over in the parkland.

We have found the service is always good and have no complaints about the food - well presented and delicious! Being a return customer is a compliment within itself :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING PANCAKES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

you cant go to cafe by the beach withount trying there amazing pancakes!! Servings are massive with plenty of toppings!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank hayden p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe By The Beach also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Cafe By The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing