We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great place to stay!! Very clean, between Main Street and Esplanade. Two bathrooms were appreciated with 4 people. Very roomy and plenty of space to move. Air conditioned as well as ceiling fans in bedrooms. Lovely pool (unfortunately not there long enough to enjoy). Walking distance to all close by restaurants and shops. And with the bus depot just around the corner, easy to catch a bus to anywhere on the Sunshine Coast. Great value for money - would definately stay again.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, so if you're a bit elderly and can't carry suitcases, ask for a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karyneb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback. It is a great area and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Tranquil Shores easter 2012 and it was a good stay. The rooms are fairly spacious and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The location is terrific as it is close to everything and you wont need your car to get anywhere (unless you want to). Our room was closest to the water and the view was ok but not direct waterfront and the balcony is not very big (just large enough for a small table and chairs). There is also a small balcony off the master bedroom with no water views. management were friendly and organised a kids easter hunt which was lovely. Room was clean and bathroom was big.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not very clean and noise from the apartments above and below could be a problem if people are up till late or have small children that wake up early. We had both- not much rest.
Alkso take cleanig supplies with you and if you plan to cooktake your own dishes.
Aparment had very dusty carpets, mouldy bathroom, kitchen cooking utensils very bad quality and questionable clenliness. TV was from last century and no free WiFi. WiFi was available but price was unacceptable.

Room Tip: Take cleanig supplies with you and if cooking your own dishes- very dusty carpets, mouldy bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

It is disappointing that at times as a result of other issues guests use this forum for the wrong agenda. This is clearly the case here. I guess people can read between the lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are a family of four and wanted just one night away at Caloundra. I stumbled across this place and made a booking. We paid $150.00 for a Saturday night. On the Saturday Morning the owners contacted me to tell me the unit was ready early, which was great and I was very impressed.
Its in a great location, close to the beach and cafes. We were on the top floor with a little bit of a ocean view, the furnishings were fine. Modern and clean. No complaints at all, but they are privately owned and furnished differently. The kitchen has everything you need.
I was happy for a one night stay, we usually stay in 4.5-5 star apartments but I found Tranquil Shores great for a one or two night stay. I would like to say though, that when I got out of the pool and went down the stairs to have a smoke (am quitting slowly) away from the pool I slipped down the stairs and hurt myself badly, the other guests saw this and came and helped me. I didnt see any signs near the stairs warning that the steps might be slippery if feet are wet. This ruined the rest of the holiday Im afraid to say and to this day I have pain in my lower back from this fall. Maybe just putting a little sign up or writing on the stairs saying they are slippery when wet, or maybe coating them with non slip paint. Other then this we had a fantastic time and will be back again. I do have to say the pool is wonderful, I never go in pools because they are always too cold for me, but this pool is just right. Will be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Free15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are keen for a return visit. We are sorry to hear that your visit was tarnished by a slip on the stairs. We take on board your feedback and will certainly examine any possible ways to improve safety for guests. We do encourage guests to dry themselves before exiting the pool area so unfortunately we are reliant on cooperation in this area to minimise risk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I kindof struggled with the overall rating to give Tranquil Shores.
It's certainly not a flash place, neither is it particularly homely. It is however really well located, just a few metres up from the waterfront, but also very close to the Caloundra CBD.
The apartments are good sized, and comfortable, and there's a nice pool on site.
Best of all it's great value for what it is - the perfect place to stay with a family right on the Sunshine Coast next to the beach.

I note some reviews mentioning the quality of the furnishings/TVs etc - all the units are individually privately owned, but are rented out, so there seems to be some differences in the furnishings between them. The unit we were in had a large 42" plasma TV, so couldn't complain too much.

So although it's really 3* quality-wise, the location/value bumps it up to 4* overall in my mind!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and what the local area had to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We decided to come back again because the managers care about improving our stay here and that they did. We enjoyed a top apartment which had everything we needed and cared for.Tthe place was clean well looked after. Thanks again for taking notice of our comments and acting upon them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownSkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doons66, Manager at Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

We are pleased to hear that you again enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging to get positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Location was good, price was reasonable, unfortunately the showers don't work properly ? And very old TVs Video ? But if your desperate for a room for the night this is the place :-) Just do your home work before staying here ?

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

We are disappointed to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We are a 3.5 star complex with units assessed by AAA as providing amenities exceeding our classification. The age of a TV has never been a factor with our large percentage of repeat customers. We would be happy to assess and raise the quality of a TV with the applicable owners if the unit number was known. In regards to the maintenance issue we rely upon guests to notify us if any amenities are not working. We also supply comment sheets in all units to enable us to address issues promptly before further guests arrive. Unfortunately we were not notified of a problem with a shower during your stay making it impossible to address the issue for you. I can say that your shower problem is not indicative of the rest of the complex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachside Court Holiday Apartments
1.4 mi away
Moorings Beach Resort
Moorings Beach Resort
#14 of 16 in Caloundra
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments

Address: 57 Minchinton St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $102 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquil Shores Holiday Apartments Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing