We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the Sunshine Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norfolks on Moffat Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked a 2-bedroomed apartment with an ensuite having read reviews on here that said all 2-bedroomed apartments don't necessarily have ensuites. On checking in we were upgraded to what the manager thought was one of the best apartments in the complex, once he'd seen which one we'd initially been put in. I'd love to know what the difference was, but didn't ask ! Anyway both Stephanie and Barney were very pleasant and helpful, and Macca their Schnauzer is gorgeous !
Be warned that the lift is interminably slow, both to arrive and to ride in. The stairs aren't handily next to the lift but at the front of the building, and are very airless and a bit smelly.
Our apartment was very spacious with a large balcony but we were disappointed that the ensuite wasn't very clean ~ there was old soap sticking to the soap dish in the shower and the floor tiles in there were grimy. I could scrape the grime off with my fingernail but since there weren't any cleaning cloths provided, couldn't do a proper cleaning job. Didn't worry about it enough to go and buy any cleaning products and didn't complain either, so you can tell it wasn't really a "major".
Our ensuite was also very small with just enough room to open the shower door past the towel rail on the back of the door. The main toilet next to the bathroom was the same, with just enough room to open the door past the toilet. It seems a shame to design such spacious living areas but skimp on space in other rooms. Nothing to be done about that now, of course.
The only other negative comment I have is that all the pillows in the apartment were very dense, so I ended up with a stiff neck after 5 nights. But if you like your pillow like that then I guess it could be a plus !
The pool is beautifully warm so we used it every day ~ even if the weather is hot (which it was) the contrast with a cold pool and hot skin can be unpleasant, so getting into the warm pool was lovely. The spa pool is the same temperature.
The cafes across the road do great coffees and meals and get very busy with all the tables in use outside, but usually plenty available inside. Families with small kids will enjoy the children's playground just across the road, and of course the beach is right there. We also enjoyed walking along the coastal path.
In spite of my negative comments the Norfolks is a great place to stay on the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for the first time with a large numer of family and friends over a three day weekend. We were all in the area for a wedding. The units are a great size and very well appointed. They could do with updating though. We had security doors but no screens. The ground floor units are especially good for small children. The BBQ area is clean and located well. The pool area is really nice and especially easy with small children as they have a shallow area.
The main complaint, not experienced by us, but with other family members who would not cause trouble anywhere they stayed or ever be rude, were spoken very abruptly and rudely by the male manager. He seemed to have a problem instantly with some people, not sure if there is some sort of prejudice going on, but they were very upset by feeling targeted and for no apparent reason. He spoke rudely and stared unnecessarily making their stay most unpleasant. If people in general are irritating, there are other professions that don't deal with the public.
There is a fair bit if difference in the quality of the decor from room to room. There needs to be a standard. Eg some had big screen tvs, some small. Some couldn't get foxtel even tho it was in other units. Not good when guests compare and pay the same price.

Room Tip: Ground floor is ideal for young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredPerson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Wenstayes here for 9 nights in a 2 bed unit. The location is perfect right across from the beach and the pool is great for kids. There is also a playground across the road and our 2 year old loved the place. They are well equipped with a good kitchen and all the equipment you could need and the balconies are huge. There are 3 decent cares across the road and overall it's a gat place although the units are getting a bit old and could do with a bit of an update.

Room Tip: The higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 415GerardC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in January 2012 for 9 nights and could not recommend it more highly!!
The units were clean, and very well aquipt with everything you need.
It is fantastic location for families with cafes, great coffee just across the road as well as a great park and beautiful beach.
A highlight were the huge balconies which were great on a couple of wet days we had.
The managers were very pleasent to deal with and i have just booked in for next year.
Overall a fantastic spot, just wish we had found it years ago!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent place to stay ,a clean lovely swimming pool, not to mention the spa and sauna!! The beach is a stone throw away, and lovely coffee across the road.
The apartments are clean and cosy, and the managers were very pleasant to deal with.
A very relaxing place, we will definitely be back.
Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have been coming here regularly since our children were little. Love the apartments with the big living areas and verandas. Love the views. Love the pool. Restaurants and convenience store across the road. Whether its wandering along the foreshore, swimming in the sea or at the pool watching the ships passing by, fine dining or just putting your feet up to watch the world go by you won't find a better place than here.
We have already booked to come back in April. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

For a family holiday by the beach you can not beat this place! The location is magnificent with the pool, beach and cafe's right there in front of you. The apartments are clean, well maintained and ideal for a short or long stay. Everything here is extremely well maintained and managed which makes for a family wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor for young families are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
531 reviews
1 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Dicky Beach
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moffat Beach Motel
Moffat Beach Motel
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolks on Moffat Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolks on Moffat Beach

Address: Norfolk Units 32 Queen of Colonies Pde | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $96 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolks on Moffat Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated across from fabulous Moffat Beach, the Norfolks on Moffat Beach is your perfect base from which to explore all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer or to simply unwind and enjoy your facilities and that of the resort. A total of 42 two bedroom and three bedroom apartments, tastefully furnished with all the comforts of home all with sweeping views of Moffat Beach, its gentle right handed surf break and out to sea. Fantastic cafes across the road, wonderful coffee, a microbrewery, , art galleries, yoga, a park ideal for younger families all less than 100 mtrs from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Norfolks on Moffat Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolks On Moffat Beach Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing