We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Birthday Break”
Review of Ocean Views Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Views Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Birthday Break”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

For my Birthday my husband wanted to take me to my favourite place, Caloundra. We chose to stay at the OVR for 4 nights. Its a perfect location with restaurants, the beach and a beautiful boardwalk close by. It was a very relaxing holiday in a modern, clean and comfortable studio apartment. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room from the 3rd level or higher to take advantage of the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    107
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
34
136
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at OVR for 5 days over the Christmas holidays.

The hotel is well located, a short walk to the boardwalk, restaurants and beach.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, fresh and modern. Highlights of the room included a well appointed kitchen, very comfortable beds and a cooling afternoon sea breeze on the balcony.

The hotel has a great pool for a refreshing dip.

We would highly recommend Ocean View Resort to anyone wanting to stay on the Sunshine Coast.

Thanks to the managers, Sue and Roy for looking after us and making us feel so welcome. We hope to come back soon.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

A last minute decision to look for accommodation in Caloundra rather than stay with family resulted in a 2 night stay in OVR. We were so impressed with the beautiful room, living area and kitchen. We had been given a disabled access room which suited us. A view of the ocean from our balcony. The pool fantastic and just the right temperature, no doubt due to the spill of warm water from the spa. We didn't spend a lot of time there, mostly with family on Christmas Day but so happy to have such a delightful bolt hole. Would certainly stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks ago. Arrived from airport at 9.30am and given room straight away which was hugely appreciated as I had been traveling for 6 hours. Double room had lovely furnishing and had balcony overlooking street with small sea view.
Pool and pool area sheltered and inviting.
Couldn't fault my stay and would have stayed longer if I could have

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Caloundra and the Esplanade so picturesque - would never know from OVR. Room 409 internal bedroom - no windows or light, and it stank. I thought it was old cigarette smoke in the room, but the same smell but fainter at reception too. Concrete rot maybe? Got out after 1 night (had booked 3) and was ripped off with a inflated one-night rate, but worth it to escape!

Room Tip: Go to Monaca, Belair - or camp ground. OVR was rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Con_4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Only stayed the one night, but very nice modern 1 bedroom room.. Didn't get a chance to use pool etc but looked great, again, very clean looking, only wished could have stayed longer. One bugbear.... Pillows flat as a tack...but otherwise bed and sheets fantastic. Would stay again, no party policy good even for us who like to party as always good to get a good night sleep :-)

Room Tip: You'd definitely want a higher floor to get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyl655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I agree with Leanne This place is not as promoted. It desperately needs maintenance and friendly helpful Managers. We couldn't get WIFI as advertised and even the cell phones didn't seem to get a decent reception. The manager said sometimes it doesn't work on an ipad. What does it work on if not an ipad? The seaviews were limited and pretty distant..The pool however was lovely and the bed was very comfortable This place is very basic and badly needs attention
We left a day early but didn't expect a refund There are much better deals out there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HB298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Views Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Views Resort

Property: Ocean Views Resort
Address: 115 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Views Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Views Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Views Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing