We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mislead and Abused”
Review of Ocean Views Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Views Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mislead and Abused”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided to finish off our long planned family holiday, with my mother and Step father and our young children, in the sunshine Coast after spending 7 fabulous nights at the Meriton in the Gold Coast. What a disappointment!!! Firstly the reception staff are as cold as ice on welcoming, we head to our 2 bedroom apartment which is actually 2 * 1 bedroom apartments which can be locked off with the close of a door (they provided a door wedge to help the situation) which means if the door is closed a swipe card is needed to enter. We have 2 young children (3 and 5) there was no way I was going to leave my young children in a separate apartment, that a removal of a door stop can lock them into. My husband and I had to sleep in separate apartments with one child each.
The beds were as hard a rocks, with loose springs. We assumed when booking for 2 young children they would have 2 singles in one room like every other apartment - however this was not the case. We asked for a stretcher which we were told would cost an extra $35 - we were not paying this for the dirty overpriced apartments (plural). There are very distant ocean views and a lot of standard kitchen items missing from the kitchenettes. The apartments needed maintenance. We decided to leave the next morning and asked for the remaining 2 nights to be refunded as well as my mothers room (whos room was actually ok apart from it being dirty and requiring maintenance) so that we could go and stay in Mooloolaba. We were treated like dirt - it was disgusting, they had mislead us in a number of ways - some not mentioned due to word limits, the male owner stood up from his seat and aggressively spoke in my husbands face - the female owner calmed the situation down and eventually we got a partial refund. Extremely disappointed and if it wasn't for the extremely pleasant stay at the Oceans in Mooloolaba (highly recommended)- this event would have ruined our trip. They should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    107
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
34
136
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment. Apartment was clean and tidy and well appointed. Check-in was simple and friendly. Could see the ocean from our second floor balcony, but note that it's not right across the road from the beach. Compared to other accommodation options in the area I feel this was the best value for money and it didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Well I arrived I found the pin code was nothing like I needed to get the key from safe.

Got to 5th level, the view was ok but buildings in front of us.

I had those frosted windows between bathroom and bedroom which is not good for anyone except couples as can see all as not frosted much.

Air con had to be set 25 to feel 22 a bit quirky. I read the brochure saying had Foxtel but they didn't. The free wi if also did not connect.

Bed was nice and comfortable, quiet and easy to sleep. Location ok and parking easy.

Now the bad part - second day some ants turned up in bathroom, lady came and sprayed them. Next day thousands of ants came out, again sprayed them and cleaned up. Couldn't change rooms as full and no offer of discount either!

Won't be returning to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyAwayOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed Sept 2013. Problem number 1 - 'Ocean Views Resort'...well...I had a lovely view of the road and the building opposite?! Room itself was ok, clean tidy and decent size - small balcony so I could get even closer to enjoying that road. Pool & sauna were ok, although colder than most other places I stayed. Car parking provided and good location for main street shops and restaurants - all walking distance. Beaches run along the promenade and then the excellent Kings bach is just a 15 min stroll or so. I wouldn't say don't stay here - I would just say make sure you get a better room than I did as Im sure with a view on one of the higher floors it would be much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend came here for new years 2012, we traveled from Sydney and just wanted the best location at the right price.
We got 4night in an amazing HUGE room for $800. The room was out of this world..huge living room, flat screen TV. dvd player radio I dock.Massive balcony along with the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, and we travel a lot .
The kitchen was well kitted out and we didn't need to ask for anything extra .
Staff were lovely and friendly and the location was prefect, lots of cafe and restaurants around and our balcony had the oceanview.
Pool was awesome and enough sunbeds for everyone.
Toilets and showers in foyer and luggage room too.
Everything was clean and well up to standard.
We didnt use the gym but it was not big or of any use to use really.
Amazing trip and cannot wait to go back.

Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice welcoming staff. Clean and tidy. Centrally located close to restaurants and the beach. Our room was small but had a balcony and view of the water - which was a bonus. All you need at a good price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currumbin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this resort. Room was a good size and included all essentials. We did ask to change rooms as the toilet didn't flush in the first one and when it was fixed the whole unit really smelt. The change was smooth and efficient and the new room actually had a better bathroom layout than the old one. The units are one of the better ones available in Caloundra and close to all amenities while being reasonably priced. The heated pool was a bonus and off street parking was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Views Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Views Resort

Property: Ocean Views Resort
Address: 115 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Views Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Views Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Views Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing