We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for Caloundra Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Views Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Views Resort
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Caloundra Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I recently stayed here with my partner & friends for New Years Eve celebrations. I booked it way in advance, but it was still expensive due to the holiday season. In saying that though, we essentially had 2 full rooms for $310 for one night. The two rooms were joined by a kitchen & it suited our needs perfectly as we were two couples holidaying together.

The rooms were beautifully presented, clean & spacious with their own bathrooms & balconies. In the main room (Room 205) there was also a lounge room & full kitchen & the adjacent room (Room 206) was another bedroom, small sitting area with bar fridge & bathroom. The bathrooms were nice & spacious too, but the 1/2 glass screen on the shower did not prevent water from going everywhere when you showered. The beds were very, very comfortable. Had an excellent night's sleep! The air con also worked really well to keep such a large space cool.

The staff were pleasant to deal with & even called me to say the room was ready early.

The location of the hotel was good, but it's not right on the water. Its situated back on the main street of Caloundra which makes it central to everything (beach/shops/restaurants). There was a view of the ocean from the balconies, but it was slight. Could have been cause we were only on the 2nd floor though.

The rooms came with free parking, so that was good.

Our only real disappointment came from discovering the bottle opener on top of the little bar fridge in the 2nd room the day after! We were hunting for it the night before in the kitchen & thought the room didn't have one!! There was one bottle of wine that didn't get drunk due to this!! It would be nice if the bottle opener was in the kitchen where it should be.

We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. Very close to the rooms we had.

All in all, I would definitely return to OVR when visiting Caloundra again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    103
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
34
132
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a little gem! Having stayed at a variety of Caloundra resorts over the last 30 yrs- I am very glad I discovered OVR. As other Reviewers have written- staff were fantastic and went above and beyond. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit- very funky venetian folding walls can enclose it, or you can keep it 'open' which makes the unit, already a good size, that much bigger. Great location, great price. Clean, and everything you could possibly need is supplied. Highly recommend this one!

Room Tip: I took other Reviewers advice and requested a room high up with an ocean view- I emailed the managem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldCoast123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked 5 nights online and were thoroughly impressed with the room, the staff, the pool, spa and sauna....and the view. Stayed in a one-bedroom unit on level 2 facing the ocean and loved the uninterupted oceanview down Tay Avenue. While we were there we checked out a studio unit which was for sale. So glad we stayed in the one-bedder as the kitchen had a full stove and a lounge area, plus a washing machine and dryer, which the studio units didn't.
OVR is really well managed and the pool was sparkling. So was the receptionist! It's ideal for long weekends, romantic getaways and business trips. No need to byo linen at OVR, unlike many of the holiday rentals available in Caloundra.
Make sure you get an ocean-facing unit from level 2 or higher. We got views of Bribie Island on level 2 which was very satisfying since we didn't specifically request a room with a view. And double-glazed balcony doors eliminated any road noise one might expect on Bulcock St.
We checked in after 5pm and it was a simple procedure to get keys from security box with intercom linkup.
Can't go past OVR now that we've experienced the best. We will be back.

Room Tip: Go for ocean-facing room from level 2 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I would definitely stay there again, my only issue was the bed was really uncomfortable and actually caused my husband to get really bad back pain.
Perhaps beds more like the pillow tops that Rydges use would be nice. Also our son is in a wheelchair and could not access the rooftop BBQ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
273 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Had a 1 bedroom apartment on the ocean side with a great view of the Pumistone Passage and Bribie.

Very clean modern apartments with access to everything in Caloundra once we got there the car didn't come out from the car park. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and the only drama is the early checkin as the office closes at 5pm. Very central location in the main street. Walk everywhere after parking the car in the undercover carpark. Ask for a high floor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerveyBay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The place was easy to find and the staff were very easy to deal with. The room was very nice, modern and clean. I had an enjoyable stay all round.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Views Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Views Resort

Property: Ocean Views Resort
Address: 115 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Views Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Views Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Views Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing