We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Moffat Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moffat Beach Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stumbled upon this motel when passing through from cairns to the gold-coast, we were relocating with two small dogs and found pet friendly..I firstly called before arriving to see availability. I spoke to Jane whom I warmed to straight away with her pleasant phone manner. We had to pay a little extra for our pets but when it comes to our babies ;) price doesn't matter. When we arrived we met Murray! What a lovely gentleman with a kind smiling face.. We shared a joke;) the rooms were so clean and comfortable, a bit small but hey we aren't complaining at all. When we left the following morning I spoke with Jane and Murray at different times and they wished me all the best . One word for both of them "absolute sweethearts" thanks to both of you. There should be more people in the world like you.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
17
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didim, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Caloundra without a booking. Stopped at Moffat Beach Motel and were given the last room available $130. It is an old style motel. The room was clean but could do with a revamp, i.e. pillows, mattress, blanket, towels etc. Several petty rules on notes were pasted on the walls of the room, something we have never experienced before......"no talking after 9.00 p.m." sounded a little extreme and reminiscent of boarding school! The bed was uncomfortable as were the pillows. The towels were very thin. This motel gives the impression of being run on a shoe string.
The manager, Murray, was very helpful and friendly as was the cleaning lady. There is no privacy when sitting outside the room, the view is looking at the rooms opposite. The back garden is devoid of plants except for a few cuttings recently planted. We checked out the following day and found a superb hotel, room on top floor, extensive water views, large balcony, beautifully appointed, for the same price!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Small motel in the old style. Clean and comfortable. Priced correctly at less than $100.
Short walk to eating places and a beautiful beach. Late afternoon and early morning pretty noisy but quiet overnight!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Moffat beach motel over Easter and I must say I had a really nice stay. It's great location and friendly helpful staff catered for all of my needs while I was there. Really great place to relax and unwind and the beaches are looking great again. Will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscart24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband & I stayed here last minute over a weekend. The staff were helpful friendly & down to earth! The room was clean, neat & everything you need for a night or two stay. Queen sized bed, big flat screen tv, wifi free of charge, cold water/ tea / coffee, milk & biscuits in the room.

Remember this is a motel room not a resort so based on that I rate this high as I will be staying here again. Its a great location, a short walk to Moffats Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amor_vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moffatbeachmotel, Owner at Moffat Beach Motel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Moffat Beach Motel - we appreciate your time and your business!

Hope to see you in Caloundra again soon....we have a new Expresso Bar @ Moffat Beach, a new playground and a new restaurant. Time for another visit?

The beaches have settled after all the Australia Day onwards weather so they are back to their beautiful condition.

Look forward to seeing you again - Dianna Mullins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Very reasonably priced room with comfy beds and plenty of space . The manager was very nice and helpful for our stay and we would deffinitly return again if need be. Also located very close to Moffat and dicky beach was very handy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josho868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakey, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

As a family we needed somewhere reasonable to stay during xmas break the rooms were very clean and tidy staff were excellent and friendly. Highly reccommend as it is quite clean and comfortable for the price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
645 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moffat Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moffat Beach Motel

Property: Moffat Beach Motel
Address: 56 Roderick St | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moffat Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Moffat Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moffat Beach Motel Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing