We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor!”

Tides Waterfront Dining
Ranked #6 of 203 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have been to this restaurant a number of times and have been delighted with the outstanding service and quality of food. However this time we were very disappointed in the quality of the food. The manager, when approached was unprofessional and unhelpful, and we won't be returning :(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    92
    36
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed Visitor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have to agree with Lynley T. Where was the seafood? I have been to this restaurant before and was surprised at the limited menu this time. I also had the snapper, scallops and prawns. Disappointing overall. The scallops were awash with a tomato coating that completely overwhelmed the dish. The prawns were in 'tempura' batter - really? They were rubbery and overdone. Nothing like the delicate tempura dishes I have had in the past. The two female waitresses were delightful. Can't say much about the man behind the counter - he didn't even look up when I went to pay. Overpriced and oh hum. Won't be gracing their doors again in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank vicki407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“But WHERE'S THE SEAFOOD??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Visiting friends on the Sunshine Coast I was hanging out for some lovely Queensland seafood. So, it was with much excitement that we decided on "Tides" - lovely venue overlooking the water - had it not been raining and the shades were down. Hence the atmosphere was pretty dull, although on a nice day it would be fantastic.
I couldn't hide my disappointment when presented with the Menu by the very pleasant and attentive staff. There was only 1 Seafood main course - Snapper, prawns and a few scallops covered with tomato puree!! Cost of $49.00 was pricey for what arrived... and not a chip or salad to be seen. Had to order every dish separately, which for our smallish group made it a most expensive night. Having to order a second bottle due to the long wait for the meal to arrive added to the cost, as the wine was also excessively expensive for what it was. The delay was obviously due to the large number of diners... who all seemed to be enjoying themselves in spite of a rather ordinary non-seafood menu. Couldn't complain about the staff, they were fantastic. They just didn't have much to work with as far as a comprehensive menu, so obviously had to make it up to patrons by being fantastic. Better places to eat in Caloundra.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
562 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

On a lovely sunny Sunday - lunch on the balcony at Tides with friends. The first time I have been to Tides and first impression on entering the restaurant was excellent: crisp white tablecloths and napkins (how many of the 'up market' restaurants these days do not bother!). We had the warmest welcome from the maitre d' and were comfortable from the outset. Set lunch for $37.50 for two courses, $50 for three is excellent value. Portions are not huge but sufficient enough for lunch. Choices are good with gluten free options. A very impressive wine list with wide choices - and prices. Could not fault anything and would certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marigoldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great parma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great cheap chicken parmagiana on Wednesday nights, relaxed atmosphere. Great service. Large serves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Waterfront Dining also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Dicky Beach, Caloundra
 

Been to Tides Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing