We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast for a long weekend to allow our 2 boys to try fishing. We all had a great time, and we caught fish. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean, we had an awesome beach view.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11. great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just checked in, great room, modern furniture, lovely view, friendly staff, undercover patking, awesome spot, clean, close to everything and great value for money, What more could we ask for, highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast was just perfect for your weekend away, the room was clean tidy and very much in fashion.
The staff couldn't be more helpful before, during and after our stay.
we were in a beach view apartment and loved it, wish we could have stayed longer.
we will be booking this place again.
A Big Thank you Sandy Shores for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: choose room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyliesnugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The place was clean, but there are many design flaws. Unit 6 was the one we stayed in, it has no soapdish in the rather small bathroom, the toilet roll holder is so close to the door you knock it off every time you brush past it. The door keycards are fiddly, and you pretty much have to exit your car to open the stupid parking door. The pool says it's heated but it was freezing cold, in March.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank el-suspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Book accommodation at Sandy Shores each year for 2 weeks. The apartments are right across from Golden Beach and a short walk to shops. Apartments are very clean with great views and fully self contained. We have found the managers to be very helpful and friendly to a couple of old grey nomads

Room Tip: Ask for Beachfront. Slightly more expensive but the views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Sandy Shores unit 6 for 3 nights in January with 2 grandchildren. The unit very spacious and clean although needs a refurbishment as most furniture and utensils quite old, towels a little thin. Good location opposite clean beach. 15 minute walk to main center or the small shopping complex in other direction. Great balcony with views and very quiet at night even though on the main road. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I don't usually go to the effort of writing bad reviews but felt that this one was warranted due to the extremely disappointing service. Had three nights booked in Jan, supposedly on the top (fourth) floor. When we turned up (with baby and food shopping in the car) they tried to put us in a ground floor unit without even telling us they had switched our rooms or offering a slight discount. Once we realized what was happening we asked to see the room and it wasn't what we were hoping for (a nice view means a lot to us!) so we requested a refund with the intent of going elsewhere. The women at the front desk were happy to do this but then a male manager came in and was extremely rude. He began abusing and swearing at my husband telling him that he was "sick of people with attitude" and to "get the [--] off my property"! We have never experienced anything like this and it was totally unwarranted as my husband never even raised his voice. We then had to cart our bub and slowly defrosting food items and search for another place to stay..ended up at Aspect and cannot recommend it highly enough, stunning views, beautiful units, excellent managers/staff, and all for only a tiny bit more than what Sandy Shores were trying to charge us. Do yourself a favor and avoid Sandy Shores if possible, there is much better value, quality and service elsewhere in Caloundra!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agathisrobusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
#1 of 12 in Kings Beach
256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Dicky Beach
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast

Address: 7 Esplanade, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $100 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained 1, 2 &3 bedroom apartments situated across the road from the calm waters of Golden Beach. Large balconies with excellent beach and water views. Shops and cafes are a short 10 minute walk along the foreshores.Swim in the calm waters of Golden Beach or in our heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Shores Sunshine Coast Caloundra, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing