We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monaco
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very relaxing 3 night stay over the weekend. Even though there were no vacancies for the saturday night we did not hear any noise. All rooms spotless, large balcony with fantastic views.Location ideal, just a few minutes walk to Bulcock Beach, good choice of dinning nearby. We will make sure we return to the Monaco Apartments next time we are in Caloundra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill.Nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    93
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
153
276
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

we just had 3 nights (prepaid or I would have left) at the Monaco in room 608 and I am still trying to recover from the most uncomfortable bed and pillows I have experienced in a 4 star property ever. The only bed was a queen size that gave maximum partner disturbance. After the first night I slept on the couch. Not a great solution for a romantic getaway.
So if you are a light sleeper avoid this property. Also if you have any kind of respiratory problem avoid this property as the carpet deodoriser or whatever it was, was over powering and we had to have all windows and doors open at all times to try and get away from the overpowering smell of it.
also half way through our stay Pest controllers knocked on the door and wanted to spray our unit. This was more toxins than we could handle so we asked them to come back when we were gone. No warning from reception just a knock at the door and a guy with spray machine ready to.f we had not been in at the time i guess they would have just gone ahead and filled the place with toxic fumes.
I came to the place exhausted and in need of a rest but I left even more exhausted thanks to the cheap bedding. some people can sleep "on a picket fence" as they say but if you are one that cannot - avoid this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwedenOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonacoMgr, Manager at Monaco, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi SwedenOzzie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay.

I am glad you enjoyed the beautiful views we are blessed with here at Monaco and apologise that our bedding was not to your specific requirements to make your stay as restful as it could have been.

Unfortunately bedding is something that can be quite difficult to cater for with guests who have had previous back problems and injuries as they have special requirements. We consistently receive positive feedback about our bedding and furnishings within the apartments as they are at an excellent standard and by no means on the "cheap" end.
As mentioned to you upon departure, if this was brought to our attention during your stay we would have had no hesitation to move you into an alternative room to see if the bedding was more suitable for your needs.

With regards to the pest control, this is done annually and there were notices in all lifts to advise when this would be happening. Of course we understand that guests would not like to be interrupted during their stay so it is included on the notice to please let reception know if you have a preference of day and time OR if you would prefer this work not be carried out at all.
The pest control is completely non-invasive and just a simple liquid placed around the perimeter of the unit, we would never place toxic fumes or fumigate an apartment.

It is a shame that we were not able to please you this time and that you chose to not take up the offer extended to you via email; however I would relish the opportunity to welcome you back to Monaco as one of our valued guests.

Kindest Regards

Tanya Braund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just spent 6 days at Monaco Resort and were very impressed with the staff, the cleanliness and outfit of the property. We were originally booked in for a shorter stay but were very impressed with the location and the resort facilities so decided to extend. So glad we did. The apartment was extremely clean and well fitted out with good quality bed linen and equipment. The view was amazing with a constantly changing aspect of people, boats and weather.

Thank you to the staff who were very knowledgable regarding restaurants and local attractions.
We live on the Sunshine Cot and will make sure we regularly return to Monaco.

Room Tip: We had room 503 but I would recommend on or two levels higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My Husband and I have just come home from a weekend away at Monaco in Caloundra.
The service was great from Nicole on reception. The room was immaculate, so clean and fresh smelling. The view from our balcony on the 6th floor was amazing. We could see out over the Pummicestone Passage and Glasshouse Mountains in one direction and the Caloundra beach the other way. We got amazing photos of sunsets over Glasshouse Mountains too. Lovely eating dinner on the balcony watching the sunset.
This hotel is well positioned, close to beach, shops, food places and the Sunday markets, and no need to take the car out of car park for duration of stay.
Thank you for a wonderful stay and the late check out, we will definately come back again soon.
Would love to know what they use to spray in hotel lifts and rooms as it smells so fresh and clean.

Room Tip: Around the 6th floor and we had awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megoo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the nicest places I have stayed in!
Caught up with a friend to have a few days on the Sunshine Coast. I came across this place and I'm so glad I did.
Service was fantastic. I arrived in Brisbane a day before checkin and received a phone call from the manager saying their was a problem with the A/C in our room. We were upgraded to a magnificent, ocean facing two bed/bath apartment.
Fantastic location, it's new and clean with great rates.
Thanks for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies in th Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We opened the door to our 6th floor, 1 bedroom apartment and were met by an amazing view out over Bullcock Beach to Bribie Island and the Glasshouse Mountains. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with everything you may need down to iced water direct from the fridge and a coffee plunger. The location is excellent with direct access to the main street of Caloundra on one side and the beach only half a block away. Great for nice long walks along the beach front and a stroll around the markets in the main street on a Sunday morning. Plenty of eating places handy with the Shingle Inn located in the foyer - great for breakfast. This is a place we will definately be back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have just returned from two nights with my mother and sister. We had a seventh floor room with views from Moreton Island to the Glasshouse Mountains. The room was clean and really well fitted out. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a short stroll for a swim at Bulcock Beach. We have been visiting Caloundra for the past 30 years and we would stay at Monaco again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banksiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#6 of 51 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco

Property: Monaco
Address: 12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Apartments are located in the cultural heart of Caloundra with breath taking views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, shipping lanes and beyond. Ultra modern and chic apartments offering the latest in luxury accommodation, you will never want to leave Magnificent Monaco! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Caloundra
Monaco Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing