We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monaco
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thank you sooo much Monaco Staff. Front Desk girls were very kind and full of smiles. We stayed in 206 and the place was so beautiful and clean. It had everything you needed. We will stay at the Monaco on every visit to the Sunshine Coast, no doubt. Thank you again for making our accommodation an unforgettable stay. Cheers to the grounds man and cleaners.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laufasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    93
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
155
279
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights on the 7th floor. Apartment was super clean. Kitchen was really well stocked, big dining table, and outdoor table on a large deck. Great bakery on Bulcock Street just outside the entrance. Handy to lots of restaurants. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Monaco Resort for seven nights in a one bedroom 10th floor apartment whilst my wife was recuperating. Excellent views even saw three whales breaching in the bay and dolphins in the estuary.
Staff were excellent and friendly and we enjoyed the Shingle Inn it gives the Coffee Club a run for their money and again excellent staff and not expensive.
A couple of negatives, one it was very windy on the 10th floor, but you can't change mother nature, however the second one can be addressed the living room carpet square (Unit 1003) was very soiled and detracted from the rest of the apartment. This is our second stay, it is central, quite and reasonably well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOUMEA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We re stay at the monaco 2 nights.
We had a beautiful view. Our one bedroom apartment was simply superb with a large balcony.
We had also a beautiful bathroom with a spa bath. The apartment is well designed.
We would like to stay one more night but it was full.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the second time my wife and I had stayed at Monaco and won't be the last. Our one bedroom apartment on the tenth floor was simply superb, with uninterrupted views to Moreton Island, Bribie Island, the Pumicestone Passage and the Glasshouse mountains from a very generous south-facing balcony (which even had a ramp for wheelchair access).

The unit was spacious, private, quiet, clean and tastefully equipped with everything we needed for our three night stay (although 3 weeks would have been better) including a comfortable bed. The galley kitchen serves as the entrance to the unit and its fridge/freezer even has an ice-maker if you need a really cold drink on arrival. The laundry with washing machine, dryer and sink is compact and opens via sliding door to the bathroom but the layout works well. The only thing we thought could have been better resolved was the towel rails – too close to the floor for the large towels provided and difficult to fit two towels on the rails.

Downstairs, the foyer/reception area is huge and welcoming with access to the Shingle Inn Cafe (a satellite of this Brisbane institution) where we enjoyed a late lunch on arrival and breakfast on another day of our stay. The pool, spa, sauna, gym, games room and bar-b-que areas, as well as an indoor retreat/library for bookworms beside a running water feature are also on this level and designed to cater for all.

The other really great feature of this place is its proximity to main street shopping, a host of eateries and restaurants and the Bulcock Beach boardwalk, all within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Views from some units on the lower floors are restricted by a neighboring apartment building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We got a great midweek deal on Wotif which coincided with the Show Holiday break in Brisbane so were excited to finally stay at Monaco. Other highrises like Centrepoint are cheaper, but are now getting quite dated with their decor, whereas Monaco's interiors are like something you'd see in a Home Beautiful or Vogue Living magazine. The welcome at Reception was warm and friendly and the car-parking arrangements and facilities were well explained. The room was a one-bedroom apartment and had everything you could possibly want for a holiday stay; including a really comfortable bed and gorgeous views. The location is fantastic - in a side street off the main thoroughfare of Bullcock street but there is no noise. Shingle Inn is on the ground floor and lots of other cafes and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Looking forward to our next get away here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannionS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The style and fitout of the Monaco is faultless including the super comfortable beds / linen and furnishings. We had a great sea view and enjoyed the use of lap pool and sauna. Kids loved the games room and want go back now! The only negatives were a cold spa pool and the lack of free wifi. Highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: If you go higher than level 4, on the eastern side, you should have unrestricted sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#8 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#6 of 51 in Caloundra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco

Property: Monaco
Address: 12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Apartments are located in the cultural heart of Caloundra with breath taking views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, shipping lanes and beyond. Ultra modern and chic apartments offering the latest in luxury accommodation, you will never want to leave Magnificent Monaco! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Caloundra
Monaco Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing