We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse luxury over the Pumicestone Passage”
Review of Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We rented one of the 3 bedroom penthouses for my birthday last year. We were very impressed with how the apartment was appointed upon walking in. All of the rooms had their own air conditioning, the lounge and master bedroom both had flat screen TVs, the master had its own ensuite and the kitchen had everything you could need. This place was ready to move in at live! The balcony was extremely spacious and had a commanding view of the Pumicestone Passage. After looking down over all of the other units around Caloudra we dont think you could get a better view or location anywhere. The position did mean that you looked straight down on Breakfree Caloundra but this made for great people watching while also sitting out on the balcony and enjoying the view out to sea. At one point we had about 8 people at the unit and there was plenty of room. The only negative point we found is that the floor was sticky and very dirty. It didnt look dirty but everyone found there feet were black after walking around in the unit. Monaco didnt have alot of facilities outside of the room. The pool & spa pool were located in the best place (on the backside of the hotel) with a gym and games room right beside.
In all it was really good value for money for a penthouse unit, the room was great with magnificent views!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible with a view of the Pumicestone Passage
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ-DDubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Monaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hi - anyone wishing to enjoy their stay in caloundra couldnt go wrong when staying at the monaco looved the room, and the accommodation facilities

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a 1 room apt. 8th floor. The staff and rooms are spacious, modern and fully equipped. Make sure you request a room on the sea side of the unit block then buy some wine and cheese and sit out on the huge balcony and enjoy the view. The Monaco is positioned within easy walking distance of anything you desire so park the car and visit the town. We will be going back. P.S Ask about the special packages.

Room Tip: Go for the 8 floor or above and on the ocean side.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

nothing short of being great easy to get around very helpful staff and great layout

Room Tip: make sure it has a view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Some friends and I recently stayed at Monaco Apartments and we were very impressed. The rooms are fantastic, light, modern and well appointed. We stayed on the 11th floor in one of the penthouses and it goes without saying that the views were great but what was really impressive was the self contained kitchen which was amazingly well stocked with everything you could think of and the quality of the fitout in the bathrooms and throughout. The actual apartment complex is extremely well maintained with a fantastic pool area, BBQs with seating, a games room and gym.
The services is spot on from the girls on reception to the cleaning staff. We mentioned to the manager one day that we'd like to see a movie and on our return later that morning, he had printed a list of movies showing that day, pretty good service, hey! Couldn't recommend the place highly enough, we will certainly be telling all of our friends about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussybutFair44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband, 2 year old and myself stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. We were very impressed with everything. We were on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful view of the water.

The unit was new, modern and clean as well as being spacious enough for our crazy 2 year old. We enjoyed the large balcony having breakfast overlooking the water. I thought it was a great design to have a "courtyard" (not sure what else to call it) at the front of the unit, which allowed us to have the front door open and still contain our daughter. Also the beds were extremely comfortable!

The Monaco is in a fantastic location only a short walk to the beach and restaurants as well as the main street.


Also thank you to the girl on reception, who was extremely friendly and happy, you could tell she enjoyed her job. She was very helpful with finding out information on Underwater World as well as giving us movie timetables as it was a rainy weekend. Thank you, you were the icing on the cake (sorry but I didn't get her name) .

We thorougly enjoyed our stay and will be telling all our friends about Monaco, we will be sure to return, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missglam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have just recently had a girl's only weekend away with my best friend. We just loved the room and the view and also the location. We stayed on the 10th floor with uninterrupted views to Pumicestone Passage and to the ocean. The apartment was beautifully furnished, the kitchen amenities were excellent and the bonus of a fridge that dispensed filtered water was an added plus.

The beds were very comfortable and the two lounge chairs with pull out foot stools just great! Lovely large balcony with a lounge chair, table and six chairs.

The reception staff were most helpful too. We definitely will be back and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better your view. Ocean view rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beafletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco

Address: 12 Otranto Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $112 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Monaco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monaco Apartments are located in the cultural heart of Caloundra with breath taking views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, shipping lanes and beyond. Ultra modern and chic apartments offering the latest in luxury accommodation, you will never want to leave Magnificent Monaco! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Caloundra
Monaco Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing