We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and convenient”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious and convenient”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful apartment right on the beach with loads of restaurants and some boutiques downstairs, kids had a ball and we will definitely be back. Staff were all so friendly too from booking to checkout.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms are worth it with uninterrupted water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Jen, great to hear the kids enjoyed their holiday. Thanks for taking the time to post a review, hope to see you all again, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    149
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
247
199
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights,in the July 2013 school holidays and we all absolutely LOVED Rumba. It was everything we hoped it would be. Gorgeous 2 bedroom, spa apartment (503), very clean, well equipped kitchen and laundry. Supremely comfortable, big beds. Pristine pools. Such lovely, friendly & helpful staff.
We had a problem with the Nespresso machine in our apartment and reception said they would send 'maintenance'. We not only, did not expect someone to arrive within minutes, we definitely did not expect, one of the managers to attend to the problem. Thanks Mark! Everyone had a sincere smile & hello for us, even the cleaning staff and night manager. Nothing was any trouble.
Carparking was great and we really didn't use the car after check in (only to drive to Australia Zoo) because there was so much within walking distance. We cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor with view of Ocean, when booking. We pretty much got what we asked for in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Guys this would be one of the best reviews we have ever had. Thank you. Mark is one of our owners and he's a genuinely nice guy. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I loved staying at Rumba the convenience to the shops, Restaurants and the beach is fantastic. The weather wasn't fantastic but it was still an amazing place to stay cinema walking distance so definitely utilised that with the bad weather. Definitely 5 Star I would say. Very comfortable beds is a bonus and beautiful outlook from the balcony. Supermarket only 5 min away which is great for families wanting to save where they can. Like myself! Hog's breath Restaurant situated literally right under the swimming pool! If you look up to the roof at hogs breath you can see people swimming in the pool. Bazaar! Very different! Definitely dodged those portholes whilst I was swimming in the lap pool.

Room Tip: Obviously you would prefer to be right out the front of the beach but you have to pay for the privil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Sorry we couldn't do anything about the weather. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us though. We really appreciate your kind words. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Rumba to celebrate my partner's 40th birthday.
We took up the Rumba's Winter warmer package 4 nights for the price of 3.
We stayed in a Ocean front apartment, and it was superb !!!
Very clean, very modern and very comfortable.
The service is warm & friendly and the staff really bend over backwards to help.
We live in Caloundra and love the location.
Sometimes I think it is easy to forget how special and unique a place Caloundra is.
The Rumba is a great reminder that we all need to spoil ourselves and enjoy your own backyard.
We loved it and so did our kids, we will definitely be back !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Wow, you live in Caloundra and you stayed with us? That is a huge compliment so thank you. Hope you see you again, Bill and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

As always, Rumba Resort offers amazing service from the outset, excellent quality rooms and more. You won't be disappointed with Rumba. From Mr Bill Darcy himself to the housemaids, you need only ask and you willl receive the best quality service. Everthing is but a short walk away, no need to drive everywhere. Overall, if they had more than five stars, Rumba would get it from me. Spoil yourself !! Stay at Rumba!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Another great review from our loyal guests from Bundy. Thank you guys, your support is overwhelming. We love having you. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to a sleep in and asked specifically for a quiet room. We were told our room to the back of the resort was best. Unfortunately this is above the bins from all the shops, which are emptied ridiculously early in the morning.
Went for a swim only to have my eyes burnt by the extreamly strong chemicals in the pool. Spent the rest of our time flushing eyes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iccoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Goodness me, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. We've noticed that sometimes the bins are noisy being emptied and we have Council addressing this issue. I'm not sure what the issue with the pools was. It very unusual. Again, my apologies. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Caloundra in late June as a family of four with two young children. We booked a 3 bedroom ocean view on the fourth floor. The staff were very welcoming and even text us early around lunch time to let us know that our room was now ready. I thought this was just a fabulous and very personal touch; much appreciated! The resort is very clean and modern with a beautiful lap pool, main pool and Jacuzzi. Even though it rained our entire trip and it was freezing there were always people using the Jacuzzi and even people swimming in the lap pool so don't let winter put you off a visit to this lovely place. We couldn't get our TV to work and one of the staff was there in 2 minutes flat to fix the issue. Wine and chocolates were included in our package and that was fantastic! Bike hire and a river cruise also included although we didn't use these due to the rain. However, I love the holiday package options that Rumba offers so you can really tailor your holiday to your own needs. Genious idea! The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly as were the cleaning staff during our stay. The apartment was well appointed with direct lift access from the outside foyer to the carpark below or restaurants below. The apartment had a light service each day which just involves removal of rubbish and making of beds. Towels were replaced on some days or when you asked. The location is great and I can't believe how many wonderful restaurants and shops are now in Caloundra! Refer to Trip Advisor for restaurants. The Hogs Breath is just under the resort and the kids loved this (even wonderful for a soon to be fussy 2 year old; we ate there twice!). Rumba provided a discount meal card for all of the restaurants below the resort and again this was a great touch! If you have children I also should mention the fabulous toy and puzzle shop just a short walk from the resort and the hand made fudge shop. Coles is just a 2 minute drive down the road to restock supplies. I would certainly return to Rumba with the family. If I could just offer one suggestion; it would be wonderful if the toiletries could be restocked daily as we didn't realize that we needed to bring our own soap etc and the kids fought over the bubble bath! The staff were more than happy to supply upon request. Also fresh towels during winter especially each day with the service would be pure luxury. Perhaps you could just charge a few dollars extra for these things or offer an 'upgrade package' as I'm sure people would be happy to pay for these things purely for the convenience and 'holiday' spirit. Until next time..

Room Tip: If staying with children, the children's rooms are located at the front of the unit and these so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Griswaldsvaccay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing