We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robertsons at Rumba” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Robertsons at Rumba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Super fast check in
2 bedroom spa apartment was every thing it was supposed to be
My kids loved exploring it and checking out the swimming pools
Loved how children were more than welcome in the Jacuzzi and being a bit cooler the warm water was lovely.
We had our bikes & the beach walkways are amazing for children to zoom along
with the playgrounds galore and the wonderful beach child friendly and rock pools to explore.
This is a wonderful place to bring children

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for such a positive review. It sounds like you all had a really good time. We hope to see you again. Regards, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    142
    44
    4
    4
See reviews for
241
189
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Arrived late in the evening and this was all organized in advance. Stayed in a 1 bedroom Spa. Great sized room and great location couldn't fault anything. Walked out the front door and at the beach and at a few places to eat and drink. Parking on site

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
As I mentioned in my response to the previous review, it's a privilege to receive praise from such an experienced traveller. Thank you and hopefully we'l see you again. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Rumba on business and it was wonderful. The apartments are beautifully appointed and have everything and more you would need for any visit. The views are lovely depending on what room you are in. A very comfortable stay and whilst a bit pricey worthy the cost. Great restaurants in the complex and close by.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor which had good views over the building in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
From such an experienced traveller we really appreciate this great review. Thank you again. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Back at our favourite place to stay on the Sunshine Coast and this place is still amazing. Treat yourself and come stay at Rumba, where you will get exceptional service and you have absolutely everything at your fingertips. Bars,restaurants, shops, beaches and did I mention exceptional service. Thanks Rumba, this is yet another visit and guarantee it won't be our last.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
As always, you've written a great review. It's return guests like you guys that keep us in the Number 1 spot on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it. Cheers from Bill and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The resort is almost new, lovely and clean. The unit is well appointed for self catering. For what we paid we were surprised that we had to ask for basic refills of washing detergent, dishwasher powder. The main complaint relates to the lack of supervision of guests in the pool with uneccesary levels of excess noise from selfish individuals. Our room overlooked the pool and we had to regularly close the door due to excess noise. My recommendation is to ask for a sea view room to avoid the noise!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for Rumba. We're almost four years old, so it's a great that you felt the resort still looks near new. I'm glad the Team provided you with all the extras you requested. That's never a problem and always free of charge no matter how long the stay. Noisy pool guests, yes it's a busy time and I guess Rumba is a kid freindly resort. Sorry again if this detracted from your stay. We will gladly upgrade you to a quieter apartment on your next stay. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Travelling with our 2 and 4 yo kids, had a wonderful time yet again (our 2nd visit). Stayed for 3 nights in an ocean view room, views were lovely. Only minimal street noise (we were there on a weekend too), did not disturb us. The bedrooms seem to be sound proofed and have a blackout blind so the kids sleep in.

The beach is across the road and a range of different pools to chose from (heated lap pool 1.2m deep, bigger lagoon pool (with shallow section for kids to walk around in) and a heated Jacuzi. Any number of eateries below the hotel (Hogs breath, fish and chips, cafes etc) Best Thai we have had anywhere in the world about 3 mins walk away (Wung Nam - bit pricey, but smile; you are worth it!). Convenience store and bottle shop within 5 km walk

In the room itself, everything very clean and full equipped. HAving washing machine great when have kids and full kitchen facilities helpful. In room jacuzi in master ensuite lovely (for the kids too)

Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Wow, great review thank you! We would love to have you back for a third time. Once again, a big thank you. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose to stay at Rumba based on the description from their website and the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. We stayed here after 7 nights on the Gold Coast but unfortunately only had 3 nights, we wished for more. Our first impressions on arriving at the resort were great, from the super friendly greeting at reception, to the great modern apartment, and the fantastic pools. This impression did not change at all during our stay.
All the staff at reception were friendly, helpful and efficient. The only negative I could say was that the reception closed fairly early each day, not that this affected us at all.
Our apartment was very modern and had everything we needed, including a washing machine and dryer, and heaps of utensils in the kitchen including that great coffee machine. However it could have used an extra couch in the living room, the one couch was just big enough for the 4 of us. The beds were very good and having the king bed was great. We didn't choose one of the ocean view rooms, but still enjoyed the view of the pools from our balcony, and as we were on the 4th floor we could see a little bit of the ocean.
The pools were fantastic, ours girls loved them and so did we. The girls (aged 7 and 10) loved the lap pool with the port holes looking into the Hogs Breath below. It was also handy to be able to get pool towels from reception.
There were a great range of restaurants, cafes and takeaways underneath the resort and within a short walk.
Our accommodation package also included a breakfast pack and a cruise, both were great and the cruise we chose was organized and booked by reception without fuss.
Overall we would highly recommend this place, and would love to come back. We also loved Caloundra, and decided it would have to be one of our favourite spots on the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We agree, Rumba is a great place for kids. Looking forward to seeing you again. Much appreciated, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 amd 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing