We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location, Amazing Room, Lovely Staff”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked a last minute 3 night getaway to surprise my very heavily pregnant wife and 2 children. I wanted something where my wife could really feel special and also have everything she wanted closeby to the resort, she got this and more. The spa in the room was fantastic, the best movie selections ever, the kids absolutely loved the pools and the beach was a stones throw away. The staff were very helpful and always had a smile. We will definately be back and the kids now want this place to be our annual getaway. I have to agree!!

Room Tip: Room 501 has the best views!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BundabergDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, Owner at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We would like to acknowledge your great review for Rumba Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. So glad you enjoyed it here and it's even better to know you'll be back. Have a great Christmas and New Year. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Rumba Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 608 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent a week at the Rumba in late October and were totally impressed. In fact, we still talk about how great it was. The resort has a fantastic balance of five-star fit-out and services but with a very relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere. (We've stayed at other top quality hotels but don't enjoy the overly formal vibe when all we want to do is chill out!) The staff treated us as friends rather than just-another-customer - and were always happy to help, particularly when fetching our rental car key which our toddler dropped onto a balcony below ours.

The apartment was fabulous - excellent layout making maximum use of space. Very well appointed kitchen (we've since purchased our own Nespresso machine!), HUGE bathrooms, lovely bedrooms with great quality bed, linen and pillows.

Rumba's location is awesome! Such a great variety of cafes/restaurants below and a beautiful view of Bulcock Beach, the esplanade, Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island and beyond to the Glasshouse Mountains. Despite having the beach directly across the road, we couldn't go past the convenice of Rumba's swimming pools and jacuzzi!

The daily service (towels and rubbish bins) was very helpful but a mid-week clean for guests staying 7+ nights (as opposed to 8+) would have been appreciated. Oh, and a couple of bathrobes would've been a nice touch too. Other than that, perfecto! We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Can't comment on anything other than what we stayed in: room 413, two-bedroom luxury ocean apart...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelethurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

What a great review, thank you. We really appreciate some of the constructive points too. Bath robes are something we've been looking into. We are considering options but as yet haven't found a way that doesn't impact too much on cost. We are always looking to improve, and the feedback is invaluable. Thanks, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank jannypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked a two night trip at the resort for my fiancée's birthday so wanted something close to the beach and with a spa in the room. Rumba did not disappoint. Would have loved to be higher up to have a view of the beach but I didn't ask so couldn't complain. Bed was so comfy and I have a bad knee at the moment so bought an extra pillow along to prop my leg up. There was no need as there were triple the normal amount! Kitchen was incredibly well stocked and I appreciated the two free nespresso pods. A great and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eerinbmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your knee gets better soon. Thank you also for the complements regarding our pillow menu. Best wishes, Bill. P.S. Next time we'll try and assist with a higher floor view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Superior rooms, private, lots of space, in-room spa, great pools, great location for beach and restaurants. Great for couples, families & business. Good driving distance to other Sunshine Coast beaches.


  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Michdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Sort, sweet and a great five star review. Thank you for taking the time, we really appreciate it. Best regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sunshine Coast
1
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely resort for family - great for kids as the bathing beach is across the road, and there are dining options under the resort so easy to eat early and quick with children. Pools were great (heated to differing degrees so that was nice), and service was lovely. Unfortunately we were next to a drunk neighbour who kept revving his car and screaming profanities through the night on several occasions which was unsettling for us, but on the up side the police did turn up!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your review and also for your understanding. I guess like everyone, we have neighboring properties over which we have little control. The peril of being located in the heart of town. Luckily, these problems are very rare. Thanks again for appreciatring our recent circumstances. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank elke w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
519 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
249 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $161 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing