We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it is 5 star”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yes it is 5 star”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have a great 4 night stay ina 2 bedroom apartment. We only booked a 1 bedroom. There was planty of room. We had a partial sea view. Beds were great, slepted really well. Close to the boardwalk for a great walk.

Room Tip: I think rooms in block A would be quieter as they are not on the main street. But thy have full wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thanks for the vote of confidence. It's a great boost for the team to get such a glowing report from seasoned travellers such as yourselves. Really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    151
    46
    5
    5
See reviews for
248
201
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This place was fantastic from the moment of check in to our all too soon departure. The reception desk staff were warm and friendly. The room was more than we could have asked for. The decor was modern, with a well appointed large kitchen, with top of the line appliances. All rooms were spacious and the bedrooms well appointed with comfortable king beds in two rooms and two king singles in the other and all rooms had large build in wardrobes, with mirrored doors The bathrooms were spacious with generous size shower cubicles and the en-suite had a wonderful spa bath along with double sinks. The lounge and dinning areas were well appointed with comfortable seating for both dining and relaxing.

The view was just to die for with views out over the Pumicestone Passage, the northern tip of Stradbroke Island and the Glass House Mountains, all of which made for a spectacular sunset that night.

The resort also offered secure undercover parking with easy access to your room via the elevator.

All in all a very enjoyable relaxing experience and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Look at the room plans provide when choosing a room so you know before you book exactly what the lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old pet name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is one of my favourite places to stay on the Sunshine Coast. Not all of the rooms have a view though, lots of different layouts, the rooms without a view tend to be a little larger, depends what you prefer, I like a water view when I can get one. The room I just stayed in had a tv in the bedroom that you could see from the spa, so watching music videos whilst soaking in the tub is a great way to spend your evening if you are away from home for work :) I Highly recommend this hotel and Caloundra, it's a nice quiet area, no traffic noise. One downer is recyling bins in the street being emptied at 6am on a Friday morning but thats my only serious complaint. The apartments are spacious & very clean. The kitchens have all the 'bits' that you need & the compendiums are very thorough with instructions on how to use the appliances - extremly helpful. There are also good places to eat out the front overlooking the beach. In the main street there is a fantastic thai place that I just love called Blue Orchid, its tucked away up stairs but well worth looking for. Oh & the beds are amazing too, I rarely sleep the night through when I'm in a hotel, but I never have a problem here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a brilliant weekend away and couldn't fault our experience at Rhumba. The units are spacious, they all the comforts of home and more than you'd normally expect in a holiday resort. The bathrooms are large, the bedrooms spacious and what a kitchen! The staff were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful for our late arrival even a reliable recommendation to a good nearby restaurant (Italian cafe in the building) and the pizzas were great!
The building is new and comfortable with beach views if you want them, a coffee machine in every unit, a great spa pool, a bar onsite, hire bikes and even an ice machine for guests!
The moment we arrived at Rhumba we wanted to stay for weeks, not just the weekend. It was a brilliant weekend away with our family for some R&R and we're glad we chose Rhumba. Sorry to rave, but it was our first time to Caloundra and - oh what a weekend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

hI ,i stayed there last year for a romantic getawqy with my husband, and the view was terrible, we asked for a view of the water and got trees instead....
i am pretty sure my husband is surpirsing me in a few weeks for my 40th birthday, and we are staying there (maybe),i just hope if we do stay there that we have a view this time, there is nothing better thatn sitting on your balcony sipping wine with a view to look at... it is a long needed break away from 4 teenage children :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The resort was very comfortable, it was clean and new, the staff both freindly and courteous all in all I would recommend this hotel it is 5 star quality. My booking was made only an hour before we arrived, they made sure we had a number for the night manager which was awaiting our arrival, they gave great advice on eating houses, which were close by. You are right on the beach. Under cover car parking. The rooms where apartment, it had its own laundry and kitchen both spotless with new inclusions, even with its own coffee maker. The bed was comfortable and linen good quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a new resort with wonderful views of Pumicestone Passage from the upper levels. Unfortunately like many apartments in Coloundra the units face almost directly south which means no sunshine whatsoever in the rooms or balcony. Even on the Sunshine Coast sun is a must in winter. The units are well furnished with modern decor but really who need a subwoofer which can be heard thru the wall .We believe each unit has one of these monsters!
Other than this we enjoyed our stay but would only go back in summer months.
We stayed 5 days and the unit was not cleaned at all and no linen replaced. The lady did take the rubbish out each day but that was the extent of the service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing