We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterview Resort
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had booked online from UK before flying to Brisbane as somewhere to relax and unwind after the long flight. We couldn't have picked a better place. Great welcome from the owners. Good sized apartment, very clean and comfortable. Balcony to sit and look at the beach and sea just across the road. Car park in the basement. Good variety of shops in the next street. Caloundra itself is a lovely resort minutes away from the Glass House mountains and Australia Zoo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beany41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you beany41 for posting your review. We would love to welcome you back should you decide to venture back to Caloundra. Sue & I love the photos you posted too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at the Waterview Resort in February this year and found it very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Howard and Sue were extremely helpful and friendly. The views from the apartment were fantastic overlooking the ocean. Waterview is a great place to stay as is Caloundra. We are from the UK and were touring Australia and New Zealand and would certainly recommend Waterview Resort. We would love to visit Caloundra for a third time and would definitely choose the Waterview Resort to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ianandjanet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Ian and Janet thank you for your comments, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sue & I work hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible but there is always room for a little improvement. But comments such as yours make our efforts all the more worthwhile. We'd love to welcome you back on your next trip to the Antipodes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We’ve been holidaying at Caloundra with young family for years now, and absolutely love the place. The Waterview Resort has all you want and is literally right on the water. The hospitality and service is second to none, and you will not be left wanting. Very family friendly, and the full kitchen and lounge makes it quite homely and perfect for those longer stays. Across the road is the council park-land (Happy Valley) and then stroll down the steps and onto the beach. It’s all right there at your front door. Don’t fancy a swim in the ocean today, then try the heated salt-water pool. At the end of day, cook up a feast down at the BBQ area, and again enjoy the tranquillity and the views. There’s plenty of entertainment and places to eat for families, right on your door-step and within easy walking distance. And the movie theatre is just up the road showing all the latest releases for the kids. Throw the keys on the bench and forget about driving, and just relax. Its all within walking distance. The views over the Pacific Ocean and the Bribie Pumicestone Passage are simply breath taking, and we can never get enough of it. Ocean views from every room in the apartment, and at the end of the day, sit on the balcony, crack open a bottle of bubbly and watch the water and the sun set in the distance over the top of the Glasshouse Mountains. Cheers....

What more could I say. Go, enjoy, and relax……

Room Tip: See if you cant get a room on a higher floor, as the views really are worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the Waterview Mark, we value & appreciate your feedback. We're glad you like it and hope you continue to return in future years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Waterview for several years now and are still just as happy as the ever. It has great views over the Bribie passage as well as out over the ocean. You can leave the car and walk everywhere! Howard and Sue (the managers) are very welcoming and friendly and the units are very clean and tidy when you arrive. We will keep going back each holiday and recommend the Waterview to anyone wanting an enjoyable,relaxing holiday in Caloundra!

Room Tip: Levels 4 & 5 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for reviewing the Waterview Aaron. As a returning guest we are always interested in what you have to say regarding our service standards and if there are any improvements which could be implemented. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Christmas 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed at Waterview Resort for the last 12 years, it has the best location in Caloundra as it is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. As for the beaches well you can walk to the surf at Kings Beach or the calm at Bullock Beach. We especially like that we do not have to drive the car to go anywhere, everything is just a lovely stroll away. Sue and Howard the resident managers are always helpful, friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble. The units are always clean and has everything we need to make our holiday an enjoyable one. I love going to Waterview every year and we catch up with other holiday makers you have been going there the same time as us. I know we have a wonderful time there and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Marie, thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. It always brings a smile to our faces when we receive positive feedback, but we always welcome comments from guests regarding their likes, dislikes etc. After all, you sleep in the beds, you sit on the sofa, and you use the appliances. We cannot check every single item in the unit so we encourage guests to let us know of any potential improvements. Best wishes for the festive season and we look forward to saying hello again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 and were very disappointed. Place was very extremely dusty, had stained and dirty carpet, filthy bathroom (complete with pubes, brown stains and tooth paste from previous occupants), holes in the linen and a disgusting kitchen. Oh, and lets not forget the dirty sock we found in the bedside table. I'm not fussy and backpack a lot of the time. This place was poor even by modern hostel standards. When we complained the owner agreed with us but rather than talking to the cleaners, told us we were to fussy.

I'm sure the manager will respond and highlight that this is the first TripAdvisor complaint about them. So it must be us right? I've stayed in many places in Caloundra and never complained. Try one of the following hotels/apartments in Caloundra: Centre Point Apartments, Rumba Beach Resort or Shearwater Resort. They are in better locations, great views and are similarly priced. It's up to you.....but you were warned!

Room Tip: Don't stay on a lower floors as they are right by the road. The view is limited and noisy (cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for your review aquat, we welcome criticism as well as compliments. We fully understand and acknowledge your concern over dust, which is what we specifically discussed when you called us to the room. We also offered our apologies. We stated at the time that we would clean it immediately (which we did) and we even went so far as to offer you a refund after you mentioned your dust allergy. I am surprised to learn you chose not to disclose the discovery of “pubes, brown stains and tooth paste from previous occupants” which, to me, is far worse than a bit of dust on the bed head. The “disgusting kitchen” was not mentioned either. Suffice to say we are more than happy to face up to our responsibility for lapses in cleaning or maintenance (which happens everywhere from time to time) but I cannot accept criticism for fabricated or exaggerated claims. I don’t understand why you would highlight a bit of dust but not the other issues.

The stained carpet to which you refer is the discoloured patch of carpet where the old air conditioner used to sit. It measures roughly 90cm x 15 cm and is in the corner of the room. As the owner was effecting improvements to the unit at the time, the fact is that three new air conditioners had just been installed but the carpet had at that stage not been replaced. Again, we explained this to you upon arrival and you were okay with it. Why all of a sudden is it a reason to complain?

The hole in the linen I am not entirely surprised about. We have since switched to a quality linen supplier, CLS, and our former supplier Cleantex unfortunately had ongoing quality control problems. We did our best to scrutinise every incoming item but it was an impossible task and sometimes a defective item slipped through. We would have gladly changed the faulty linen but we were not advised of this either.

We did talk to the cleaners as we do every time when attention to detail occasionally slips. Simultaneously we also pass on compliments from guests who are very happy with the standard of cleaning. Like everywhere else only a small percentage of people take the time to record their experience on sites like Trip Advisor – we can’t force people to translate their verbal praise into a written review. The majority of our bookings are derived from return guests so I guess we’re not too bad considering your criticism. Additionally we receive comments from numerous new guests who have migrated from other buildings in Caloundra and I’m sure this is a two-way street; we are not going to be everyone’s “cup of tea” although we do our best.

We would like to welcome you back at some stage to give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves; you may even like to book under a different name to do a “mystery shop” as it were. Once again our apologies for the dust on the bed head, I can assure you it was a rare exception to the rule.

Finally, passing traffic becomes virtually non-existent at night, and all apartments from level two upwards experience the same breathtaking views of the shipping channel, Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, Happy Valley park and the beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Waterview Resort several times a year for the last 3 years, it has the most amazing water views and the location is great for those who want an easy walk to shopping, restaurants and both surf and calm water beaches. The resident managers are very friendly and helpful and the units very well appointed and very clean. I love coming back each time and know I can rely on having a wonderful stay and have and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: I really love Unit 8 as it has the most comfortable couch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewManager, Manager at Waterview Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you Sue R for taking the time to review our property. We value your comments and hope you will visit us again sometime soon. Best wishes for the festive season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pumicestone Blue Resort
Pumicestone Blue Resort
#14 of 52 in Caloundra
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#6 of 52 in Caloundra
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview Resort

Address: Water View 14 Esplanade Bulcock Beach | Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $119 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterview Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your balcony and breathe in the view from Moreton Island to the Glass House Mountains. Walk 50m to the white sands of Bulcock Beach or 80m to the main street for restaurants, shopping and cinema. Our spacious apartments are fully self-contained and feature 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, free cable TV, DVD/VCR, air conditioning & secure undercover parking. The 2 penthouses feature spa baths and a rooftop terrace. Heated pool & BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing