We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for Families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gemini Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay for Families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from 7 nights at gemini. We are a family of 4 and stayed with 2 other families of 4. We were in room 55. The stayed below us in 31 and 39. The quality of the furnishings differed between the rooms. We had the better view being higher, although our bedrooms had no fans or aircon. There was only one aircon unit in the main living and one pedestal fan that we tried to share between the rooms. It was hot and coming from Nth Qld we are used to ceiling fans, so we left the doors open for the breeze. But we were then woken at 5am with the traffic noise. So our son slept most of the nights on the lounge under the aircon. We had an older style TV than our friends and we had taken the kids PS3 which we could not play on our TV. The DVD stopped working but it was quickly replaced by the staff. Apart from the hot nights we had a great stay. The pool is wonderful and our kids also had a lot of freedom with the patrolled beach so close. There is also a jetty to fish off (or jump off as ours did). The resort is in easy walking distance to shops and take aways. We also walked to the Power Boat Club on New Years which is a pleasant walk along the waterfront.

Room Tip: The South Tower would be best to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Bec71_13, Thank you very much for your review on Gemini Resort. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Having the beach outside your door is a fantastic bonus and no road to cross makes it great for small children. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    69
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
159
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Perfect for a family holiday! We have stayed again and again at Gemini and rebooked for next Christmas. You never want to leave. Staff couldnt be more helpful we always stay at Gemini and every room we have had has been lovely! Highly Recommend!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Your review is much appreciated Shelldel, thank you for sharing it with us. I am very glad to hear that your stays here have been enjoyable. This Christmas we have been very fortunate weather wise, it has been a great year for our guests as nearly every day has been warm and sunny here on Golden Beach. Swimming in the pool and the sea alike has been very refreshing. Thank you again and we will see you Christmas 2013! Kind Regards, Hannah (front office reception)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 6th visit to Gemini Resort. We loved coming here as a couple and now we enjoy it with our family. There is everything a family could want- safe swimming, patrolled beach right at your doorstep. Parkland that goes on forever with BBQ's, swings, pathways, bike hire, watercraft hire etc. Fishing and boating to enjoy the gorgeous weather!
Across the road plenty of take away food restaurants, including thai, chinese, pizza, noodles, ice cream etc. There is also a doctor, hairdresser, chemist, newsagent, grocery and liquor shop!
The resort has a great little bistro which has tapas and easy relaxed meals, which are well priced.
The pool is amazing! Large swimming areas for both adults and little ones with a fun slide. Plenty of shady seating too and a spa. There is a games room too!
We love coming here for the relaxed lifestyle of Caloundra and everything we need is at our doorstep.
We highly recommend a stay for any family!
We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We have stayed a few rooms now but we prefer Unit 1 for families and it has great easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Kymbo65,
It was lovely to have you again Kym! Thank you so much for your review; it really makes our day to have such positive feedback. We like to think our return guests are like family here. We are so blessed with location, as you say everything you could ask for on a perfect holiday is right on your doorstep. Apartment 1 is one of my favorites as it has that private pathway to the beach and a massive courtyard which is perfect for parties or weddings. The photos you have shared look lovely. Thank you for your support and loyalty over the years, it has not gone unnoticed. Kind Regards, Hannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night holiday and loved the location, resort facilities and the kids absolutely loved the pool. I would definitely recommend this resort to all families looking for a fun place to relax in however I would be very careful about which room you booked. All the units are individually owned and the standard of furnishings etc vary between each of the units. After reading other comments it would appear that some of the rooms have been renovated or refurbished and have great things like a coffee maker and games. Our unit was definitely not one of those………
We stayed on the 10th floor unit, which has an amazing view however our unit #86 had the most uncomfortable beds ever. The main bedroom’s bed consisted of a mattress with a green foam mattress on top with just a bottom sheet over top. Not only was it incredibly uncomfortable and by far the worse bed I have ever slept in, it was also itchy. The second bedroom has a double bed and a single bed and the double bed was really hard and uncomfortable as well. After the first night I was packed and ready to check out, as the beds were not of a standard to ask someone to sleep on. However the man at reception was extremely helpful and managed to swap a mattress from somewhere else ( my son (12) was happy to persevere with his bed for the sake of using the great pool).
The unit only had one bedside table in each room and in the main bedroom the light switch is in the middle of the wall above the bed, so you actually need to walk through the room to turn on the light. The bedrooms didn’t have a/c only the lounge room does, which is fine unless there are smokers on the verandah below and you cant open your balcony windows or doors to cool down. At check- in we agreed to allow the unit owner to come in and replace the uncomfortable cane lounge in the living room. We were told that it would be Sunday morning ( the last Sunday before Christmas) between 9 – 1pm. As we didn’t want to be in the way of moving furniture in and out we decided to abandon our original plans of having family over for lunch and went out for the day. This was all fine, however when we returned the original lounge was still there and nothing had been done. This was extremely frustrating as given the choice it was a nice hot day and we would have preferred to be in the unit and use the pool etc. I was also disappointed as there was no message left on our room phone to explain that they would not be coming or why they were unable to deliver the lounge. Also, if we had of been notified early enough we could have changed our plans.
Some other issues with this unit: we were unable to get wi-fi, the balcony door lock was breaking, the wardrobe doors in the main bedroom wouldn’t slide properly and some drawers in the main bedroom would be helpful.
Having said all of this, the hotel staff were very helpful in replacing our mattress and I do feel for them as it is out of their hands as far as room standards go. I think that some owners are far more generous than others. Next time, I would be more careful about which room I booked, particularly when you read the great reviews of rooms 64 and 28.

Room Tip: If you need wi -fi: check which units have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newiegirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Newiegirl09,
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear you loved Gemini Resort and the beautiful beachfront location. The pool is definitely a fun bonus for children; the water slide is much loved here at Gemini Resort. You are absolutely correct in saying that all the apartments are different. Each apartment is owned by someone and therefore their style and taste is reflected accordingly. We try our utmost best to encourage all owners to keep their apartments up to a great standard. I’m very glad to hear that we were able to do everything in our power to make you comfortable. In regards to the furniture delivery, the owner never informed us as to what was happening. We were under the impression they had delivered it and it had all gone according to plan. We always recommend asking reception when booking, which room would best suit your needs as some apartments are simply standard while others are newly renovated with lots of utensils etc. Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope to welcome you back to Gemini Resort in the future.
Front Office Receptionist, Hannah A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just returned from our annual 10 night stay at fantastic Gemini Resort in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor. Wonderful family friendly resort, kids swam in the pool twice every day, played tennis, had a spa and sauna, kids loved the games room. Unit has every thing you need, all utensils in the kitchen, to a washer and dryer in the laundry. Our unit has sliding shutters which can block out the hot morning sun and can be moved so the view from the balcony isn't spoiled. The shops are right across the road, heaps of places to eat as well as all the usual Newsagent, supermarket, chemist etc. We have already booked in for next year - can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Roz M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Gemini Resort. It's great to hear that you enjoyed and have enjoyed your holidays here. There is definitely lots to do around Gemini Resort, a really good place to bring the kids for a weekend or 2 weeks holiday! Having a great variety of stores nearby is brilliant as it means renting a car is not necessary. We are so lucky to have the beach right outside our door without even a road to cross. Thank you again for your honest opinion and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards, Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Gemini Resort in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast with our son and another family recently and had a great time. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well laid out. The kitchen and laundry in each suite helps keep the costs down and makes it so easy for family holidaying. The pool is awesome, the kids loved the slide and we loved looking over the spectacular Pumicestone Passage from the pool area or our balcony. The Gemini has so much to keep everyone amused; kayaking, swimming, tennis, great games room, spa, sauna. The great things about Caloundra too are the old fashioned main shopping street with heaps of quirky shops, awesome sunday markets and the best places to eat right on the water. The Caloundra RSL offers a variety of dining options from bistro to fine dining, hundreds of pokies, great events centre, kids club and a very good disco! Last but not least the beaches at Caloundra are simply stunning, clean and great for families with little kids too as they have the water fun zone and the ocean pool at Kings Beach. We will be going back to the Gemini for sure. Thanks Caroline and Simon for a great holiday - see you next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Alansandie, thank you for your honest review. It's extremely rewarding to hear we are still as popular as ever for our family holidays. As you said there is always something here to keep you entertained. It's fantastic to hear the kids playing in the pool and the water slide. It makes us feel like we are on holiday! We have plenty of 1 2 and 3 bedroom apartments so it's great to see families coming year after year to gather at Gemini Resort for reunions and Christmas parties. Caloundra has fantastic markets with lots of variety as well as many beaches around the area. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, thanks again for letting others know what you thought of Gemini Resort. Kind regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are staying here again on our second holiday at the Gemini, we have really enjoyed both stays. Great location with the best views, no street in front so direct access to beach. Very hot weather during our stay but the ocean breezes on the large verandas kept us cool. Reception staff very friendly and resort and rooms immacutely taken care of. Love the restaurant 'Seagrass' in the resort very handy to be able to grab takeaway coffees, meals and dining poolside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Ronald A, we are very pleased that you enjoyed both of your stays! We are very lucky to have no traffic noise and it's great to have the kids run straight to the beach without worry. We have had very warm weather, all the better when jumping into the pool. Its great to hear that our staff are keeping up their good reputation. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#8 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings Beach Resort
Moorings Beach Resort
#14 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Property: Gemini Resort
Address: Gemini Towers 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gemini Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing