We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pull out bed for most expensive apartment is standard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swell Resort Burleigh Beach
Reviewed February 5, 2014

we booked this trip 5 months prior for 3 adults and a teenage boy for 7 nights.
As requested a week before we confirmed by phone our booking, having paid for the best and biggest apartment in the complex as the adults were not couple's and couldn't share beds.
we arrived after the reception closed on a Friday evening ( this complex has no one living on site and is only open at reception for a few hours sat and sunday).
we got to our apartment and discovered the following.
one double bedroom with ensuite.
one bedroom with two tiny single beds, aircon not working ( filthy pedestal fan placed in room).
At the other end of the apartment off lounge an office, with no air con( again filthy fan placed inside), office desk and lamp and a pull out bed!
Apartment was dirty ( when ottoman was moved, chips and broken glass underneath).
Tv old and couldn't even get a guide on it.
After one adult spent a very uncomfortable night on a pull out we headed to reception Sat morning.
We were told the complex was full and that it was normal to have that configuration!( note you don't see pics of pull out beds in the hotel pics!!!).
I could understand if we were a large party fitting extra people in to have a pull out bed, but they were saying this was standard.
Manager was unavailable apparantly all weekend.
Monday morning we went to see the manager, she said she would fix the air in the single bedroom, and would give us another mattress for the pull out bed,and a chest of drawers, but she really wasn't interested at all .
We were in the residents part of the complex, it clearly states no drinking by the pool , sunday the whole pool area was taken up by a group of 20 somethings drinking and eating allday, with no one living on site nothing is done about it, very intimidating.
If you are a family this place is rowdy ,dirty, and a real hike to the beach , over a very busy highway or a long walk around it, ( big hill to climb on way back).
Beware, the pics you see of this complex are deceiving, and the staff have no customer service skills.
We visit Burleigh regularly and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 197 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went here for five nights in January 2014.
The room we had was clean and there was a lcd tv in each bedroom & lounge with DVD player. They even had a selection of DVDs. The kitchen was good with a full stove and dishwasher.
We enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony in the mornings.
Furniture is in good condition. You will probably have to keep the a/c on at night because otherwise you can't get any breeze.

Swell is close to the cafes and restaurants and a short walk to the beach. The only issue is that the busy Gold Coast Highway separates you. The nightclub and bottleshop are closed downstairs, which might be a mixed blessing, but there is a foodworx quite close. The pizza store downstairs is ok ( just don't expect to be served quickly)
The pool is very nice and well cared for. There is also a tennis court and gym. The games room is nothing special, just a few electronic games and a pool table (paid).
We used the bbq area a few times to cook some bugs from Tasman seafood which is about 10mins away.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice. Don't get a room next to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This resort is on a bend in the gold coast highway and very noisy, we had to keep the doors closed all the time. The air conditioner being the on the balcony only increased the noise factor. For the price I paid I don't think it was very good value at all. I Normally stay at the QT in Surfers Paradise for the same price and there is no comparison on any level. On the positive side the resort is in walking distance to the local shops restaurants and cafes which were of a very high standard, Especially Bin 12, great food and even better cocktails.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great location right in Burleigh. Two minute walk to shops, great cafes and restaurants, beach and surf life saving club (across busy highway). Well maintained resort with friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious rooms with good size balcony. Great pool and tennis court, secure undercover parking. I did not notice any traffic noise and found that guests and permanent residence kept noise levels down. Highly recommend this as a good choice for Burleigh accommodation. Blackout curtains would be my only recommendation although light penetration was not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaricAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We very happy & comfortable stay for 1week! Very fresh & cleaning. Very nice & friendly & helpful staff. There is mmm pizza!! Easy walk across to the beach & shops & mmm cafes! We enjoying! No problem! Will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hihow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent the night here in a two bedroom apartment.
Great spacious living area, the bedrooms were a little smaller but one had a great walk in wardrobe and bathroom.
Lovely area, much more relaxed than Surfer's Paradise.
The pool and BBQ area are great too and I like how it is very safe and secure (you need a swipe key to access the resort.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klin062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Awesome resort just a minute walk to beautiful Burleigh beach. The apartments are modern, spotless and large. Burleigh is a lot more relaxed than surfers paradise but the resort is still just a short stroll from heaps of great restaurants.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DRC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.3 mi away
Pacific Regis Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Pacific Regis Beachfront Holiday...
#22 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Beach Tower
Burleigh Beach Tower
#9 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#5 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Outrigger Gold Coast
Outrigger Gold Coast
#2 of 4 in Burleigh Heads
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
2nd Avenue Apartments
2nd Avenue Apartments
#6 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aussie Resort Burleigh Heads
Aussie Resort Burleigh Heads
#19 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swell Resort Burleigh Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swell Resort Burleigh Beach

Address: 1 Ocean St, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia (Formerly Swell Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range: $100 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swell Resort Burleigh Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swell Resort is a stylish and contemporary holiday complex situated in popular Burleigh Heads on Queensland's Gold Coast. Located just a short stroll from the famous rolling surf of Burleigh Beach, the resort offers a selection of spacious Burleigh apartments, all fully self contained and complete with all the comforts of home. With a fully equipped gym, swimming pool, spa and tennis court onsite, you're never short of ways to relax and unwind on a break with us. Watch the sun rise over the region's unspoiled headlands, venture into the lush green rainforest of Burleigh Heads National Park or take the ten minute drive into Surfers Paradise to immerse yourself in the vibrant shopping and dining scene. Ideal for family holidays, weddings, groups and anyone looking for a luxurious break in the heart of the Gold Coast, Swell Burleigh Heads Accommodation is the perfect choice for a getaway to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swell Resort Burleigh Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swell Beach Hotel Burleigh Heads
Swell Resort Burleigh Beach Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing