We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swell Resort Burleigh Beach
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Handy position”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at the surf club across the road. The arrangement of the rooms is a little spaced out, although the rooms themselves are plenty big enough, clean and well serviced.

The parking situation on site could leave even the most intrepid traveller leaving a trail of crumbs to find their way back to the allotted bay. That aside, it was a overall good experience and quite close to the action.

We had a room with an aspect into the Gold Coast highway, and the road noise was not troublesome at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 848Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    65
    24
    13
    17
See reviews for
82
48
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First of all, it is a great! Apartments are very nice and clean, location is fantastic, beach is one of the best on the coast. Surfing spot is just 2 min away.
They have ocean view, pool view and hinterland view. In my opinion the best choice is 5th or 6th floor with a pool view, as with ocean view you actually face the road (take a look at google street view).
Area is very quite with no great parties & crazy teenagers (as I heard in Surfers Paradise it can be a great problem). At the same time you are close to shops, restaurants.
For those who come from overseas there should be an understanding that like most of resorts on the coast Swell is a complex of serviced apartment which means that the towels won't be changed every day and cleaning won't be every day. But the benefits you get are: washing machine & dryer + fully equipped kitchen.
Had an interesting chat with one of the permanent residents in the resort. So I am sharing the information. All of the apartments are privately owned which means that they all are up to standards but some of them are really amazing. If the owners live there most of the year and rent them out just from time to time you get some extras: amazing couch, massive TV and much better kitchen with little things like juicer or blender.
There is a good size swimming pool, tennis court & gym. Building is quite secure and there a closed parking just for the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterS0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Swell Resort ws chosen for its proximity to Burleigh Point for our Dad's celebration of life. From the outset the staff were fantastic in organising our rooms all basically in the same wing to keep us all close. Rooms very tidy and clean just a couple of small skuff marks on the walls.

Excellent cooking facilities, lots of utensils and great sized fridge and all very clean.

Clean tidy pool area with lots of deck chairs and 2 very clean BBQ's with ample seating and tables.

We really enjoyed our few days and look forward to returning soon.

Well done.

Room Tip: Close to beach with Life Guards, walking distance to cafes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I recently had a stay at Swell and have to say I really enjoyed it. I was down for business purposes by myself and after arriving quite late, I called the after hours phone and recieved a very friendly voice who talked me through the late night check in procedure. She was so helpful and lovely.

The room itself was really nice and spacious with a great kitchen. Everything was clean and the beds were really comfortable.
As the hotel was a two second walk to the beach and nice places to eat I had no problems getting around.

My stay (3 days) was very pleasant and I will use again, should I ever visit Burleigh again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaitL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We regularly visit family in QLD Broadbeach and thought we would try somewhere new. Great value for location and quality of apartment. Staff very friendly and accessible. We arrived out of hours and security immediately attended our call no very helpful and polite as we're th ladies on reception. We didnt hire a car as we usually do and Lund we could walk to shops and restaurants. Great pool and immaculately kept. Would highly recommend we will stay again. Didnt book ocean view but got one ..great!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanineG297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here for a week with our two kids. The place itself is nice, modern reception, lovely pool, location is great. We specifically chose not to stay in Surfers as we have young kids and we wanted something a bit quieter. Unfortunately this resort also has private long term rentals (which is what we got stuck next to) and the tenants next door had parties on their balcony regularly and yelled and screamed til late. I complained the first time to reception who said it was privately rented they couldn't do much about it. They stated if it happened again to call security. We have one night to go of our trip and they're starting up again..yay!

Our apartment faces the hinterland and is above the bins as well which get emptied every 2nd day at 6am and the acoustics make it sound like its happening a couple of metres away!

If we were to return here we'd be a bit wiser and insist on a pool view room, much quieter, and request a room that is away from the partying long termers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location right opposite the beach and some great little dinner spots. Our stay was a delight! Keep in mind it's right on a highway so if you want a little fresh air it can get quite noisy. With the doors shut and the AC on though, there's no issues at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_bdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
#9 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village at Burleigh Heads
The Village at Burleigh Heads
#11 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bujerum Apartments
Bujerum Apartments
#19 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#5 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gemini Court Holiday Apartments
Gemini Court Holiday Apartments
#13 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Beach Apartments
Le Beach Apartments
#15 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swell Resort Burleigh Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swell Resort Burleigh Beach

Property: Swell Resort Burleigh Beach
Address: 1 Ocean St, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia (Formerly Swell Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swell Resort Burleigh Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swell Resort is a stylish and contemporary holiday complex situated in popular Burleigh Heads on Queensland's Gold Coast. Located just a short stroll from the famous rolling surf of Burleigh Beach, the resort offers a selection of spacious Burleigh apartments, all fully self contained and complete with all the comforts of home. With a fully equipped gym, swimming pool, spa and tennis court onsite, you're never short of ways to relax and unwind on a break with us. Watch the sun rise over the region's unspoiled headlands, venture into the lush green rainforest of Burleigh Heads National Park or take the ten minute drive into Surfers Paradise to immerse yourself in the vibrant shopping and dining scene. Ideal for family holidays, weddings, groups and anyone looking for a luxurious break in the heart of the Gold Coast, Swell Burleigh Heads Accommodation is the perfect choice for a getaway to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swell Resort Burleigh Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swell Beach Hotel Burleigh Heads
Swell Resort Burleigh Beach Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing