We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Deal”
Review of The Little Plate

The Little Plate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Boutique restaurant with a "Fine Casual" attitude - you will receive all the trimmings of 5star service and food in a casual atmosphere where you feel comfortable and at home. We pride ourselves on a 'shared plate philosophy' where people can tantalise their tastebuds with flavours from all of the world in one sitting, or you can just order your favourite dish and keep it all for yourself... if you can pick one that is. Our place is for people to come, relax, enjoy, dine and leave feeling content , tantalised and extremely satisfied as well as all that feeling you've made new friends by visiting us... and hopefully planning your next trip back. We are fully licenced.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Big Deal”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I cannot praise this place highly enough - a lovely, modern fit-out, a good use of the small space (just 8 tables, 3 of which are outside - meaning bookings are essential and need to be made early), a slightly out of the way location (just off the highway but nice and quiet).

...and then there is the food.

We had a group of five and ordered some appetisers: the tortillas and lamb korma. Both were exceptional in both taste and presentation.

Then for mains we had satay chicken, fillet mignonette and Atlantic salmon.

Each meal was delicious, well presented and had a unique composition - for instance the eye fillet mignonette didn't look like any similar dish I'd ever seen...and that was refreshing. And the taste was light and fulfilling.

Dessert was sticky date pudding, cannoli, choc and walnut tart and panna cotta. All, again, wonderful and satisfying.

Other things to note were that the chefs come out and talk to the customers (and are really friendly - more than the waitstaff), they have their own microbrewery and the prices for all meals were VERY low. We were impressed: the eye fillet (again) was around $25 and while slightly smaller than in other places, was a perfect size that didn't leave you feeling bloated AND had a terrific flavour from the accompanying elements.

In summary I cannot think of a better place to eat. This has been the absolute highlight of my last 2 weeks here. It is my new fave GC restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    67
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value - interesting menu”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great little suburban restauarnt with some different menu choices. Service was great. My entree (Kofta plate) was excellent, ,ain course Zahaar chicken a little disappointing in flavour although chicken was very well cooked. Other guest had Beef carpaccio lacked flavour and the Beef mignonette was very good. Panacotta dessert was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I dont want to share this Place but I have to!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We dined here yesterday with a group of 6. It was incredible!!!
Six was prefect numbers, as we got to try a good amount of things from the menu, any less wouldnt have been enough different plate options but any more people and it would be too tight and too hard to share.
Each one of us selected a dish from the menu, and we all shared them. In short, we had Tuna, Eye Fillet, SA Squid, Zaatar Chicken, Potato & Cheese Fritters, Pulled Pork Tacos. Each & every one of them came accompanied with something great like hand cut potato chips, with a garlic creamy sauce, or crispy potatoes etc. Every condiment we had was also fantastic. We even asked for bread to dip and finish off the sauces, in which the friendly staff were more than accommodating and served us up some hot crusty bread.

We couldnt go past dessert, so once again we each selected our own desserts. Two of our party had affogato served with caramel infused tequila which was the hit of the day. The best they have ever had, and this is coming from two local Melbournites who are regular Affogato drinkers :)
The Pannacota with Persian Fairy Floss & Pistachio icecream was a hit. Along with the Walnut & chocolate torte with Espresso Icecream (if you like coffee, you will devour this icecream). And the Sticky Date Pudding with Butterscotch Sauce with Vanilla Icecream was as good as it sounds!

All in all, for 6 main dishes, 6 desserts, a bottle of wine, and about 5 other alcoholic drinks the bill was around $95 a cpl. Its definatly worth a try if your looking for a memorable meal!!! And THANKYOU to all of the helpful, smiling staff. We especially appreciated the chef coming out and talking to us at different times throught the afternoon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great food made with love. Served with a smile. You won't be disappointed. Taste sensations from around the world

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallyvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Still #1 - and justifiably so”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

When a restaurant is booked out on a Monday night and there's only one table left for the following Saturday night, you know it's doing quite a few things right.
I've been introducing locals and visitors alike to The Little Plate since it opened; they have been as impressed with both the food and the service as I continue to be.
I can only repeat what I said in my original review, and what other reviewers say: fresh and delicious flavour combinations, friendly service, reasonable prices.
The Little Plate is a Big Dining Experience: long may it reign as #1!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Plate also viewed

Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Little Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing