We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy retirement holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burleigh Mediterranean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy retirement holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The excellent facilities and obliging staff made our visit as enjoyable as anywhere we have stayed during many years of travel accommodation experience across the world and throughout Australia. Our two bedroom unit was spotlessly clean with a most rewarding view of the sea. The swimming pool and gym are well maintained. The facility is well located but sufficiently distant from the main Gold Caost centres which have really lost their previous charm and are too busy.

Room Tip: Sea view appartments get the morning sun and should be cooller during summer. The air conditioners w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    91
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
156
89
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived late to the hotel, arrangements made to access the hotel late at night were excellent and stress free. However once we got to our room, we were disappointed. For the price we paid, we were not expecting dirty sheets, towels, curtains, windows, and an old-fashioned apartment in serious need of updating.
The next morning, we complained to reception (whom were very helpful throughout our stay), who passed us on to the manager. The manager basically told us that "as we booked through expedia, we shouldn't expect one of the better rooms", and that "if we booked directly with the hotel, our room would've been one of the newer ones". He did then let us move to another apartment which had been newly refurbished, and was definitely at the standard that we expected for the price that we paid. This second apartment had new furniture and decoration, with clean bedding.
Other facilities such as the swimming pools were excellent, and the hotel is in close proximity to the beach and Surf Club.
We'd like to thank the manager for moving us to a better apartment, however letting out rooms as poor as the first apartment to paying customers was disappointing.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel that the apartment they book you is newly refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouP456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise T, Manager at Burleigh Mediterranean Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are glad that you found our late arrival procedure convenient and stress free.

We are sorry that your apartment on arrival did not meet your expectations and are happy that we could rectify this for you.

For this reason we do offer 3 apartment categories being Standard, Oceanview and Superior apartments in our efforts to accommodate individual travellers needs. You did book a standard apartment. We do take our guest feedback seriously and will pass your comments onto the apartment owner for future refurbishment options to ensure guest satisfaction in the future.

We are sorry that you have mis-interpreted our explanation with regards to the booking procedure. All Online Travel Agents have access to exactly the same apartments as we do, however what we were trying to explain was that when guests have particular requests or preferences to note these either through the Online Travel Agent at the time of booking or directly with the Resort. We will always endeavour to meet these requests where possible to ensure guest satisfaction and that apartments are selected accordingly.

We are pleased you enjoyed our resort facilities during your stay and made the most of this great location with the Surf Club a short stroll along the Esplanade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our second stay in the Mediterranean with my husband and our 2.5 year old daughter. We stayed in a lovely 2 bed apartment that was spotlessly clean, new furnishings and a magnificent beach front view. All of the staff we came into contact with from reception through to cleaning and maintenance, were super friendly and helpful. Great place to stay with kids with the indoor heated pool and a great park opposite the hotel. We stayed on level 5 - which was great because I'm a little nervous about staying in a super tall highrise with a toddler, this is another reason why we came back to stay - the Mediterranean isn't an enormous high rise. The new Coles supermarket 5 minute walk away was super convenient along with a chemist and some nice takeaways. Really happy with our stay and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_K_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Husband and I arrived in Burleigh Heads on a whim and cruised the foreshore looking for accommodation. We chose the Mediterranean because of its location and street appeal.
We were delighted with our decision; the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to view the apartment before deciding. It was spacious, immaculately clean and with wonderful views of the ocean. Parking the car underneath was a breeze, with ease of access and no extra charges. The rooftop area is delightful and a great place to kill some leisure time.
My only very small criticism is that the crockery in our apartment was old and dated, not something you expect in such a nice place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having experienced many resorts along the Gold Coast over the years, we, (an extended family of 5), stayed here in June 2013 - finding the clean and spacious apartment well-appointed with magnificent views across both the surf, and the hinterland. Close to public transport, good restaurants and shopping facilities, we spent a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday - with the rooftop relaxation area fantastic for barbeques and generally chilling out.
In summary, probably the best resort we have experienced, and have already booked another stay here.

Room Tip: Higher storey, beach-facing rooms are quieter, with fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The accommodation was exactly as we expected. Everything in out apartment was in good condition, and the layout was excellent. We had requested key locks on all glass sliding doors, and this was also accommodated for in the apartment we were provided. The reception staff were friendly & helpful during our stay.

Our apartment had a front loading washing machine, dryer, and enough equipment to cook simple meals in the kitchen. It also had air conditioning in all bedrooms, and living area.

The views from our balcony were amazing, and having a playground & the beach directly across the road was great. We were also impressed by the cleanliness of the BBQ's provided on the rooftop - which had fantastic views, and was well set up with seating & windbreaks.

We were also provided with a $50 meal voucher, and 12 month membership to the surf club, which was a really nice touch. We ate there twice during our stay, and the club is laid back, and the food is good.

Burleigh is far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the Gold Coast to make this a really convenient and child friendly location, as well as being close to the theme parks.

Room Tip: The corner apartments provide great all round views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunny_days_in_newie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a walk-in urgent booking from a 'less than perfect' other accommodation, Burleigh Mediteranean was a breath of fresh air. Very polite and helpful staff (Michelle and later other reception ladies and gentleman) and our apartment no. 2402 was like a 'home away from home'. Lovely furnishings, warm carpet (was mid winter), TWO heatpumps/air-conditioners, two bedrooms and bathrooms and a great kitchen and laundry-in-a-cupboard. We thoroughly enjoyed the 6 nights we spent here and felt safe, secure, warm and totally relaxed. Gosh, we could have happily moved in permanently (if we had a lot less 'stuff' at home). The location is wonderful, right on the Esplanade, with a SLSC almost opposite, Coles supermarket and other shops 2 mins walk away, a 7/11 convenience shop (great for purchasing and topping up the bus passes) and the all-important McDonalds only about 4 mins walk. The Burleigh township was an easy stroll along the beach or walkway, with its many cafes, shops and great playgrounds for the little ones. A fab spot to walk to the point and watch the surfies in action. Any tour bookings and general information were available from the helpful reception staff and a visit from Currumbin staff with a snake and baby crocodile for the guests/children to learn about and pat, was fabulous. There was an indoor heated swimming pool and spa, outdoor pool, gym and sauna to use. The buses along the Gold Coast Highway were at the end of a short street away so basically everything was at our fingertips. A fabulous stay, thank you so much. It is noted, however, that the apartments available for rent are strata title so we can't say what other apartment would be like - ours was really really good - but we are sure they would have to meet a very high standard. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Strata title so the rooms would be different each time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.3 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#2 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
0.0 mi away
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
#11 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Surf Apartments
Burleigh Surf Apartments
#14 of 34 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Gold Coast
Outrigger Gold Coast
#2 of 4 in Burleigh Heads
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mediterranean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mediterranean Resort

Property: Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Address: 220 The Esplanade, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia (Formerly Sands Mediterranean Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mediterranean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort is located on The Esplanade at North Burleigh just 50 meters from the beach, 15 minutes drive north of Gold Coast Airport and 10 minutes south of Surfers Paradise. Our 1,2 and 3 bedroom oceanfacing apartments are fully self-contained, boast views out over the ocean, poolside and hinterland. Facilities include heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, children’s wading pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and poolside and stunning rooftop BBQ areas with 360 degree views of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burleigh Mediterranean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Mediterranean Hotel Burleigh Heads
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing