We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Apartments
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Week of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently had a week down at Burleigh with a friend. We were after a relaxing beach get-a-way. That is exactly what we got. Walking in to a beautiful and spacious apartment we were blown away, both by the comforting decor and the view of the beach directly in front of us. The managers were fantastic, facilities just perfect and overall stay just brilliant. Anyone after a beach holiday I would recommend Southern Cross apartments, walking distance to Burleigh shops, right in front of the beach and newly furnished apartments. I will definitely be returning. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment facing the ocean - I would be requesting ocean views, they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madonna A, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Meaghan, Thank you so much for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
113
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ivanhoe, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at Southern Cross Apartments for the past two trips to Qld (Burleigh Heads) in 2012 and 2013. The accommodation is amazing. It is like you have packed up your own home and moved it onto the beach! The views are amazing, the apartments have EVERYTHING in them, there are all the facilities you could possibly need (Internet, Gym, Tennis Court, Pool, Spa, Sauna, Foxtel....the list goes on!)
I particularly love the location (right on the Esplanade about 30 feet from the beach!) Myself and my dad got the same apartment both times we stayed at Southern Cross and were absolutely stoked to have gotten the same place twice - it is awesome! It is now our home away from home and the staff, Shane, Madonna and Kate are beautiful friendly people and will bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I have been traveling to the Gold Coast every year since 2008 and I have not stayed in a better place than Southern Cross Apartments. Both times we have stayed there we have asked to extend our stay, as we just don't want to leave! My family and I will be staying there again on our next trip without fail! I have recommended Southern Cross Apartments to all of my Melbourne friends. Absolutely love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madonna A, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Carl! Thank you so much for you kind words! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your second stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just enjoyed another beautiful week at Southern Cross Apartments. We have been staying here for the last 10 years, both for short weekend breaks and two week holidays over christmas. We are always delighted in the units we have had, very spacious, always very clean and well furnished, with a kitchen with everything you need for your stay. Our children love the pool and tennis court and the closeness to the patrolled beach is fantastic, no shoes needed! The staff are always polite and welcoming, all requests are handled promtly and efficiently. We look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfamily4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madonna A, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a great week in a unit, amazing views of the beach, up to Surfers Paradise and out to the mountains. Perfect location, nice team at the apartments, very helpful. Pool just the right temperature and a nice surround area. Will be booking again for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Take your own beach towels and face washers, none supplied. Corner units have great views. 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akelly184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Annette

Shane and I are so happy you had a wonderful holiday. Unit 30 is a beautiful unit and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our second stay in Burleigh and as it was peak time (first week in January) we were watching the budget.

Took the ground floor apartment which was a bit dated, but large and comfortable.

Was worried about the lack of air-conditioning, but the sea breezes ensured the apartment stayed cool. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the kids loved the large pool.

Was nice to be able to walk out from our balcony onto the grass and not have to go through the lobby.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your holiday and took advantage of our special priced ground floor unit. This unit does have an open feel and is excellent for families with children. The children get to play on the lawn whilst the parents get to relax on the balcony with a cool drink whilst keeping an eye on the kids. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We enjoyed a 2week stay at Southern Cross Apartments in February this year. The weather was not great but we still had a lovely, relaxing break away. I found the management extremely helpful and willing to please. Our rooms were great, well-furnished and had all we needed. I look forward to returning, much like many of your other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Judy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very important to us. I am so happy you had a wonderful holiday (despite the weather). The apartment you stayed in has been recently refurbished. I will pass your comments on to the owner of that unit. Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the future. Shane and I will try to turn on the sun for you for your next stay. (However we can't promise)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A tired, run down, grotty and overpriced establishment with its only redeeming features being the view and location. For which thankfully the property owners and management are not responsible!

On entering the apartment we were confronted with: a tired and stained carpet, dirty lounge suite, a miss matched collection of damaged paintings (obviously taken from a charity shop reject bin), a clock radio that radioed but didn't clock, a sliding door that did not slide, a grotty fruit bowl stuffed under the TV, a TV sitting on a "table" of roughly and poorly sawn garden sleepers, dimmers with knobs that fell off), a dining table for 6 with 5 chairs, TV and video remotes with flat batteries, a battery clock with no battery, 4 unmatched wine glasses, a selection mismatched water glasses (including 2 beer glasses with Tooheys New logo (obviously borrowed from the local), dirty pots and pans, master bedroom bedside tables with badly worn tops (probably from the same Opp Shop), black marble (when wet) floor in ensuite shower overdue for a clean, no fly screens, melamine crockery, blown light bulbs and the list goes on!

Given the glowing reports from the majority of reviewers we did not read the poor reviews until after our experience. The managements response to adverse comments is very informative. It demonstrates their attitude and as to how the building is run. An establishment that charges luxury rates but relies on guests, on arrival, to tell them that batteries are flat, bulbs are blown and bedspreads and blood stained should be in another industry.

Camp in you car, DO NOT stay here. You can see the same view from other buildings.

PS This sums the "joint" up! How unprofessional can you get? On checkout the manager stood over me and watched me key my PIN into the EFTPOS terminal, the kids at the supermarket check know better than this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Aussie R and R firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are extremely important to us and we take them very seriously. My only regret is that you did not enjoy your stay.

Shane and I have been the managers here at Southern Cross Apartments for the past 11 years and take great pride in our work, our commitment to customer service and our dedication to ensure that Southern Cross is kept clean and well maintained (as you will see from many of our reviews). The unit you stayed in is a beautiful unit which is in high demand and is featured in a lot of our advertising and on our website. As all the units are individually owned and furnished it is difficult to furnish these units to suit everyone's taste. I will however pass your comments on to the owner of this unit.

We are currently completing the final stages of 6 new renovated units. Which I hope all of our guests past, present and future will love.

I am sorry for all the problems you incurred during your stay. It is difficult to ensure units are in perfect condition when an early check in time of 10 am is requested as this does not give us the required time to check to make sure everything is perfect for your stay. This is something we will certainly re access. I also understand the weather was appalling during your stay and the grounds etc may not have been up to their beautiful manicured best however now the sun is finally out our grounds and gardens are now beginning to look beautiful once again.

In relation to you checking out and finalising your account the terminal is passed over to you from the other side of the counter. We have been doing this same procedure for the past 11 years and it has never been an issue, we do not stand over our guests. It is no different to any other store I have shopped in.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#2 of 32 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#5 of 32 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
2nd Avenue Apartments
2nd Avenue Apartments
#3 of 32 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
Ambience On Burleigh Beach
#10 of 32 in Burleigh Heads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Outrigger Gold Coast
Outrigger Gold Coast
#2 of 4 in Burleigh Heads
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Apartments
Address: 114 - 124 The Esplanade, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of coastal lifestyle at Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments. Situated directly across the road from Burleigh’s patrolled beach, you’ll be perfectly positioned to enjoy all that Burleigh has to offer - with a world renowned surf-break, white sandy beaches and an expansive parkland; where you can picnic, BBQ, take a stroll or let the kids wear themselves out at one of the many children’s playgrounds. Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments are also within easy walking distance of a wide choice of restaurants, shops and public transport. All of our spacious apartments have sensational ocean views and are fully self-contained; with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sunny balconies. Enjoy our heated outdoor pool and spa, indoor spa, sauna, gymnasium, two half-tennis courts, free underground secure car parking and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Cross Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Apartments Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing