We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in an apartment for a great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Cross Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Narromine, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you need in an apartment for a great holiday”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first stay at Southern Cross apartments and it won't be our last. Excellent service from the managers Madonna, Shane and Kate, from checkin to checkout. Our first impression was just how clean they were. Even though they are aging you could not fault this aspect The apartments are very comfortable, everything you need for a great holiday. The views from the 11th floor are excellent. Third floor corner apartment had excellent sea breezes to cool us down on the hot humid days. Great amenities, pool, spas, sauna 1/2 tennis courts. Excellent security, location is wonderful. Can't say enough good things about our stay. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suewally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi! We are so great full for your feedback! Cleanliness of our apartments and customer service are two things we really try to strive for so we appreciate your thoughts. Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
113
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We holiday here every year. Our two small children have a ball using the pool, spa, tennis court. Madonnas and Shane could not be nicer. Would not stay anywhere else, cannot beat the price, rooms good size great for children. Will be back next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Siobhan! We are thrilled that you had such a great time staying at Southern Cross Apartments! Can't wait to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As the title says - SC Rocks (according to my 2 sons who are 7 & 9). We were first time visitors to SC apartments and will certainly holiday there again. Great location on Burleigh esplanade. Madonna (manager) is the most friendly and helpful manager that we have ever come accross. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi, we are so happy that you and your family had a such a pleasant stay with us! Thank you for your great comments in relation to our manager Madonna! She is thrilled that she made such a positive impact on your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been staying at Southern Cross Apartments for 5 years now and we love it! As soon as our holiday is over we start to count down for next years holiday! Southern Cross offers captivating views, refreshing breezes, open apartments, easy acces to shops and great amenities making it a fantastic holiday location. Shane and Madonna still after 5 years continually make every effort to ensure our stay is perfect. Southern Cross Apartments has been our family holiday location for many years already and we will be holidaying there for many more years!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taylah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Taylah, Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We have loved having you stay with us for the past 5 years! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

For many years now our family have stayed at Southern Cross appartments, along with our extended family in various units throughout the complex. It offers great amenities to keep us all occupied and we especially love spending time together around the pool after the beach and going bike-riding along the esplanade. Shane and Madonna are always friendly, welcoming and make every effort to cater for us. Our end-unit on the tenth floor offered great sea-breezes and views and the layout suits our family of three teenage boys, especially with two televisions. Holidays at the Southern Cross are our family tradition, we look forward to them all year and since everything's just what we've booked up again for next year.

Room Tip: 'Sometimes higher units can be too breezy'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Southern Cross over new years. Being from the country we requested a higher floor apartment to give the kids an experience. Madonna & Shane kindly organised the 15th floor which was amazing and overwhelming all at the same time. We spent every spare minute on the balcony watching the world go by. The apartment was very clean with plenty of room for everyone. It was great to stay at accommodation where all the facilities were working and available for use, spa & sauna we a real treat. I think we have found a real family favourite for our next holiday - thank you Southern Cross.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are more than happy to satisfy all requests when they are available and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the view from your apartment! Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed recently in a refurbished apartment on the 13th floor of this older but well-kept complex and were very happy. Roomy unit, fantastic views directly onto the ocean and a 5 min walk to the shops. The front desk staff are always friendly, nothing is too much trouble and it represents excellent value for money. We will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi, Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#2 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
2nd Avenue Apartments
2nd Avenue Apartments
#3 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#5 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Surf Apartments
Burleigh Surf Apartments
#17 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Apartments
Address: 114 - 124 The Esplanade, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of coastal lifestyle at Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments. Situated directly across the road from Burleigh’s patrolled beach, you’ll be perfectly positioned to enjoy all that Burleigh has to offer - with a world renowned surf-break, white sandy beaches and an expansive parkland; where you can picnic, BBQ, take a stroll or let the kids wear themselves out at one of the many children’s playgrounds. Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments are also within easy walking distance of a wide choice of restaurants, shops and public transport. All of our spacious apartments have sensational ocean views and are fully self-contained; with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sunny balconies. Enjoy our heated outdoor pool and spa, indoor spa, sauna, gymnasium, two half-tennis courts, free underground secure car parking and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Southern Cross Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Apartments Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing