We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem on the Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Cross Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem on the Coast”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have stayed in many apartments from the Daintree to Coolangatta over the years on our annual sojourns to Australia (to escape the NZ winters) so are well aware of prices and 'just what's out there'. If we are near Burleigh Heads we always stay at The Southern Cross Apartments - great value for money - great location and fabulous views of the ocean and dolphins playing, from the beach view apartments - the managers are friendly and helpful which all contributes to an enjoyable holiday - we have stayed at the Southern Cross several times now after the apartments were recommended to us by Australian friends and we have now recommended them to NZ friends who are also staying there in the near future. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevonGee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
113
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is my fourth attempt to get through with a report on the Southern Cross but I just want to echo the words of "Patrick B" and "Brian W". We have stayed at the Southern Cross about ten times and are booked in to stay for 6 weeks next February. That should be recommendation enough, but we would add, to what the other two people mentioned have said, that the facilities are excellent. There is a fine, warm swimming pool, a "work-out" room with apparatus, a sauna and a jacuzzi. We can't wait to get back and meet Shane and Madonna again. Roll on February 12th!

Room Tip: East side rooms have good views (over the trees) to the beach and Surfers' Paradise, west side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Bernard
Shane and I are pleased to know that you enjoy your holidays at Southern Cross Apartments. We truly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in Feb

Kind regards
Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Our family has been visiting the Gold Coast for the last 11 years. We have stayed at average to luxurious apartments but have returned to The Southern Cross Apartments three times now. Why?

- The couple who manage the apartment are great, friendly, efficient and accommodating.
- The location is superb, a stroll across a quiet esplanade and you are on the beach. All the apartments face the beach, and offer views of Surfers to Coolangatta. 5 mins walk gets you to the charming and varied shopping strip which has all the essentials, and 5 mins drive gets you to Pacific Fair Shopping Complex. There are 2 SLSCs about 10 mins walk away.
- The apartments are recently renovated, spacious, clean, fully equipped with good quality cooking tools, beds are comfy and have plenty of spare bedding.
- The additional odds and ends supplied that you usually miss when you are on holidays make it feel like you are staying with friends. There are even some paperbacks, boogy boards and tennis rackets in case you get bored!! Naturally this means there are tennis courts and a pool.

If you are ever thinking of a Gold Coast holiday, I can really recommend this accommodation!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment high up for the view and no traffic noise (which is minimal anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Preston

Thank you for staying at Southern Cross Apartments once again. It is great to have our repeat guests continue to enjoy what we have to offer here at Southern Cross.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards

Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Southern Cross Apartments provide good amenities , a friendly atmosphere and a great location

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Brian
Thank you for staying with us at Southern Cross. Glad to here you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards

Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

After several verbal and written agreements that we had booked a ‘renovated’ unit for our two week holiday in an obviously older apartment block – we arrived to be very disappointed with a unit that hadn’t been touched for many years but featured two renovated bathrooms. Manager Madonna wanted to argue the definition of renovated and then offered an alternative unit, 100% refund to leave and a discount to stay. Our hands were tied and we stayed. The Southern Cross Apartments are well positioned on the esplanade and are large and breezy with excellent views.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renoman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Guest

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Southern Cross. As far as the unit not being touched for years this is simply NOT the case. I guess everyone has different ideas of refurbished. I did however give you three alternatives to which you decided to stay. I would suggest that in future you may need to stay in an apartment block that is new the only down side to this would be you would be paying 3 times the price. Shane and I take great pride in trying to offer all our guests the best possible service. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

After 10 years we continue to return to Southern Cross,mainly for three reasons. Shane and Madonna are the most cheerful and helpful managers. The location, for us as ocean and Burleigh lovers, couldn't be better, and value for money is excellent (particularly in non-peak seasons). Southern Cross is not a full-service resort, but the apartments are spacious, airy, well equipped and most are very well presented. The gardens and pool area are also very nice. As mentioned, Shane and Madonna are as helpful as building managers get. Wherever possible, problems or needs are resolved quickly and with no fuss. We strongly recommend Southern Cross to anybody who loves ocean-side on the Southern Gold Coast and who wants a relaxed, unpretentious and good value equipped apartment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

After staying at other places at Burleigh Heads, we have now been staying at Southern Cross Apartments twice a year for over ten years, which speaks for itself. Not only is Southern Cross very convenient, the apartments are spacious, very comfortable and well appointed. We have found the Management. both past and present, always prepared to go out of their way to ensure that your holiday is pleasant and free of problems, no matter how minor. This opinion is shared by family and friends who have stayed with us over the years, and also by friends to whom we have recommended Southern Cross Apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of the building and on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Joan and Kevin

So glad you enjoying staying at Southern Cross we look forward to seeing you again in May

Kind regards

Madonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#2 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
2nd Avenue Apartments
2nd Avenue Apartments
#3 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#5 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Surf Apartments
Burleigh Surf Apartments
#16 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Apartments
Address: 114 - 124 The Esplanade, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of coastal lifestyle at Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments. Situated directly across the road from Burleigh’s patrolled beach, you’ll be perfectly positioned to enjoy all that Burleigh has to offer - with a world renowned surf-break, white sandy beaches and an expansive parkland; where you can picnic, BBQ, take a stroll or let the kids wear themselves out at one of the many children’s playgrounds. Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments are also within easy walking distance of a wide choice of restaurants, shops and public transport. All of our spacious apartments have sensational ocean views and are fully self-contained; with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sunny balconies. Enjoy our heated outdoor pool and spa, indoor spa, sauna, gymnasium, two half-tennis courts, free underground secure car parking and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Southern Cross Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Apartments Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing