We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Southern Cross Apartments provide good amenities , a friendly atmosphere and a great location

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Dear Brian
Thank you for staying with us at Southern Cross. Glad to here you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards

Madonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

After several verbal and written agreements that we had booked a ‘renovated’ unit for our two week holiday in an obviously older apartment block – we arrived to be very disappointed with a unit that hadn’t been touched for many years but featured two renovated bathrooms. Manager Madonna wanted to argue the definition of renovated and then offered an alternative unit, 100% refund to leave and a discount to stay. Our hands were tied and we stayed. The Southern Cross Apartments are well positioned on the esplanade and are large and breezy with excellent views.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renoman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Dear Guest

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Southern Cross. As far as the unit not being touched for years this is simply NOT the case. I guess everyone has different ideas of refurbished. I did however give you three alternatives to which you decided to stay. I would suggest that in future you may need to stay in an apartment block that is new the only down side to this would be you would be paying 3 times the price. Shane and I take great pride in trying to offer all our guests the best possible service. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards
Madonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

After 10 years we continue to return to Southern Cross,mainly for three reasons. Shane and Madonna are the most cheerful and helpful managers. The location, for us as ocean and Burleigh lovers, couldn't be better, and value for money is excellent (particularly in non-peak seasons). Southern Cross is not a full-service resort, but the apartments are spacious, airy, well equipped and most are very well presented. The gardens and pool area are also very nice. As mentioned, Shane and Madonna are as helpful as building managers get. Wherever possible, problems or needs are resolved quickly and with no fuss. We strongly recommend Southern Cross to anybody who loves ocean-side on the Southern Gold Coast and who wants a relaxed, unpretentious and good value equipped apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

After staying at other places at Burleigh Heads, we have now been staying at Southern Cross Apartments twice a year for over ten years, which speaks for itself. Not only is Southern Cross very convenient, the apartments are spacious, very comfortable and well appointed. We have found the Management. both past and present, always prepared to go out of their way to ensure that your holiday is pleasant and free of problems, no matter how minor. This opinion is shared by family and friends who have stayed with us over the years, and also by friends to whom we have recommended Southern Cross Apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms at either end of the building and on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Dear Joan and Kevin

So glad you enjoying staying at Southern Cross we look forward to seeing you again in May

Kind regards

Madonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have been staying at this Apartment property every May for the past 10 years. There have been odd glitches with fittings etc, but there has never been a problem having them fixed in fairly short order.The Aparments being of an earlier generation are of course larger, with better sized rooms. The Apartments can be a little tired in some parts, but have found them to be good value for money, especially being on the beach front and close to shops, with good areas for walking.The staff have always been friendly and helpful.
Having worked in the Aviation Industry for 40 years, and have stayed in a variety of accommodation in many countries of the world, and Southern Cross compares favourably with many places I have stayed in of a similar kind.
I will be returning to Southern Cross again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryW416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Barry,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoy staying at Southern Cross and we look forward to seeing you again this April/May. Hope the weather is a lot better than it is now.

Kind regards

Madonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

These aprtments are a rip off! We holiday at Burleigh Heads every year and have stayed at some fantastic places including - Gemini Court, 2nd Avenue, La Pacific, Pacific Regis, Burleigh Beach Tower.
I would not even advise my worst enemy to stay here, it is a dive and the staff are so incredibly rude.
Our toilet was clogged the entire time and after continuely complaining nothing was done.
We had bulbs blown when we arrived and the staff left a box of bulbs at our front door for us to change them ourselves. There was air con only in the bedrooms however this was at an extra charge of ten dollars a day if you wanted the remotes to use this, Wow think we payed enough for that place!
We had a fire alarm go off at 3am in the morning which management could not even bothered to come down for and direct us to an assembly point!
I agree with the other bad reviews on here and those people who put good reviews up you should try some other other places I mentioned where we have stayed - you will be really impressed, if you think this place is good.
Never ever again would I stay here! Disgusted.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Southern Cross Apartments.
We did try to accommodate your requests during your stay.
The toilet was NOT blocked and we adjusted the cistern twice while you were in house to accommodate you but no fault was found either time. Firstly by myself and after you mentioned it again by our licensed plumber.
The light bulbs were only left outside your door as we could not access the apartment due to the door being deadlocked, you may recall we dicussed this with you later that day.
In regards to air conditioning we have only 4 units in our building that have air-con. We do not advertise anywhere that we provide air-con. As we are directly across the road from the beach and get beautiful sea breezes air con is rarely requested. This is why our air con is a pay if you would like to use service.
Finally we did attend the alarm call and have the fire brigade report to attest to this. Fire alarms are an unfortunate occurance but are impossible to prevent and we apologise for the inconvenience it may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our two bedroom apartment was spacious and well designed and furnished, with an ocean view, however we neglected to ask about air conditioning, and it was absent. This was not a problem in November with good sea breezes most days, but in warmer weather the lack of even ceiling fans could be a problem (a pedestal fan was provided). Being on the first floor it was not secure to leave the sliding balcony doors open at night, so this could lead to uncomfortably warm nights. However we enjoyed a pleasant, comfortable stay. The kitchen was well-appointed and equipped (apart from not having a dishwasher). The living areas, bathrooms and bedrooms were of a good size. There is some distance between the master suite and the second bedroom, and this coupled with the opening windows by the beds in the latter might be a problem with small children. The staff were friendly and obliging. We had not been warned about a major painting job which was in progress, which meant the pool was closed on weekdays throughout our stay, but we did not find this too much of a problem.

Room Tip: Check availability of air conditioning in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhineasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadonnaGoldCoast, Manager at Southern Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Dear Guest

I am so happy you enjoyed your holidays at Southern Cross. We truly appreciate your understanding during our painting works. So glad that is over. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Madonna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burleigh Heads hotels
0.5 mi away
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
Burleigh Mediterranean Resort
#4 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
2nd Avenue Apartments
2nd Avenue Apartments
#3 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burleigh Beach Tower
Burleigh Beach Tower
#7 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
Burleigh Esplanade Apartments
#2 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
Solnamara Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 33 in Burleigh Heads
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Apartments

Address: 114 - 124 The Esplanade, Gold Coast, Queensland 4220, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Burleigh Heads
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Burleigh Heads
Price Range: $122 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of coastal lifestyle at Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments. Situated directly across the road from Burleigh’s patrolled beach, you’ll be perfectly positioned to enjoy all that Burleigh has to offer - with a world renowned surf-break, white sandy beaches and an expansive parkland; where you can picnic, BBQ, take a stroll or let the kids wear themselves out at one of the many children’s playgrounds. Southern Cross Beachfront Apartments are also within easy walking distance of a wide choice of restaurants, shops and public transport. All of our spacious apartments have sensational ocean views and are fully self-contained; with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sunny balconies. Enjoy our heated outdoor pool and spa, indoor spa, sauna, gymnasium, two half-tennis courts, free underground secure car parking and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Cross Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Apartments Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing