We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous Great Motor Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pigeon House Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ulladulla
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have stayed many nights at the Pigeon House and have always found to be to above and beyond what you would expect for the price. Considering the location, walking distance to the Habour/city centre/ RSL, the incredibly clean room and the modest noise that is hardly noticeable the cost of the room makes the Pigeon House well worth considering. The owners were approachable and friendly. The breakfast is always fresh and very generous in terms of serving sizes. As a frequent traveller these considerations make the Pigeon house my choice when staying in Ulladulla.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenJenny, Owner at Pigeon House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hullo Stu
Thank you for your review. As a regular guest we always look forward to your return visits and appreciate your patronage. See you next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found Pigeon House a lovely clean motel of great value and the owners were exceptionally helpful with service and local knowledge of the area. Even though they don't have a restaurant they could recommend several places to eat within walking distant and supplied us with a lovely breakfast .
We highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenJenny, Owner at Pigeon House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hullo Sue.
Allen & I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly enjoyed comparing travelling notes with you and Greg. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is very noisy due to being on the highway and right near a round-about. The trucks and cars slow down and then accelerate which makes it even noisier. The hotel is not good value even at $100 per night, it's way too much & the service & breakfast was ordinary. We left this hotel as we we not happy with it and checked in at another hotel down near the harbour the Ulladulla Guest House, These people were friendly and professional and it was very cosy and quiet, unlike the Pidgeon House. The Ulladulla Guest House was more expensive but they tried very hard to be helpful and their food was excellent, they had fresh fruits, salads and beautiful meals whcih was included in the price. We were so happy with the Ulladulla Guest House we stayed another night. We have stayed in many hotels & this is the first time I have ever checked out early due to being unsatisfied with the accommodation, the owners didn't seem to care, just happy to take your money and move on & make excuses. I think if the traffic noise didn't bother some guests (as per 'some' reviews) they must be deaf or they brought along ear plugs! We were disgusted with this hotel's owners attitude towards guests, it's a shame for Ulladulla as it's just bad business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toonoisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenJenny, Owner at Pigeon House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for your review and we would like to clarify the complaint which was made. The guest was booked for 2 nights. At 6.30am on the first morning, she knocked on reception door & said that there were tradepeople working 1/2 a block down the road & had awoken her. She wanted to know if & Ulladulla had noise regulations & she would take it up with the Council. The guest said she would not be staying the second night. I walked down to the tradesmen & spoke with the supervisor on her behalf. He explained that they were removing asbestos & the job had to be done before the traffic commenced. He told me that they had just finished. The distant noise went for no more than 30 minutes. The guest wanted a refund for the 2nd nights accommodation. We explained that the motel could not be held responsible for noise down the road & her booking stated that there were no refunds for early departures. With regards to her complaint about breakfast, the order was for 1 serve of toast (which she cooked in her room), 1 hot chocolate & 1 milk coffee. The guest left the property without paying for breakfast. We do aplogise because the guest was woken early but her complaint to us at the time is different to her complaint reported here. None of our other guests made any comment about the tradesmen. We are however please that she did enjoy her stay at the Guest House. It is a 5 star property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is very noisy the owners don't care and it's not worth the money their attitude is oh well you knew we were on the highway I paid for 2 nights in advance the didn't offer to give us anything back for the 2nd night as we left the hotel after only 1 night they didn't even say they were sorry we have stayed in lots of hotels and this was by far the most disappointing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllenJenny, Owner at Pigeon House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Hullo Chloe. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience with your stay in Ulladulla. However we have searched our records and we have never had a guest registered by the name of Chloe who came from Paris, France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very friendly and helpfull people. Nice room at a good price

Stayed: February 2012
5  Thank Jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Hi Jan. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed overnight on a visit to Ulladulla. Very friendly and very clean. We slept really well even though it is on the highway, we didn't hear any traffic noise. Walked into Ulladulla for a look around. Ulladulla Ex Servicesmans Club just down the road and in walking distance, unfortunately such a wet and windy night, but we caught the courtesy bus and had a fantastic dinner at their Salt restaurant. Would recommend for a reasonably priced, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CB_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have 3 girls who do the cleaning for us and they take pride in their work. One young girl has been with us for 7 years and another for 5 years. Like you, we appreciate their efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed only a single night as we were attending a wedding in Ulladulla. When we arrived the elder gentleman who served us in Reception was very friendly and interested in us and our plans. He was also very friendly during check out.
The room was very clean, which surprised us considering how cheap the room was for the night. We were given a little bottle of milk for coffee and there was a kettle in the room. There was an iron and board in the room and a flat screen tv. There were plenty of fluffy towels provided.
The motel is on the highway but it is a 50 km zone and I didn't hear in noise during the night. It is very close to town and a Macas is 100m away.
If you are after a simple, clean, friendly and cheap motel then I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Hullo Jay. Thank you for your comments. We like to try and offer our guests a good experience and are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulladulla
0.3 mi away
Harbour Royal Motel
Harbour Royal Motel
#2 of 5 in Ulladulla
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#4 of 5 in Ulladulla
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 5 in Ulladulla
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#7 of 8 in Mollymook
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mollymook Seascape Motel
Mollymook Seascape Motel
#6 of 8 in Mollymook
79 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tabourie Lake Motor Inn Resort
Tabourie Lake Motor Inn Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Tabourie
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon House Motor Inn

Address: 156 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Ulladulla
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ulladulla
Price Range: $81 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon House Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pigeon House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing