We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazzzzzzzzzzzzzing”
Review of Cupitt's Kitchen

Cupitt's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Ulladulla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $61
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: There is nothing like a long lunch surrounded by green rolling hills, blue skies and great service. Or a special dinner for two, or four, or twelve, or more, featuring great food, great wine and great conversation. Our award-winning Cupitt's Kitchen offers seasonal food with traditional French and English influences. Locally made wine and beer feature on our wine list. We use fresh local produce and follow the philosophies of the Slow Food Movement, believing that dining should be a source of pleasure. Rosie Cupitt is the Leader for Slow Food Shoalhaven. The restaurant is located in the heart of Cupitt's Winery, and combines rustic stone walls with contemporary design for a comfortable, sophisticated dining experience. We take food and wine very seriously, so that you can relax, exhale and enjoy.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

weekend out of sydney yippy. got to our dessination, milton. we relaxted settled in. then realised, we haddent decidded on dinner plans. the people where we were staying suggested cupitt,s restaurant. we had no idea, so we rang and got a table. the lady i spoke to was soooooooooo helpfull. we got a bookin at 7.30. haha every 1 does that. we arrive a little late (oops sorry) this place was buzzzing. the waiter took us to our table (he seemed a little strest) but, made us feel really welcome. we desidded on wne. as we were at a winery, do the winery thing n have there wines. red white we did. ( possums u must have the possum lodge chardy) orded food, we all had some thing different so we can see it all. starters arrived - parfait, trout, tart, soup,............... this was all great. the stand out was................ """"""""""" parfait. yes that was yummmmmmy. more service more wine (these wines r good) we waited a little longer for our mains, i'm not shore but it seemed like a while. as the place was really busy we expected it. the staff were understanding and entertained us. mains arrive, ya........ i must say, the beef was soooooooooooooooo good. my wife been a vego.had the taglately thing with eggplant( mmmm fresh pasta ). chicken blue eye....... it was all good. we r so goin back. tks
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

I think we came on a bad night. The kitchen was totally overrun. 45 minutes to get entree, 90 to get main.

Mains were inedible. Wife had a tagliatelle that was mushy. I had a seafood linguini, underseason with three clams that didn't open indicating they weren't fresh.

The worst part is the waitstaff was rude about it. At other places at this price point they would be apologetic and try to make up for it. Here they were rude and didn't even acknowledge it.

I would avoid this place. Most disappointing dining experience out of the 70 or so places I have eaten in Australia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank theduke37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosievino, Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at Cupitt's. Both the Linguine with Shellfish cooked 'en Papillote' with vermouth and the Rolled Eggplant on our house made Spinach Tagliatelle with Globe artichokes have received a great amount of praise from diners so we are shocked to hear you found them both inedible.
We are very sorry about your wait times, we have checked our dockets and it appears you did wait longer than usual for your meals. Our timings recorded did not match what you stated in your review but clearly it felt a lot longer for you. We had a large group booking arrive late and this really impacted wait times.
We are surprised to hear that you found our staff rude. We work very hard with our front of house to ensure they are able to deal with customer complaints on the night so that the customer does not leave feeling as dissatisfied as you did. Obviously taking the meal off your bill was not enough of an acknowledgement for you.
If I may be of any assistance or you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email cupittwines@bigpond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was fortunate enough to secure a spot at the Christmas in July Long Table lunch at Cupitts, and my initial excitement was not in vain.
We were welcomed with an offering of house made mulled wine or a special "Christmas Ale" to get us started. The staff seemed excited about the festivities as they showed us to our table, overlooking the beautiful landscape that surrounds the winering.
Our first course alternated between a prawn timbale and a cheddar and leek tart. I received the tart, which was light fluffy and accompanied by a fresh red onion and rocket salad, perfect for balancing the richness of the cheese.
In the spirit of Christmas the mains were shared. Perfectly crispy pork belly and moist roast turkey were quickly distributed between all the guests at our table, it was a good thing we were strangers to each other, or things might have gotten ugly. The sauces that accompanied the mains were a great addition, in particular the apple sauce that went with the pork. The sides made it really feel like Christmas, lots of greens and crunchy roast potatoes.
We didnt wait a moment for drinks, it seemed like the waiter staff only appeared as you reached for your last sip.
Dessert was alternating also, a quite traditional Christmas pudding as well as a fresh, creamy Mandarin trifle. I sampled both and could have gone either way, although the dessert board that advertised the dishes on the regular menu had me salivating all day!
We had a great time, and being vistors to Ulladulla we were happy to meet some locals and learn a little more about what the area has to offer.
I would definitely recommend this as the perfect place for a lazy Sunday lunch, or the perfect function.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosievino, Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you kindly for your wonderful and detailed review of our Christmas in July Long Table Lunch, we do many Long Table Lunches throughout the year but this was our Christmas in July. We thought it was a perfect excuse to get our English Chef to show us how they celebrate Christmas at home. We are glad you found it all delicious and enjoyed our Christmas Craft Ale and Mulled Wine.
We pride ourselves on the quality of the food at our Long table Lunches and fun friendly relaxed atmosphere and really appreciate you taking the time to praise what our chefs. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a long lunch at this great venue, overlooking the edge of Burrill Lake and the pastures and vines. The food was wonderful with an extensive selection, all with local fresh produce. Great and all dishes delicious. The wines are all produced on site, made by the owner, a talented winemaker. All in all a most delightful afternoon, will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosievino, Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, glad to hear you love the wine. We hope you come back soon and try our new release wines. We are in the process of bottling our new Semillion and Arneis and we are very happy with them. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Dined at Vineyard Kitchen at Cupitt's Winery during the week. There were four of us in the party celebrating with my wife and bother-in-law my mother-in-law's 88th birthday. Between us we had confit duck, the moules, the cheddar and leek tart and ocean trout. Desserts were the French meringue with rhubarb and chantilly cream and the golden syrup tart. All were terrific choices and absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable. I would have no hesitation at all in highly recommending the Vineyard Kitchen. The view to Pigeon House Mountain and Burrill Lake was terrific. It being a chilly day the overhead heaters were a welcome addition. Top marks all round!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GongGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We are delighted to read your lovely review. Thank you for choosing Cupitt's to celebrate such a special occasion. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and desserts. We are very proud of our menu and dessert selection. Also thank you for your comments on the service and the views. We are very grateful you took time to review us and look forward to welcoming you back at Cupitt's soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupitt's Kitchen also viewed

Milton, Shoalhaven
Mollymook, Shoalhaven
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Cupitt's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing