We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
Review of Tumut Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tumut Valley Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The motel is an older style with the required amenities and comfortable. The queen bed plus the king single was useful to allow our daughter to share the room. Heating was effective and the Queen bed (but not the single) had the welcome addition of electric blankets as Tumut can be cold even in spring. The bathroom while not modern was perfectly adequate. The kitchen sink and the mirror in the main room were useful when three people are trying to share a room and therefore didn't put too much time stress on the bathroom use. The main road was close but I was not disturbed by traffic noise. The motel has a dining room which we did not use but others found very convenient for breakfast as the motel is just on the outskirts of town. We searched for a breakfast option in Tumut on the Sunday morning but everything but the two coffee shops (which didn't do breakfast) and MacDonalds were closed. The motel has done well to offer breakfasts in their dining room. The staff were very obliging and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    52
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
30
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What makes this Motel the best in TUMUT? Its Vicky and Ian!
We just returned from two nights here and enjoyed the peace and quiet, clean rooms, comfy beds,
parking at door,BUT MOST OF ALL ITS THE MANAGERS- so friendly-down to earth kind,normal people that will make sure you enjoy your stay- ask them for anything and they'll get it for you!
We chose a family apartment and asked if we could change the room to a re vamped twin room for our second night-no problem,service with a smile!
You can drive to Mt Selwyn in around 50 minutes and play in the snow and return here for comfort without paying for an overpriced place -ask Ian about the Chinese restaurant in Tumut -we had take away one night and it was so delicious, Woolworths is a quick drive to buy your snacks and drinks and they also serve brekky here at a decent price.
FANTASTIC! we will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 25-its been refurbished-very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My Brother and I stayed at the Country Comfort on Boxing day 2013
This motel is typical of the style that is found in country towns across NSW. The motel is well maintained and comfortable.
The best thing about the motel was the lovely lady who checked us in and went out of the way to make sure we were happy with our overnight stay. I don't know her name but I must thank her for getting up at sparrow fart (6am) to cook us breakfast before we went on our trip down the river, It was greatly appreciated.
Recommend giving the motel a ring before booking online as we were offered a much better rate by booking direct.

Definitely stay here again next time we are passing through.

By the way Kayaking from Tumut to Gundagai should be on everyone's bucket list. We have crossed it off twice. (See my review).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The rooms are clean and well presented, and the hosts are pleasant and know their area well. The motel is well appointed and the rooms are very large (we had a double room, which includes a Queen size bed and a single bed). The only downside was the location - it's at the wrong end of the town, so shops and restaurants are not walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a 3br room, an easy access room for elderly parents and a king size spa room for one night for a family visit to Tumut. Booking was a breeze, the Management could not have been more helpful. Checkin was quick and efficient. The rooms were spotlessly clean and contained everything you need, including bug spray which is essential in the Aussie summer. Our King Room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Guests ranged from motorcycle clubs (who we hardly saw), random travellers and families to groups with boats to ski at the local Dam. The general vibe made everybody feel most welcome and guests all spoke with one another about their travels and plans which was nice to see. We arranged breakfast in the dining room the next morning for 12 of us and we were served the most delicious bacon and eggs you can imaging. Servings were generous for the price and Vicki makes a great coffee. The pool area and guest facilities are more than you would expect in a country highway motel and the entire property was clean and very well maintained. I highly recommend Tumut Valley Motel to families and groups and look forward to our next visit. A great find managed by wonderful people who made us feel like part of the family.

Room Tip: I recommend a king size room, you a rarely get a King bed in country motels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I had a weekend away here. Spacious and clean rooms. I was given a tour of the motel - excellent value for money. Provides great family atmosphere. My sincere thanks to Adam for recommending this place. A very special thanks to Vicky & Ian (scrumptious scrambled eggs) for their hospitality and recommendations for sightseeing in the area - especially it being our first to the region!! Firm Bed & Pillows Wow! Great for those who have a bad back - Excellent Choice Management!
Astika & Mehnaz

Room Tip: "Your Wish is My Command" is what they provide!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a family room. It was large enough to comfortably sleep husband and wife, the mother-in-law, one pre-schooler and a just turned 1 year old in a port a cot with a bed still spare.
There was a separate basin area in the bathroom so everyone could get ready at the same time.
It is located on the main highway through town and is easy to find and access. Quite Rooms.
Large carparking area is ideal for longer vehicles who need a bit more turning space, such as twin cab utes
Very family friendly with a good working air conditioner which is an essential during a heat wave!

Room Tip: Give them a ring to get a room to match your specific needs, eg if you need 2 singles in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryComfortTumut, Manager at Tumut Valley Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you it was wonderful to have you come and stay and thank you for your kind words .Tumut is beautiful and to find everything good in one place were you stay is great ,look forward to welcoming you back again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tumut hotels
1.1 mi away
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Amaroo Motel
Amaroo Motel
#1 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Merivale Motel
Merivale Motel
#2 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tumut Motor Inn
Tumut Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Motel Farrington
1.5 mi away
Riverglade Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumut Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumut Valley Motel

Property: Tumut Valley Motel
Address: Cnr Snowy Mountains Hwy & Bundara Cres, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Tumut Valley Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tumut Valley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tumut Valley Motel is ideally located on the Snowy Mountains Highway, 2 kilometres past the centre of Tumut heading towards Cooma. Built around a stunning large pool and garden on four acres of picturesque landscaped grounds surrounded with mountain views, it enjoys a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere, direct access to the main highway and proximity to the town centre. It is the ideal place to stay while in Tumut, whether you are exploring the many natural attractions in the area, on a stop-over or a corporate traveller. Delicious meals are served in the newly refurbished licensed Bar & Restaurant. The Tumut Valley Motel is well known for its beautifully furnished and accessorised spacious rooms, peaceful surroundings and relaxed atmosphere. Its extensive grounds can easily accommodate extra parking of boats, trailers or trucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tumut Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing