We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and clean”
Review of Amaroo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaroo Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and clean”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Amaroo Motel last night, the welcome was warm friendly and helpful, the rooms are newly renovated with tasteful, minimal (plenty of space for luggage) and well thought out design, the bed was comfortable and all in all a most pleasant stay,
Thankyou

Room Tip: I believe this is has the freshest rooms in town with their newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    72
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
95
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were upgraded to deluxe after a brief chat, and what a pleasure it was. All services were excellent. Loved the shower, and had no problem with adequate power for a laptop, two external drives, iPad charger and a cuppa while surfing at 4G speeds. The bed was very comfortable, and the chat with son (on arrival) and dad (on departure) were both interesting and informative. We will stay again next visit to Tumut. A major upgrade from our previous stay 18 years ago...

Room Tip: We stayed deluxe, and only noises were from people starting their 4WD tanks at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Like so many motels in country Australia, the Amaroo was probably built in the '60s. However, the owners have maintained it very well and we had a very pleasant stay. Everything worked perfectly and the split-system airconditioning was both quiet and effective. Breakfast was nicely cooked.

Room Tip: For the partially disabled, some rooms have direct entry form the car parinking space outside the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently we spent a few nights at the Amaroo Motel. We sought a twin room and were very impressed with the juggling Ian and his son did to make it happen for us. Throughout our stay we found the business owners to be very helpful. Our room was very clean though the carpet had reached its' use-by date. The location was great, just a short stroll to the shops. Even though the motel is located on the main street into Tumut there was little road noise.The motel has free wifi which was appreciated as it gave us a chance to catch up on our emails. Would definately recommend the Amaroo Motel to anyone wishing to stay in Tumut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dishmop37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed a night here on way back home from Victoria. Reception was very good from owner Ian. The motel was built in 1959 ! but very well maintained and renovated. A credit to Ian and family. Reasonably quiet. Rooms small but cosy, adequate for a night or two, nothing flash but comfortable. Small bathroom but ok. Handy to town for meals, we tried Ian's choice, the Royal, quite good. Breakfast good. Some corporate rooms being worked on currently, had a look, very nice. Motel very quiet when we were there, only 2 rooms filled out of 26.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Try one of the new corpoate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmarooMotel, Owner at Amaroo Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for the nice comments. The first of our fully renovated rooms are now available, over time we will be complete the entire motel. The rooms feature new premium style bathrooms, a new internal layout for more space, LED down lights, premium woolen carpets, 32inch Phillips Tv's. We are working hard to upgrade our rooms a higher standard. I have upload some new photos to our profile.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A clean, comfortable and welcoming motel. The owner was very friendly and gave us great advice on where to eat. (The Royal in Tumut has great food) would recommend the Amaroo highly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ousho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed New Years day and it was not too busy.

Well located off the main street but close enough to walk. Room was clean with modern furnishings and a new flat screen TV that had a decent range of channels.
The air con came in handy as it was very hot that day, and it was not too noisy so we slept ok.
Bed was roomy and comfortable for the two of us.
Bathroom was a little pokey and older style but it was fine and more importantly clean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumut
0.2 mi away
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Merivale Motel
Merivale Motel
#2 of 8 in Tumut
230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tumut Valley Motel
Tumut Valley Motel
#4 of 8 in Tumut
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tumut Motor Inn
Tumut Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tumut
64 reviews
16.6 mi away
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
Tuckerbox Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Gundagai
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Motel Farrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaroo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaroo Motel

Property: Amaroo Motel
Address: 55 Capper St, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaroo Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully refurbished AAA 4 Star rated Executive rooms to provide you with comfortable accommodation for your stay in Tumut. A Free Hot Buffet Breakfast is available with all Executive Room bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amaroo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing