We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to relax in style.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

An appartment by the pool will temp you NOT to leave. Everything you need for a quiet peaceful relxed getaway. You wont want to leave the room. Very we appointed new clean and very comfortable. Some nice walks and drives and places to just sit relax and enjoy the view. Well worth the effort

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketoknow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hi Liketoknow, We are so happy that you found our pool entry units so good. These units are extremely popular as you can just walk out your front door and take dip in our solar heated pool with ease. We look forward to your next holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is fantastic for families because the kids can swim right outside the ground floor units. But kids screaming in the pool isn't so great when you're older and want a quieter holiday. The words 'resort' shoudl have been a warning bell - but everyone raved so much about this place on TA that I overlooked this aspect. If you want all the facilities including gym and spa, plus 2 bathrooms for 2 people and 2 TVs, then this place is for you. If you want something quieter with character and charm, then have a look at the B&Bs up the road on Marine Pde, or the holiday houses to rent in the area.

The lack of 'extras' which should be included given the price was also disappointing - no extra blanket, one tiny sachet of detergent, no salt and pepper, no gladwrap or alfoil or even appliance instructions in the third kitchen drawer! The internet is only free for 24 hours, and you have to pay to borrow board games.

This place is comfortable and 15 years ago when my kids were small, they would have loved it for the pool. But definitely not recommended for older couples seeking a quiet place with charm.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to pool - but noisy neighbours in the unit above can be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Campbells05, Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Yes our resort is great for kids especially during school holiday periods when you chose to travel. When taking bookings we attempt to ensure that we meet all guests' requirements. Your original booking was for 3 nights prior and we had you in a unit away from the pool which we attempt to do for 2 adults travelling during school holidays. When you chose to change the booking I did explain that we only had 1 unit left. The majority of our cliental outside school holidays consists of couples like yourself and they love the Resort. Our internet service is completely free. Each guest receives 1g high speed connection per day. If this is exceeded the connection slows but we never charge. If you required an additional blanket I would have only been too happy to supply you with one - you only had to mention it whilst you were talking to me each day. We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Big rooms, big balconies, big pool, free internet, really nice people who own and run it. This is a very relaxing, quiet, and stress free property, we will definitely be staying here again next we're up that way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Mark W, Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the free internet. Looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location, walking distance to shops, restaurants. The pool is one of the best we have seen, heated, and the sand beach is great for the kids. Our 2 Bedroom Apartments very clean everything you need, good size rooms, ensuite was huge with spa. Managers and staff were great. THANKYOU.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear SallyD, Thank you for the review and pointing out the things that you liked about our Resort and the region. The location is fantastic a short flat walk along the Myall River to some great restaurants. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went back to stay again with the kids. Wonderful experience. Heated pool and lots of swimming. Great weather. Clean and excellent accommodation. Explored the beaches this time and bush walking.
Thanks we'll be back........

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTavelersfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. The Boathouse and surrounding Tea Gardens have so much to offer, great to see you discovered the divine beaches and bushwalks this visit. The pool is certainly heated, because of this it is used the full 12 months of the year and is a beautiful addition to our Resort. Looking forward to seeing your family again on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Boathouse resort. We had a very spacious, modern 2 bedroom apartment with spectacular water views. The bathroom was huge, loved the double vanity and big spa. The pool is also a great feature. Friendly service and great location, doesn't get better than this! Thanks for a wonderful stay! Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear 85gemini, We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is definately a great feature of the Resort. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A surprise package in Tea Gardens. Beautifully designed open plan areas with view to the river. The pool area looked inviting even though the weather wasn't the greatest. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The fully equipped kitchen was a plus and the unit was spotlessly clean. There are great places to eat and drink too if you want to venture down the road. Thank you for a quiet place to unwind- we'll be back with family members soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alib8371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of The Boathouse Resort. We are quietly known amongst locals and previous guests as an "undiscovered piece of paradise", and the Tea Gardens / Hawks Nest area has everything you need for a great holiday, short or long.

The weather normally does not hinder our guests stays too much. The Resort has been build to maximise the views up the river and most of the private balconies remain warm with the Winter sun streaming in. The swimming pool is heated is used year round, however we do recommend a short stint in the Japanese Steam Room after swimming to really warm up quickly during the cooler months.

We look forward to your next stay with us, its a wonderful place for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
4.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
608 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
346 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,492 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
1,055 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens

Address: 21 - 23 Marine Dr, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range: $125 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Boathouse Tea Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing