We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Hawks Nest Motel(Hawks Nest)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Martys at Little Beach(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$141
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Serviced Apartments(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Stephens Motel(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
128
68
18
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
68
18
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson bayhawks nestlarge balconysteam roommyall riversmall gym and saunaspa bathwalk in wardrobesecurity parkingcatch the ferrygreat pooloystersthree bedroomstayed in a bedroom apartmentlovely apartmentrelaxing holidaymain bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 228 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A surprise package in Tea Gardens. Beautifully designed open plan areas with view to the river. The pool area looked inviting even though the weather wasn't the greatest. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The fully equipped kitchen was a plus and the unit was spotlessly clean. There are great places to eat and drink too if you want to venture down the road. Thank you for a quiet place to unwind- we'll be back with family members soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alib8371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of The Boathouse Resort. We are quietly known amongst locals and previous guests as an "undiscovered piece of paradise", and the Tea Gardens / Hawks Nest area has everything you need for a great holiday, short or long.

The weather normally does not hinder our guests stays too much. The Resort has been build to maximise the views up the river and most of the private balconies remain warm with the Winter sun streaming in. The swimming pool is heated is used year round, however we do recommend a short stint in the Japanese Steam Room after swimming to really warm up quickly during the cooler months.

We look forward to your next stay with us, its a wonderful place for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay was for only 1 night. Staff were very friendly. Rooms great...large & clean. Kitchen was well equipped & beds comfy. We had a room at the front with direct access to the pool & overlooking the river. Pool area looked great but was a bit to chilly for a swim. Looking forward to a longer stay next time. Tea Gardens is a quiet little village with a few interesting looking cafes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerging_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks for your review of The Boathouse Resort.

Tea Gardens is a prime spot along the F3 for a nightly stop over on route to a planned destination. We have many visitors such as yourself that find themselves wanting to come back for a few days to experience our magical surrounds, fantastic restaurants, beaches and activities.

We look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Boathouse Resort. So quiet and relaxing, we were there for business & to see friends at Forster, which is only one half hours North.
Stuart the Manager could not do enough for us.The unit had a fully equipped kitchen, but when i needed a fry-pan other than the big electric one, Stuart had it in the unit in 5 minutes.. Now that is service. We did not try the lovely Japanese steam room or heated pool. Way too busy exploring the beautiful area. We drove over the bridge to Hawkes Nest, turned left at the award winning golf course and drove many miles down a tree lined sealed road to the National Parks. Ocean on one side Lakes on the other.
We ate at several restaurants for lunch, "Nicoles Art Gallery & Cafe" nice food sat in the garden, lots of water fountains around, art & jewellery in the store.The other was "Mumm's on the Myall" (little expensive for a country town) we thought and service was slow, i actually had to go up to the counter and order our drinks after sitting there for 20 minutes. The grilled fish we had was ok, food arrived quite quickly after we finally got the order in. We sat in the sun, had a nice glass of Pinot Gris with our meal. Then we had delicious ice cream from the "Ice Cream Shack" down the road on the waterfront, it must have the best ice cream we have ever tasted, I had Hokey Pokey ( being a kiwi) my husband had Ginger Meggs.( went there twice) The owner a Scottish man was very pleasant, he also had all sorts of candies some English, so lot's for little ones ( and big people) to explore in the shop. The take away Fish & Chip shop called " The Hook 'n' Cook Cafe" had some of the best flat head fish we had tasted in a long time, get the bag of food walk across the road to the seats & watch the boats & pelicans, all in all a lovely break away we wish we had time to stay longer...We will def be back to the Boathouse Resort one day...

Room Tip: I think any unit would be lovely, ground floor garden unit for small children we chose the top floor and got 304. Wonderful for a family three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, or like us just for a couple. We got the ( winter) morning sun, so glorious just sitting on the balcony watching the pelicans and the calmness of the river that the houseboats sat on across the road, but if one wanted the setting sun, ( can be seen from 304)but no sun in the winter afternoon, one would have to be further down 301/ 302 maybe.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks for your great review of The Boathouse Resort and the surrounding areas. It seems that you have discovered a few of our little gems, both Hook and Cook and The Icecream Shak are places we frequently visit!

The Tea Gardens / Hawks Nest area is such a beautiful, untouched part of the Mid North Coast. We are spoilt for beauty. Sunrises, sunsets, pelicans, dolphins, still rivers, divine beaches, National Parks, The Singing Bridge and gorgeous cafes surround us. Wonderful things to enjoy on foot, by bike, by boat, by kayak or by car.

We look forward to your next visit with us at The Boathouse Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Oaks Boathouse was one of the best places we have ever stayed in.
The rooms are appointed wonderfully and the entire layout of the resort has been very well considered and designed.
One of the most relaxing places we have stayed in and the location is just fantastic.
Would highly recommend it to anyone, couples, couples with children or the slightly older folk.
Can't wait to return.
Thank you

Room Tip: The rooms all offer views of the river and the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I spent the long weekend at the Boathouse Resort in Tea Gardens. When we first checked in the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff were so friendly and gave us some tips on what to do and where to eat. Unfortunately our weekend didn't turn out so great, after we hired a kayak from the friendly people at lazy paddles we went out into the ocean and our kayak flipped into the water. We lost our car keys in the water. The hotel keys were locked inside our car and we had no access to them, it was after hours so we couldn't immediately get another key from reception, however we called the after hours line and they came within 5 mins and gave us another set of keys. The staff were so helpful and friendly, we got out car towed near the hotel and the staff informed us that we can keep the car locked in the garage as long as we need to, they also extended our checkout time to whenever it suited my husband and I because we had to get a tow truck organized to get to Newcastle and contact a locksmith (and no one else was hiring that particular room for the night). As this event was unseen we had checked out of the hotel after our planned two night stay because we assumed that the locksmith we booked would cut us a car key, however they failed to do so. We had to spend another night at the boathouse so we called them up and luckily they had one room left and gave us a very generous discount to stay the night. Overall we had a very stressful weekend but the staff at the Boathouse Resort are very friendly and the hotel is beautiful! We really appreciate everything they did for us and we recommend everyone to stay there because it isn't just the great hotel, it's the service that really counts!! Thanks Boathouse!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boathouseholidays, Manager at Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Hi Sarah

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. It certainly became a stressful weekend for you with the loss of your keys, its wonderful to hear however that it has not tainted your opinion of our Resort and quaint town.

"We really appreciate everything they did for us and we recommend everyone to stay there because it isn't just the great hotel, it's the service that really counts!! Thanks Boathouse!"

The above comment, made by you during your review, is exactly how we hope each and every guest feels as they experience The Boathouse Resort, customer service is just so important and we really love sharing our advice freely when we can.

It would be a pleasure to accommodate you again and we hope that your next visit is full of relaxing memories and no stress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews