We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not that bad...”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I had a read of the review of the motel a day before arriving Tea Gardens and got worried when I saw the bad impressions of the previous visitors. But all of my worries are gone after checking -in, it's not a luxurious or trendy one but a good place to spend a night or two. The staff/owners are very friendly and accommodating, the place is quiet and the location is not far from shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imeldiffic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This motel is nothing like what is advertised on the internet. There is some very misleading advertising going on. We purchased the "deluxe" spa suite which was advertised as being "luxurious". It was far from that!!! The picture on the internet showed a spacious room with plenty of light and a nice colour scheme. When we arrived their it was nothing like it. Even with all the lights on it was a dark room and the walls were a strange dark pink/purple colour. Also, everything was old and outdated.

We found other peoples hairs in the spa and the bed was hard as a rock. We had to clean the spa before we could use it. On top of all this we ran out of hot water. The motel staff said we were sharing the water with the people across the hall and if they use too much hot water we miss out and vice versa. What a load of rubbish.

Does this sound like a "luxurious" and "deluxe" suite to you? I DONT THINK SO. What amazed me the most about this establishment is the customer service. We were booked in for 2 nights. We decided to leave after one night. I was happy to pay for the one night we stayed and sort the problem out peacefully. They decided they weren't going to refund us for the 2nd night because they didn't have anyone else to replace us.

As soon as I made a complaint about the room some man came out of nowhere and started hassling me, being extremely rude. He was automatically being defensive. Making it obvious that this has happened before. The receptionist had to calm the man down. It was the most disgraceful show of customer service I have ever witnessed.

Im sure the owners will have some sort of rubbish excuse for all this. But I warn you now... don't take the risk and book this motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Our motel and rooms look exactly as they appear on the internet - spacious, plenty of light and the wall colour and furniture colour scheme is exactly the same as our internet picture. The carpet and bedspreads do vary from room to room. Nowhere do we purport to be anything other than what we advertise.

Unfortunately with the new energy-saving lights which the government is encouraging everyone to instal the lighting may not be as bright as some people would like but we are trying to reduce our carbon footprint.

The feed back we get from most of our guests is that the colour scheme is relaxing and warm - some even describe it as romantic.

These guest booked two rooms. This gentleman purchased the "deluxe" spa suite and his brother purchased a "deluxe bushland" spa suite which was located directly opposite his room. The picture on the internet shows our rooms exactly as they are - spacious room with plenty of light and a nice colour scheme.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our motel. Although the motel is on the older side it is well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our spas are cleaned with a spa cleaning agent on the departure of each guest and we would dispute that there were hairs in the spa bath. Of course this guest did not come to us at the time of finding the hairs to report this problem so it is his word again ours. This seems to be another excuse to criticise our motel.

Our hot water services are 315 litre DUX Forte systems which run on peak at all times ie they heat 24 hours a day. The showers are fitted with water-saving devices. The hot water service IS shared with the guests across the corridor - on this occasion his own brother. In this day and age of people being conscious of saving water it is hard to believe that a 315 litres hot water service could be emptied but these guests obviously did.

This guest booked on the internet. As this booking was for the long weekend there was a minimum 2 night stay. The internet clearly states the cancellation policy - on this occasion a minimum of 2 nights. As we were fully booked for the long weekend we had been turning people away for days who had wanted to book for 2 or more nights.

My husband came to my aid when this guest became threatening. I don't believe that this indicates that this has happened before just that he was concerned for my well-being. I did have to calm him down because of the threatening manner in which this guest was behaving.

People often book on the internet expecting to be around Nelson Bay. Our advertising says we are on the northern shores of Port Stephens. Our tariffs during peak times ie Christmas, Easter and Long Weekends are generally substantially lower than on the Nelson Bay/Shoal Bay side. Guests arrive and use all sorts of excuses to try to obtain refunds on their accommodation because they want to be on the other side. The onus we believe is on the guest to ensure they know where they are booking.

We would invite any guest to visit Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest and stay with us. We know they will be 100% happy with our service, our Motel and this area.

PS We have an exceptionally high percentage of return guests so we believe we are doing something right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tea Gardens hotels

Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Not really possible to say very much about this property as we arrived late and left early (in the rain!)
The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming and were extremely enthusiastic about living in the area.
The room was of adequate size for our needs and the much vaunted en-suite jacuzzi created bubbles!(slightly dated though!)
All-in-all this is a typical 70's type motel.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — No food or drink available
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leisurepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2006

While Tea Gardens is a quiet, lush and pleasant place to stop by and stay; we would certainly not recommend this establishment. The location is a few miles from the harbour where you want to be, and it very much has a 'motel-feeling' in the wrong sense about it.
The motel mentions their suites with hot-tub, but these are very outdated and do not feel particularly clean.

But what most make us not recommend this hotel is the greedy style the management has, in their quest to cash in on tourists.
We made our reservation earlier in the day and then realised we probably wouldn't make it in time for the hotel. So we called the hotel to see if it was ok to cancel the room without charges, and this was accepted and acknowledged by them. Imagine our surprise a few days later when we noticed that the hotel charged us for a no-show! We had our bank reverse the charges, but after emailing back and forth we noticed that the management did not in any way acknowledge common and int'lly used practices for this. They were out to cash in on tourists. They falsely insinuated that we had not asked whether there would be any cancellation charges. Why would we even have bothered to call in that case?
After a while we didn't have time to continue pickering with these people so we let it go. We probably should've stood our grand as a matter of principle, but unlike the people at this motel, we have a life, and chose to get on with it. All throughout the conversation we were met by ignorance and malevolance.

Since we were in the area later on, we went to take a look at the hotel, to get an idea of what it was we had booked earlier. We were glad we made the better choice that evening, even though we paid double!

So our advice is to stay away from it, since the management here do not respect their guests at all.

There are plenty of other finer motels and hotels in the area that you should go to!

ps. great fish in the restaurants by the ocean-front!

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — The management and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not go there!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo_V-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2008
We are proud of our Motel and the Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest area.

We have many guests pass through our Motel each year who comment how the area has not become commercialised like other coastal areas.

We believe we treat all our guests fairly.

We do have a cancellation policy which we strictly endorse during our peak season when we have limited availability.

When booking accommodation, our guests are asked to advise an arrival time. They are also asked to provide credit card details. This enables us to hold a room indefinitely for their arrival. If a guest books at 10am and advises they will arrive at 2.00pm and then rings at 7.30pm to advise that they wish to cancel, we feel we have the right to compensation, especially during our peak time when we have usually turned away about 15 paying guests who were looking for accommodation.

We would invite anyone thinking of coming to Tea Gardens to experience our Motel and our hospitality.

Please mention that you have read this review response and we will offer you an excellent rate and the chance to experience the unique area of Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest at a very special rate. This offer is subject to availability and is only available outside peak times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
#2 of 2 in Hawks Nest
353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Property: Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing