We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel, friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights and while the staff were very friendly and the location reasonable there is no maid service, which means; no fresh towels, new tea bags, coffee, bath gel, soap etc so really you're just paying for a room.

The cost isn't bad though but the rooms are really dated. Could do with a lick of paint and less carpet on the walls.

Minor gripes aside, this is a standard motel with pleasant owners in a decent location. Won't be coming back but fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfpackmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel.

We understand that the decor of our rooms is not to everyone's taste however our regular guests and many new guests comment on how relaxing the muted colors of our rooms are. We also agree that the "frontrunner" fabric on the wall needs to be replaced but it is a superb soundproofing material and low maintenance. We are currently exploring other options, all of which are extremely expensive, and some time in the future we will replace this fabric.

Regarding room servicing, a number of years ago we surveyed our regular guests ie those who stay with us more than 3 time a year, to determine what they saw as important when staying at our Motel. A majority of our guests indicated amongst other things, that they would prefer not to have their room serviced. They preferred to sleep in or relax in their room without being interrupted by room service. We realise that this does not suit all our guests. However our rooms are adequately equipped with enough room amenities including tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bath gel, shampoo and soap for up to 4 days. We are more than happy to provide fresh bathroom linen on request.

Our location is what attracts most of our guests to our Motel. It is within walking distance to the restaurants on the waterfront, next to the bowling club, 5 minutes to the beaches and golf club and a short drive to the Myall Lakes National Park.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to comment on our Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 149 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

After reading the negative reviews of this motel I thought that it couldn't be this bad and, in reality, it wasn't. My expectations were not high and so, therefore, was not too disappointed. Everything worked well and our overall stay was quite pleasant. The price we paid was $208 per night for 4 nights. A realistic price for a motel of this calibre would more likely be around the $100-$120 per night. There are some issues that I feel people should be aware of though when booking this motel. The rooms are very dark and the lighting is inadequate. You can open the curtains but privacy is then in jeapardy. The water is of a yellow tinge and this doesn't worry you with the shower or toilet but it did concern my wife in the spa. There is very little sound proofing between rooms. There is an overall musty smell that I handled ok but my wife had difficulty with. My main concern came with the servicing of my room. I am sure I did not read anywhere in my booking that this room was not to be serviced for our stay but I read this in the booklet when arriving in the room. I was informed that I had paid for an unserviced room rate and that any form of servicing would be extra charges. This is the first time I have come across this and I have stayed at many hotels. 4 days of unserviced room was a little much I thought. Tea Gardens is a nice little place and we enjoyed our time there but I am afraid this hotel does have some issues that I am sure it is addressing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are always disappointed to get critical reviews of our Motel and acknowledge that there are a number of such reviews on TripAdvisor.

We try very hard to provide good, clean accommodation, a well maintained facility and friendly service. Our number one aim is for our guests to have a pleasant stay and enjoy the delights offered by Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest.

We do have a variety of price structures and obviously during our peak season ie Christmas/New Year (which is when you stayed), Easter and Public Holiday weekends we do charge our full tariff. Unlike many other properties, we do not include any surcharges - just our normal full tariff. Our tariff does not include room servicing and this is very clear on our website. We do also provide this information to guests on arrival. However we do advise guests that we are happy for them to request fresh towels, extra tea, coffee, sugar or room amenities during their stay.

We have received a number of comments about the lighting in our rooms. However the room lighting is in accordance with the energy saving initiatives implemented by the Government. We also provide privacy curtains (sheer curtains) and heavy blockout curtains in accordance with AAAT Star-Rating requirements.

Unfortunately the water for Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest comes from underground. Many of the new homes and properties have different filtering systems. This is beyond our control. However the quality of the water for drinking and bathing is excellent ... much better than in many of our cities.

Again we try very hard to provide a pleasant stay for our guests and our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy the many natural attractions and activities on offer in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The rooms are adequate with comfortable beds, flat panel tv and good air conditioning. Our room had a spa bath which was really nice as it had powerful jets and very relaxing.
It is located next to the local Country Club which has a very nice restaurant and is reasonably priced.
The only criticism would be that the car park and driveway need better drainage. The weather during our 3 night stay was terrible and there were large pools of water laying around making walking around the grounds difficult.
The breakfast options could use a bit more imagination but were adequate.

Room Tip: Be careful in the shower. The tiles are really slippery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ... and yes one of the common comments is how comfortable our beds are and what a good night sleep our guests have.

The spa baths are one of the features that attract guests to our Motel along with the lovely quiet surroundings.

We do acknowledge that our car park and driveway can cause problems when we have had significant rainfall over short periods of time. Normally with our sandy soil the water drains quickly but we also have a high water table so sometimes when we experience heavy tropical downpours we do have large pools of water. However under normal circumstances this is not usually a problem.

We offer a mini-bar style breakfast for those guests who just want something light to start the day. As we do not have a restaurant on site we usually recommend our guests have breakfast one of the many wonderful restaurants in Tea Gardens or Hawks Nest if they are looking for something more substantial.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

You know you are in a safe and ideal location no matter the length of stay. We stayed two nights and were politely greeted each morning despite certain areas of improvement it was an incredibly enjoyable stay given the hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiakatelhuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

You know you are in a safe and ideal location no matter the length of stay. We stayed two nights and were politely greeted each morning despite certain areas of improvement it was an incredibly enjoyable stay given the hospitality.

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have owned this Motel for 15 years and we are pleased to say that in 15 years we have never encountered any problems. This is one of the joys of living and working in such a lovely peaceful location. Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest - it really is paradise.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed our staffs hospitality and they do go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome.

Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Photos online misrepresented the accommodation and premises and facilities paid for in room e.g. Twin queen beds for which extra was charged and paid for.
Room stank of mildew
Owners laughed at complaints and refused apology for misrepresentation, and refused refund.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palsam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel.

We often find people who book through last minute third party websites become confused as they look at so many websites, properties and offers.

Our website has two twin rooms listed - Deluxe Twin Spa Suite ($229 with two queen beds ) and Standard Twin Suite ($209 with queen bed and single bed ... and double sofa bed which we do not advertise for adults as they are quite old).

Our website always displays the best deals available on the day. We apply a 5% surcharge to last minute third party websites to cover the high commissions we pay to these sites. We also do not list all our rooms on these sites.

We run our rooms through a Channel Manager and Property Management System (PMS). When a booking is made either through our website or through a third party booking site, the Channel Manager matches the room to the exact room in our PMS.

We do not offer the Deluxe Twin Spa Suite through the last minute third party booking site you booked through - only the Standard Twin Suite ($209 + 5% = $219 rounded down to nearest $ - this shows up as a Twin Suite on that booking site).

Unfortunately you have also not accurately reported the events of the day.

When you checked in you were directed to the room allocated by the Channel Manager and PMS relevant to your booking and the price you paid. You returned to Reception and advised that this was not the room-type that you booked and that you would also prefer a twin room on the bushland side of the Motel.

I tried to explain to you the booking process outlined above. I also advised that we did not have any twin rooms on the bushland side - all the rooms on this side have only a queen bed. I also explained that our Deluxe Twin Spa Suites, which are on the carpark side of the Motel like the Standard Twin Suites, had been booked out since August for a group function.

You returned to your room and discussed options with your partner before returning to reception, which was full of guests checking in and advised that "We will be not staying ... and keep your money!" You then proceeded to abuse guests who were checking in, sat in the carpark beeping your car horn and abusing a guest who had parked in the driveway and stopped to advise guests who were pulling into the carpart to check in to make sure they checked their rooms before paying.

I am happy to say that these guests did all check their rooms for mould and mildew and all were more than happy with their rooms and all enjoyed their stay.

We have also had an inspection from the local Council's Environmental Health Co-ordinator who inspected quite a few of our rooms and reported that there are no issues with mould or mildew.

We have recently had our AAAT inspection and maintained a high 3.5 star rating and also received TQUAL accreditation.

It is unfortunate that we were fully booked and did not have any rooms available to move you into as we do like to see our guests happy and enjoying our Motel and their stay in the Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest area which is the case with 99% of the people who stay with us.



Robyn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

23 golfing ladies spent a lovely 4 days staying at Tea Gardens Country Club Motel. We had a
great time and found everything to our liking. We had one wing of the Motel to ourselves so
were able to make as much noise as we liked without disturbing anyone. We also had a
great BBQ on the premises. The owners were extremely nice and couldn't do enough to please
us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

What a delight it was to have your lady golfers staying with us. We enjoyed our conversations with your ladies talking about golf in general and the lady amatuer and professional golfers such as April and Nikki who we know through Kasey and our times caddying for her.

Although things were not looking good for golf on Friday, the weather turned out to be terrific for golf, except perhaps for the wind.

We were pleased that we could allocated one wing of the Motel for your group. This enabled you to party, move between rooms to socialise and generally be able to relax and enjoy yourselves with fear of disturbing other guests.

We look forward to seeing the girls back soon.

Robyn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a two night stay to celebrate our anniversary and for me to get a "fix" of country quiet. I am a country girl living in the "Big Smoke" and this motel suited us down to the ground. Yes the fixtures in the bathroom were dated - so what!! Yes the walls were carpeted in the hallway - so what!! Yes the room was dark - so what we opened the curtains and door to let in fresh air from the beautiful bush behind us. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, even the dog came to say hello. The bed was very comfy and pillows good. The area we were visiting was quiet, which is why we were visiting. We explored the area and found nice camping and picnic grounds in Myall Lakes National Park. It was neat, clean and apart from one plastic drink bottle (Which we took away with us) totally free of rubbish and graffiti. The BBQ very clean and the lake vista was just magic. We sat there for hours being amused by the ducks, swans, a dingo and all the birds in the bush. We had bacon and eggs with toast on the BBQ and was so much better than any restaurant food we would spend a fortune on.
I have read the review from Smee_12 and I pity you. Thank God there is no "amusement" in Tea Garden for people like you. I reckon that is why they build hideous, noisy, crowded and expensive resorts for people who can't seem to appreciate the simple things in life.
We had dinner one night at the pub just across the way from where the ferry pulls up and I was disappointed with the food. It was pretty tasteless and pricey for what it was - but the staff were very nice and attentive. The second night we walked to the Country Club and there were heaps of people there. There is a choice of Chinese, Thai and Australian meals on the menu (Not just Chinese as Smee_12 stated). My husband and I both had the Sizzling Plate I had Beef and Hubby had Lamb and they were both delicious - heaps of meat and sauce and the veges were cooked just right, not cooked to death. We had a 'small' fried rice to go with it and there was so much food we were stuffed after the meal. It was half the price of what we paid the night before and very, very nice and excellent value for money. The staff were also lovely, efficient and friendly. Things we could have done if we wanted to in Tea Gardens and Hawkes Nest include: a round of golf, fishing, kayaking, bush walking, boating (hiring a tinnie), beach walks, sitting under a shady canopy and watching the oyster guys tending their leases or watching the world go by, have a few drinks and a yarn at the pub, go by ferry to Nelson Bay and spot the dolphins riding the bow waves, do a Myall River cruise, go koala spotting (even though I am not convinced there are any in the wild!!! So Smee_12 you certainly lost out with your trip, your own fault of course - I would recommend the Motel and surrounding area to everyone, that is of course if you like peace, quiet and simple country hospitality. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

What a wonderful review. Receiving responses such as yours makes all our hard work and long hours worthwhile. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and care and attention to detail. We only have a small staff but all who work for us take pride in their work and the motel.

The peace and tranquility is what brings people back to our motel time and time again. Where else can you see kangaroos grazing outside your room.

Yes we are an older motel with some features that you don't see anymore. However on a whole we maintain the property as best we can - replacing our beds, pillows and linen regularly. And yes our rooms might be a little dark (we do use the lighting that is regulated under energy efficiency provisions) but with heavy blockout curtains and sheer privacy curtains, our guests can open the curtains, as you did, and let in a much light or have as much privacy as they wish.

This area really is "Mother Natures wonderland". As you said there is lots to see and lots to do as long as you have an open mind and are not looking for expensive amusement parks and other activities to spend money on.

Although Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest is not over-burdened with restaurants, our guests often comment on the array of good restaurants and the quality of food provided in this area. There is a budget to suit everyone although the choices are limited on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday nights.

Once again thank you for such a terrific review and we look forward to seeing you back here when you need your next "country fix".

Robyn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
11 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
111 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range: $95 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing