We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website photos are a bit misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Website photos are a bit misleading”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The website gives the impression that this is a modern motel. In reality it's a typical 80's style motel with dated decor.
I think only a few rooms have been updated - we got an old one.
Owners were very helpful, bowling club next door was good - nice playground for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Motel. Our Motel is an older-style Motel which has just been given a very positive 3 1/2 star rating from the AAA Tourism as well as obtaining TQUAL status.

With regard to the photos on our website, our website was only re-designed in June 2012. The photos of the exterior of the Motel and of our rooms were taken in May 2012. Most of our rooms have been updated.

We are pleased you enjoyed the central location of our Motel. There are certainly advantages in being located next to the Tea Gardens Country Club ... the restaurant and children's playground are certainly both popular.

We hope that you will re-visit us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very dated, but clean. Bed was really old & so bad had no sleep & checked out the next day!!! Very disappointing as my husband & I really needed a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matusclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Motel. We believe we have excellent staff who take great pride in ensuring that our rooms are spotlessly clean.

With regards to your disappointment with the comfort of your bed, I recall that your booking was made at the last minute and you were anxious to use your voucher that particular weekend. I recall explaining that we were fully booked except for a family spa suite. This room is very popular with families but being a family room the beds sometimes get used as trampolines instead of beds!

I appreciate that with a very young baby you were looking to have a relaxing weekend away and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We have only every had a few complaints about our beds in the 15 years we have owned the Motel. We do have a refurbishment program which sees our beds replaced on a regular basis.

We have noted your concerns and have recently ordered new beds as the next stage of our refurbishment program so that our guests can be assured that they will experience a good, restful night's sleep.

Once again thanks for your comments and we hope that you will return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tea Gardens hotels

Morisset, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at TGCI Motel for two nights. We found the place homely and very comfortable. Management was friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Our biggest surprise was the proximity the place was to the river and shops - just a short stroll. Every room has double sliding doors with a private verandah overlooking bushland. That was magic for claustraphobic persons like ourselves. There was ample parking space. Our room was spotless, with a massive bathroom that contained a spa, shower and toilet. We requested additional bedding which was provided. Food - Choice of breakfast food was varied and other meals were available just 50 steps away at the RSL Club or a 4 minute walk, at a number of riverside cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: I susupect all rooms would have excellent sleep quality. Personally I would choose rooms away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg and Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
It was a pleasure to be your hosts for your recent visit. Our Motel, although an older style, is clean and comfortable. Being centrally located certainly has its advantages. Our bush land rooms have a beautiful aspect and many of our guests are delighted to see the native wildlife, including our little wallaby and her Joey. Of course the kookaburras put on a daily show for our guests too.

We really appreciate your time in reviewing our property and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great place to stay. Very quiet surroundings: all you hear is birds and crickets and frogs. Bowling Club next door for food, booze and pokies. Ambulance station down the road if you over-imbibe, but if you don't survive, cemetery very closeby {just joking}. VERY QUIET- no traffic noise. Great owners. Older style accomodation which I truely loved. Fantastic owners.

Keith and Mary

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks you so much Keith and Mary for writing such a wonderful review. As I respond I can hear the parrots and kookaburras in the native bushland enjoying the beautiful sunny morning.

I have to agree our location is quite unique, surrounded by bushland, no passing traffic, next to the Tea Gardens Country Club, a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and the riverfront and a 5 minute drive to the beaches.

The perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Once again thank you for such a wonderful review and thanks for referring your family and friends to us.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My family recently stayed at this motel for 2 nights as we had bought this voucher through an internet deal. I have to say it was well worth the money we spent and so peaceful and relaxing to get out of the city for the weekend. Apart from the accomodation we got a yummy bottle of wine on arrival to use while in the big spa bath, ready made breakfast, heaps of dining vouchers and other discount vouchers to use such as the ferry cruise to Nelson Bay in which the kids managed to spot a few dolphins! The room was spacious to fit 2 adults and 2 kids and was very clean, however interior is bit outdated and we had abit of trouble trying to control the airconditioning and had to get a new toaster as it wasn't working, however Robyn and Terry were very accomodating to all our requests and I will definitely be recommending this place again. The surrounding area of Hawks Nest was so peaceful, great areas to fish and really nice beaches will definitely have to be on our list of new summer getaways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our current special is certainly very good value for money. We have had terrific feedback from guests. The ferry cruise has been very popular and the dolphins are a thrill to see frolicking in Port Stephens.

Our rooms are certainly very spacious and can easily accommodate a family for a few days. The spa baths are also very popular and a great way to unwind at the end of a busy day.

We endeavour to present neat, clean accommodation for our guests and our room attendants do a terrific job in ensuring that rooms are "just right" for incoming guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Motel for 2 nights and we were most impressed.
The owners were great and friendly and the motel is positioned in close proximity of everything.
The country club is just a stroll away and great for dinner and no need to drive after a few.
Would highly recommend this motel.
Woolongong Duo.

Room Tip: Go ahead and book to enjoy a great location and motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank email255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Motel. We try very hard to provide good, comfortable accommodation and we know that there are people who have not enjoyed their stay with us - but a majority do

The spa baths are huge ... a nice way to relax after a day exploring the delights of Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest.

Our location is one of our assets - we are central to everything ... restaurants, golf course, beaches.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and thanks again for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a lovely time here. Though one could say the rooms are a bit dated they are spotless and very spacious. The bath is big enough for 2 and there are sliding doors which open to the outside. We had upgraded to the rooms which faced the bowling green. Robyn gave us a lovely warm welcome and we loved the fact we had our 2 day breakfast in our room to eat at our leisure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abiloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I am pleased that you had a lovely time during your stay with us and that you have taken the time to write a review. The team at the Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel enjoy reading guests comments.

I have passed your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms on to our room attendants. They do an amazing job and we are lucky to have such good quality staff.

We take pride in our Motel and endeavour to ensure that our rooms, although aging, are well maintained. Our rooms are extremely roomy and well ventilated with large glass sliding doors to let in the fresh air. Our guests also certainly make use of the lovely big double corner spa baths.

Our deluxe bushland spa suites are very popular and are usually the rooms that people request on their return visits to us. They are away from the noise of the carpark and guests often wake to find the kangaroos grazing on the lawn outside these rooms - an added bonus.

It was tremendous to get your feedback on the breakfast as these are the new trend called "Mini Bar Breakfast" and we have had mixed reactions. Personally I like the idea as you can eat the breakfast at your leisure as you said.

Once again thanks for your comments and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Tea Gardens Club Inn Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
#2 of 2 in Hawks Nest
353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Property: Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing