We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sharks Alive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South West Rocks Dive Centre

South West Rocks Dive Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sharks Alive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

These guys are easy to deal with! No, not the sharks but Dave & Kev! Took time to understand what our dive history was. Check our gear out. Really just made it easy. A quick 30 min ride out to fish rock was a bit bumpy, but what do you expect in the ocean? There are no graders out there... On the surface we were helped into our gear after a very thorough briefing. In the water everything went as planned. The cave swim through was awesome and about 20 grey nurse sharks swam amongst us. Cant ask for much more, really. Using Nitrox was a good experience, increasing our bottom time and making a quicker recovery. It's all thumbs up from us, we'll be back...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossyonbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top dive sight, awesome crew :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is my second time diving with this company.
This time I took my partner and to this day he still raves about his experience diving with grey nurse sharks. I just want to say I throughly recommend this dive company if you want helpful, cheerful, experienced staff. We were very fortunate when we dived, as we got to see dolphins, sharks and whales all in one day :).
Thanks to the crew keep up the great work :).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courtznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great guys, great dive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Loved booking with and visiting SWRocks Dive Centre. Everyone was top friendly and even phoned our UK mobile in advance when the adverse weather caused a day's delay in the schedule. It all worked out beautifully though and the dive trip was awesome. All the staff were brilliant, throwing in a mini whale watching cruise and eski lid entertainment on the way back from Fish Rock.
Worth mentioning too that the rental gear available was top quality.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Dive i have ever done !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and i were travelling up the east coast of australia and southwest rocks was seen in a tourist brochure as good for diving with sharks. My wife had only recently completed her PADI Dive course but not yet done the open water dive to become certified. when we explained this to the dive centre they said it wouldnt be an issue and she can do dive 1 and 2 with them on her way to become certified (another dive centre in south west rocks wouldnt accept her to dive because she wasnt certified). The crew and instructors were all really friendly and good at what they did, the actually dives were AMAZING !!! i wasnt in the water 2 mins before a giant eagle ray swam within meters of me, then it was time to see the sharks, they were awesome. there was loads of wildlife under the water. ANd when in the boat we saw turtles surfacing for air and even whales playing around.

My only regret was that we didnt stay and dive another day, loved every minute of it.!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Deutschland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Dive Operator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have dived with the Crew from SWRDive Center numerous times and every single time it was great, everything was well organized and went smooth.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South West Rocks Dive Centre also viewed

South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 
South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 

Been to South West Rocks Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing