We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and costly for basic accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Rica Resort Motel
Yamba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing and costly for basic accomodation”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at the Costa Rica some 12 months ago, unfortunately as the Surf Life Saving Country Titles were on at the time, my friend and I were senior volunteer officials travelling from afar, the only accommodation we could find, was what was offered in the Bunkhouse part of the Motel. In general you could not get accommodation anywhere in the town, Previous year we had to travel from Kempsey each day. Wow what an interesting night this was, we were provided with a double decker bed with quite a number of other residents including children in the room, of course we expected a bunkhouse to be a little different, but not as bad as this. It was so hot, the fans didn't work, limited toilet and showers, never again. $40 p.p. per night for this !! To get a beer at the bar was so expensive, so we purchased our drinks elsewhere.

Not the first time we have stayed at this Motel, have stayed in the main accommodation a few years back for the same Carnival, and of course being peak period in January, the rates were extremely high . We officials give much time to the Surf Life Saving movement, retired people travelling as much as we can to carnivals all over Australia. Unfortunately whenever big carnivals take place, the rates for accommodation and other food outlets seem to have a price rise, taking advantage of the situation with so many people in town, but the volunteers suffer at their expense. It is sad to see such in the Australian volunteer movement, we should be more generous towards these volunteers.

So recently we received a telephone call from Costa Rica offering us a package for 2 nights, at a price that seemed fairly reasonable, can't remember full details, but then insisting that we pay a $79 deposit first up. No thank you, would never go there again, it is only just a 3 star Motel, too far out of town, requiring you to get a bus or taxi to the town precinct. I would think that the Motel needs to upgrade before offering packages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boatieYamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight. Booked here as other places closer to the beach were full. No frills place, yet had hot enough options with a pool , tennis court etc. offseason prices should be cheaper than what we paid during Christmas break. Dining options available though prices seemed a bit steep.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shekeebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

While not a high-end place, we were pleased by the treatment we received by the lady working there. She was very helpful and nice, giving us good advice for ways to spend our time in town. She reserved space at the on-site restaurant for us, which served good food. My kids think that they had the best french fries they have tasted in a long time. For simple yet clean lodging, this was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although the grounds were rather messy,[after torrential rain and strong winds] they were soon cleaned up. The room was very clean, the bed comforable, and tea, coffee etc. plentiful. we were disappointed however with position of our room. we upgraded to a deluxe room, supposedly with a patio back and front. The back patio was vitually non existant and only 2 metres from the premises next door. The unusual meal arrangements worked very well for us, we met some interesting friendly people in the kitchen/ dining/ lounge room, where cereals, bread, butter, jams etc were supplied for our continental breakfast, with toasters, frypans, saucepans and cooking ranges ready for you to cook a hot meal any time. The restaurant next door was excellent in decor and menu, it was the best eatery in town for us.. Be warned: if you arrive on a Monday evening as we did and are looking for somewhere to eat, only two places were open for food, the pub and a very ordinary fish and chip shop. ! [ we chose the wrong one] the famous internment camp at Trial Bay was very interesting and the quite amazing internnees made the best of their confinement in various and incredible ways. Fascinating!. there is agood cafe restaurant close by. The scenery is beautiful wherever you go, and the beaches are wonderful.

Room Tip: Be sure of the position of your room with good light and outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable standard although a little pricey but one of the better hotels and has a great restaurant with a fantastic 2-4-1 meal offer on Wednesday nights. Rooms are large but a little dated and location isnt great as would be 15+ mins walk to town. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poiter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Came here with a dive group. There are many power outlets in the room so no problem in charging your appliances if sharing with others. The interior of the room is alright, not posh. Bathroom is a bit dated but usable. Swimming pool is very small. Best is not to have too much expectation. It is located a distance away from the beach so it might be useful to have a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synapsegaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Clean room, a comfy bed (best nights sleep I had had in ages, no kids, LOL) and very accommodating owners, allowing me early check-in to get ready for a function.
And complimentary hot chocolate, not just tea and coffee!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheeziePops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South West Rocks
0.9 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rockpool Motor Inn
Rockpool Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays South West Rocks
Ingenia Holidays South West Rock...
#1 of 5 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks - Holiday Park
BIG4 Sunshine - South West Rocks...
#2 of 5 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Guesthouse
Heritage Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in South West Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smoky Cape Retreat
Smoky Cape Retreat
#1 of 1 in Arakoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Resort Motel

Property: Costa Rica Resort Motel
Address: 134 Gregory St, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > South West Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in South West Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Rica Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Costa Rica Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing